Shimano Dura-Ace FD-7700-B/F Front Derailleur

3.6/5 (5 Reviews)
MSRP : $52.99


Product Description

  • Super-Rigid Wide Link Design
  • Replaceable Nickel-Plated Aluminum Alloy Chain Cage


  • Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

    Reviews 1 - 5 (5 Reviews Total)

    User Reviews

    Overall Rating:3
    Value Rating:3
    Submitted by basjan a Road Racer from Beautiful Virginia...

    Date Reviewed: August 15, 2003

    Strengths:    Light, looks good, wide cage adjusts easily...does it's job.

    Weaknesses:    Does it's job as good as much cheaper Shimano components, but much worse than cheaper Campy derailleurs.

    Bottom Line:   
    This derailleur is superlight and very well finished. I agree with other reviewers below that it is overpriced and under-"performanced". It did it's job, but I have actually switched to a Campagnolo Daytona (third in Campy's hierarchy) derailleur and it works much better!

    The Campy shifts easier and under more load. I think the Shimano only pushes, while the Campy pushes and lifts the chain. I am not a Campy vs. Shimano advocate, but when one works better than the other, no reason not to switch out. If you look at the inner plate's design, the DA is actually very flat, while the Campy is more contoured, resulting in a better shift. This is the same type of improvment that I noticed when going froma LX front MTB derailleur to the more expensive, but better shifting XTR version.

    Expand full review >>

    Favorite Ride:   Just ride!!

    Price Paid:    $45.00

    Purchased At:   Ebay?

    Similar Products Used:   Campy Daytona, Shimano 105

    Bike Setup:   Pinarello Galileo with (used-to-be) full Dura Ace...


    Overall Rating:3
    Value Rating:3
    Submitted by Dan Dalton a Commuter from London UK

    Date Reviewed: July 15, 2003

    Strengths:    good at changing gears...pretty

    Weaknesses:    expensive, seemingly intolerant, can't do the washing up or iron shirts

    Bottom Line:   
    it's a light, very pretty, braze on front mech that changes gear at high speed under heavy torque, and then back again. it's got some srews, some nuts and bolts, and a nice box. i just wonder whether that's not just a bit too little for something so expensive. if i was reviewing any front mech i'd be saying much the same, it's a fairly simple piece of kit after all, doesn't have to put up with much abuse, no dramatically moving parts and so on. all this talk of super wide front plates and coated bushings just seems like so much guff to fool gullible types like me to part from more cash.

    problematically, as soon as the drivetrain loses the straight from teh box cleanliness that i can't be bothered to maintain after every ride, it seems to get confused about which gear i want to be in. i'm riding with friction shifters and ta chainrings, which might upset the little princess, but for this money it should be a bit more understanding and love its fellow components, adn it's a worry just as you hit top whack when the chain starts jumping from ring to ring.

    Expand full review >>

    Favorite Ride:   home from work

    Price Paid:    $30.00

    Purchased At:   deesidecycles.com

    Similar Products Used:   105sc, campag circa 1980 (works just the same...)

    Bike Setup:   look fnf, ult' and d/a mix


    Overall Rating:2
    Value Rating:1
    Submitted by Julian Hughes a Recreational Rider from UK

    Date Reviewed: May 30, 2003

    Strengths:    Look nice. Matches the rest of the groupset. Shiny when new. Has the words Dura Ace on it. Works very well for a few thousand miles.If you change your bike every year(!) you'll remain impressed.

    Weaknesses:    Stops working well after a few thousand miles. Where the plate contacts the chain on shifting the shiny plating wears rapidly to reveal the nasty cheap pressing beneath. It vibrates itself apart. The little alloy adjusters love to seize into their little alloy holes. It's expensive.

    Bottom Line:   
    Looks nice, works well for a while. Cleverly manufactured to appear to be much higher quality than it really is. A very disappointing and surprisingly bad product. Having had problems on another bike with an Ultegra front derailleur I replaced that one with a Campagnolo Chorus item which doesn't look as cool but works better and keeps on working and is a superior piece of work in *every* respect except appearance. I have now replaced this poor Shimano Dura Ace product with a Campagnolo Daytona item. It *has* to be better!

    Expand full review >>

    Favorite Ride:   as I get older easier is better!

    Price Paid:    $35.00

    Purchased At:   don't remember

    Similar Products Used:   Ultegra, Campag chorus, LX, XTR

    Bike Setup:   Podium Carrera, Dura Ace group. Now including Campagnolo front derailleur!


    Overall Rating:5
    Value Rating:4
    Submitted by George Friedman-Jimenez a Recreational Rider from Teaneck, NJ

    Date Reviewed: December 15, 2001

    Strengths:    Shifts smoothly and reliably, even with nonstandard drivetrain configuration. Construction appears durable.

    Weaknesses:    Cost $60 with 1 1/4" adapter. A little heavy with adapter clamp. Requires some extra care in initial adjustment (maybe not, if used as designed, with 118 mm BB and 52/39/30 crank).

    Bottom Line:   
    This review is for the newly released Dura-Ace TRIPLE front derailleur, braze-on mount with adapter clamp. This is an excellent derailleur that makes a triple an attractive option for people who like fast group rides and also like to spin up steep hills. This derailleur can be adjusted to shift smoothly while avoiding rubbing of the chain against the cage in all legitimate gear combinations. I was not able to adjust my previous derailleur, the Ultegra triple, to do this. In about 200 miles on varied terrain with this derailleur, I have not missed a front shift yet. It works with Ultegra triple crank 52/42/30 and Ultegra STI levers (which do have adequate fine-tuning click stops, in my experience). To decrease the pedal to pedal width, I was even able to use a 109.5 mm splined double BB rather than the 118 mm recommended for triples. This did take some careful adjustment to avoid the derailleur hitting the seat tube before the chain shifted to the small ring. Highly recommended.

    Expand full review >>

    Favorite Ride:   Moderately fast club rides.

    Price Paid:    $60.00

    Purchased At:   Performance.

    Similar Products Used:   Ultegra triple.

    Bike Setup:   Seven steel Axiom with Ultegra triple crank 52/42/30, Ultegra 6501 STI shifters, Dura-Ace (double) B


    Overall Rating:5
    Value Rating:5
    Submitted by SteveS a Recreational Rider from Houston, Texas

    Date Reviewed: May 24, 2000

    Strengths:    Looks and function

    Weaknesses:    Cost?

    Bottom Line:   
    It is actually hard to critique Shimano derailleurs because they tend to function so well. (Unlike the Ultegra STI levers that rattle like crazy until you glue them down) This is the first clamp on derailleur that I had used in many years, plus it was 9 speed moving up from 7 speed. No problem either way. These have functioned beautifully for me. Compared to some other components, this derailleur is a fairly modest costing upgrade to your drive train.

    Expand full review >>

    Favorite Ride:   Hill Country

    Similar Products Used:   Previous versions of Dura Ace, 600, and Sante'

    Bike Setup:   1999 Airborne Zeppelin, Dura Ace/Ultegra mix



    Reviews 1 - 5 (5 Reviews Total)

    Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


    Contest



    Tour De France

    Videos

     

    RoadbikeReview on Facebook