Bianchi Eros 2002 Road Bike

4.5/5 (6 Reviews)


Product Description



Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (6 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Touch0Gray a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: April 20, 2004

Strengths:    frame, drive train

Weaknesses:    paint Big deal huh?

Bottom Line:   
ok, I reviewed this bike a year ago and since then it has moved UP the ladder. I forgot that I had a Brooks B-17 N on it when I wrote the original review. Since then I have added a set of profile stryke force aero bard for riding into the seemingly ALWAYS prevailing head-wind. I just replaced the tires with Specialized all condition pro's, the Vittorio that came on it wore poorly and I had more flats than I have ever had with any tire. The more I ride this bike the more I love it. I now have 3500 or more miles on it and aside from the assorted nicks on the paint from almost anything that hits it, I have found NO problems. I got a small bottle of touch-up paint from Bianchi which is a TERRIBLE color match but the chips won't rust. Question is, should a guy buy a new bike every year? I'd have to get another Bianchi!

oh yeah, the guy who's feet hit the front tire...I have been trying to duplicate that one since i got the bike and if I am clipped in, I just can't do it no matter how hard I try. The problem is not with the bike, hehehe, it has gotta be that his feet are too long!

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   any and all

Price Paid:    $850.00

Purchased At:   Willy St

Similar Products Used:   lots

Bike Setup:   Profile Stryke force Aero Bars, Brooks B17-N, Veloce rear casette (13-28), Specialized All condition Pro's (700-25)


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Robert Alcasabas a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: April 2, 2004

Strengths:    Bianchi quality. Good Campy components, even if they are on their "low end." Responsive and predictable handling. This bike is no "thoroughbred", but it is a fine quarterhorse that can still get you there in style.

Weaknesses:    For weight freaks, it is a tad heavy at about 21.5 lbs in my 55CM size. But hey, at 5'11" and 185lbs I like a challenging workout. Stock Bianchi saddle is roadkill and it takes a large amoount of tightening to get the seat post to hold securely compared to other bikes I have owned.

Bottom Line:   
Got this bike brand new out of the box on E bay for a RIDICULOUSLY low price. I could not believe my luck. Anyway, I used to race Cat 4 back in the 80's. Stopped riding cold turkey in 1995. I am now married with two kids and started riding again recreationally and for fitness and charity rides in June 2003. Started off in June 2003 with a 1999 GIANT Kronos I bought on E bay and upgraded it. However, you can only do so much with a Shimano RSX grouppo with the biggest chainring being a paltry 46. This Bianchi is a fantastic all around bike for the occasional race, touring and the long charity rides. It's geometry is easy on this "old man's" back and shoulders. The Campy mix of Mirage and Veloce is smooth as Italian silk. I have upgraded the saddle to a Selle Italia Pro Link Gel and switched out the tires for Hutchinson Excels. I will be debuting this blue Italian Stallion for the MS 150 from Houston to Austin. Again, this bike is THE bike for fitness, touring and century rides!!!!!!

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Texas Hill Country or Bershire Mountains

Price Paid:    $450.00

Purchased At:   E Bay

Similar Products Used:   Miyata 710, Benotto, Centurion Accordo, Diamondback Interval, Giant Kronos

Bike Setup:   Stock except saddle and tires.(See Summary) I am going to switch the fork to carbon in the next month or so.


Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:3
Submitted by David Wilson a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: December 6, 2003

Strengths:    Looks nice! Comfortable. Bianchi name.

Weaknesses:    Weight. Mudguard clearance (lack of). Awful saddle.

Bottom Line:   
What can I say about this bike? First off, as a general all rounder it is a good buy if you want a steel framed bike. It is comfortable, and the Bianchi celeste colour (different to the picture above) has grown on me. So I am happy with it....

However, some things bug me about the bike. First off, it is a little weighty - I think the wheels will be upgraded over time to improve that area. Secondly, it is sold in the UK as an audax bike (complete with mudguard/rack eyelets), but unless you are prepared to cut off the front of the mudguard and do some filing, it will not take mudguards as standard (and even after the filing down of the mudguards there is still very little clearance). This is particularly annoying for me as I bought it as a winter bike and presumed eyelets on the forks meant ok for mudguards. Ahwell, never mind, have managed to get them on now! One final dislike - the salle was useless, squeeked and groaned, and was thrown out straight away.

But, as I say, other than that, I am pretty pleased with it - the fella before me only had it for 9 months before selling as his local shop had sold him a bike too small for him. Therefore it was good value for me at £350 secondhand, but I'm not sure it's worth the £850 full UK retail. More like £650 would be better.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   In to Rutland, midlands of England

Price Paid:    $350.00

Purchased At:   Private seller

Similar Products Used:   Colnago Tecnos (another review posted)
Colnago SL framed bike
Dave Quinn 531 framed bike


Bike Setup:   Veloce triple chainset, Veloce ergopowers (changed from original Mirage), Mirage rear mech and front changer. Veloce brakes. Selle Italia Turbomatic 3 saddle.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Touch0Gray a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: May 29, 2003

Strengths:    handling, performance, value

Weaknesses:    paint job, seems to knick easily

Bottom Line:   
After putting 25,000 miles on a custom built, flat bar road bike, I was leary about going to to a "normal" road bike.
I was NOT disappointed!
This bike handle like a dream come true; turns that I used to slow down for I now accelerate into! The Campy gruppo makes shimano look like dept. store junk. The only thing I did was to replace the rear cassette, with a 13-28 for climbing.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   up hills, into the wind

Price Paid:    $850.00

Purchased At:   Willy Street

Similar Products Used:   Le Monde, Specialized, Panasonic

Bike Setup:   stock except for the Shimano pedals and the new veloce rear cassette (13-28)


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by bradirvine a Commuter from Seattle, WA

Date Reviewed: February 10, 2003

Strengths:    Love the campagnolo veloce components - brakes work great even in wet winters in Seattle. The components on the bike were a good deal for the overall price.

Weaknesses:    The only problem I have sometimes is hitting the front wheel with my foot while making a slow turn.

Bottom Line:   
I love this bike. I'm primarily a commuter - rain or shine 10 miles round trip a day. I used to ride a mtb with street slicks, but after switching to the Eros, I'll never go back. The bike is light compared to my old bike, and I love the way it rides. Quick steering, sure footed, and forgiving. I also love the Celeste Green color of this bike...

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   My daily commute

Price Paid:    $839.00

Purchased At:   Elliott Bay Bicycles

Similar Products Used:   Looked a Trek, and LeMond as alternatives. Commuted on a Specialized MTB for 8 years.




Reviews 1 - 5 (6 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


Used bike shopping: Klein Quantum vs. Bianch Eros

Not sure what model year the Klein is, possibly a 2000-02. It has the purple paint that changes to green depending on light. Shimano 105 triple. The owner states that it is a Quantum Race, but a little research doesn't turn up anything about the Quantum Race Triple having 105 so possibly the compone ... Read More »

Bianchi eros for $500?

Hi, I'm looking at this Bianchi Eros, seller does not know the year. He wants $500 firm. Campagnola parts. [url]https://chicago.craigslist.org/nch/bik/4543012290.html[/url] is this a good price? Guy is maybe a bit shifty, since he says he hasn't ridden it much, implying low mileage, but via text ... Read More »

Dark Blue Bianchi Eros $420

Hi guys. This is my last resort. I do not know anybody into cycling, due to my young age. So I am asking for your help. I was wondering if this is a bad buy. He originally wanted $450, but he would only budge down $30. Its in lightly used condition, with campy parts. Here is the link to a bike pedia ... Read More »

Price for Bianchi Eros

Hello, I am interested in purchasing a used 2002 Bianchi Eros; appears in very good shape. Is $500 a reasonable price, with upgraded Mavic rear wheel? Thanks very much. MikeRead More »

Bianchi Eros frame with Campagnolo wheel

Anyone interested in this frame: serial #71055144R, fully lugged, double-butted cro-mo tubing. Plus a Campagnolo Melbourne 56 wheel. See pictures.Read More »

Read More »



INTERBIKE

Contest




Videos

Interbike Featured Booths

Check out the hottest road bike products from these brands!



















See All Interbike Coverage - Click Here »

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook