Specialized Sonoma Shoes

3.83/5 (6 Reviews)
MSRP : $50.00


Product Description

A great fitting, multi-purpose comfort shoe with patented Body Geometry technology, SPD compatibility, and a smooth, walkable sole.


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (6 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by tcat a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: July 3, 2011

Strengths:    Great styling, they don't look like cycling shoes. You can wear them anywhere but they are heavy.

Weaknesses:    The laces are the only weakness. The new models use Velcro. I just might retire mine for a new version.

Bottom Line:   
Perfect for the recreational cyclist. I use them with toe clips. I'm using other shoes for more serious types of riding. These shoes are perfect for around town or causal riding.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Bridle path

Price Paid:    $50.00

Purchased At:   Eddys Bike Stow OH

Bike Setup:   Mostly vintage MTB's.


Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:2
Submitted by Tut a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: February 25, 2010

Strengths:    Looks nice. Soft sole (if that's what you're looking for). Velcro 'tab' to hold shoe lace knot is helpful. Difficult to put on.

Weaknesses:    Not for the avid cyclist. Feet will go numb. Soles are slippery when wet.

Bottom Line:   
These shoes might work well for the beginner, but when deciding to take your biking to the next level, they won't work for the serious cyclist. After 20 miles my feet would go completely numb and only getting off the bike would help. Recessed cleat is nice, but if you're taking cycling seriously, you shouldn't be stopping along the way.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   NA

Price Paid:    $65.00

Purchased At:   dont remember

Similar Products Used:   Nothing to compare these to as of yet.

Bike Setup:   Giant TCR Advance Composite frame


Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:3
Submitted by Argentius a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: December 9, 2004

Strengths:    Walking in completely normal -- you'll forget they're cycle shoes! Relatively inexpensive. Quite stylish-looking, even as 'just shoes'. Lighter than similar MTB shoes. Won't freeze your feet on coldish days.

Weaknesses:    Sole is not very stiff at all, and the rubber gets beaten up quickly by walking and concrete. Laces wear out easily. Laces making getting them on and off take longer. ONLY compatible with SPD-like cleats (and probably eggbeaters, maybe time); not compatible with LOOK or Speedplay cleats at all.

Bottom Line:   
I bought these as a new road cyclist who wanted to both commute daily and also ride fast recreationally. They're great for commuting and walking around in, sort of like an MTB shoe. At a glance, you can't even tell it's a cycle shoe -- the recessed cleat is nice, and I think they're 'good looking' shoes, even to wear around. But when it comes to serious road riding, they can't keep up. They're just not very stiff. I switched to a carbon-soled shoe, and I'll never go back to something like the sonomas; instead, I just carry some sandals or chuck taylor's in my messenger bag when commuting. If you want to just ride around town, then this may be the way to go. After the massive hot spots and soreness in my feet following my first two centuries on these guys, though, I had to change.

Expand full review >>

Price Paid:    $45.00

Purchased At:   LBS

Bike Setup:   Basso fixie, velocity/miche HB wheels, campy brakes, etc. Also a Fuji.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by chbarr a Recreational Rider from Cincinnati, Ohio

Date Reviewed: September 1, 2003

Strengths:    Stiff sole, but very comfortable. Reflective material on the back.

Weaknesses:    Light tread can be slippery on the wrong surface.

Bottom Line:   
These are probably the best shoes ever for the recreational road cyclist. Offers a lot of the benefits of a road shoe—stiff soles, light tread, while still providing good walking performance. I’ve used these shoes for cycle-commuting, centuries, and a vacation (using bikes to get around town, then walking through museums). I personally like the look of laces, and the “keeper” gizmo on the tongue works well. They are very comfortable--I wish I had shoes like these for regular off-bike use. I feel these are great shoes for anyone who wants a good performing shoe, but still needs to walk off the bike.

Expand full review >>

Similar Products Used:   Airwalk Cranks

Bike Setup:   Trek 1000 (fun), Trek 7200 (commuting), both with Ritchey Comp Pedals


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Albert a Recreational Rider from Miami, FL

Date Reviewed: August 12, 2003

Strengths:    Comfort, affordability, styling.

Weaknesses:    Honestly can't think of any.

Bottom Line:   
The moment I tried this shoe on I knew I had finally found what I wanted. This is the most comfortable clipless pedal shoe I've ever worn. The sole is stiff enough for quick speed bursts, yet flexible enough for normal, yes, normal walking. It seems like the perfect shoe for recreational and charity rides, as well as touring and century rides. Does the fact that they are black make them any
hotter? I live in Miami, FL. where temps over 100F on the asphalt are not uncommon. With the proper socks it is not a problem.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   all

Price Paid:    $52.00

Purchased At:   BikeTech

Similar Products Used:   Shimano MTB shoes

Bike Setup:   2004 Specialized Sequoia Elite, stock.



Reviews 1 - 5 (6 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


Sonoma County Weater is Stellar

I got in 35 miles at noon on the road headed towards Bodega Bay out of Rohnet Park, then covered Spring Hill road back into Petaluma, Pengrove and back home to Rohnert Park. Good riding here.Read More »

Tour de Fuzz -- Sonoma County -- Sat Sept 8th

Hi all, This year I'm helping out with the [URL="http://www.tourdefuzz.org"]TOUR DE FUZZ[/URL] and want to share the details. It includes 3 routes -- 50K Roadie, 100K Enthusiast and 100M Commando (the latter includes an optional Geysers Challenge!) It includes: [LIST] [*]Finish Line BBQ Celebra ... Read More »

Sonoma Backroads Challenge

Anyone planning on participating in the Sonoma Backroads Challenge on May 19 2012, the 100 mile total elevation gain listed on their website is incorrect. They say 4,951 ft - when I mapped it out on ridewithgps.com - the correct elevation is 8,324 ft. I think the 4,951 ft is the metric century. ... Read More »

Riding through Sonoma, CA

Hello All. Just wanted to share some pics from a tandem ride through Sonoma County. The run along Hwy 1 is gorgeous! This is winter riding in the Bay Area: [url=http://yurides.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/valley-ford-to-duncans-mills-jenner/]Valley Ford to Duncans Mills & Jenner | Ride Chro ... Read More »

Tandem ride through Sonoma, CA

Hello All. Just wanted to share some pics from a tandem ride through Sonoma County. The run along Hwy 1 is gorgeous! This is winter riding in the Bay Area: [url=http://yurides.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/valley-ford-to-duncans-mills-jenner/]Valley Ford to Duncans Mills & Jenner | Ride Chro ... Read More »

Read More »



INTERBIKE




Videos

Interbike Featured Booths

Check out the hottest road bike products from these brands!




















See All Interbike Coverage - Click Here »

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook