Cervelo S2 Road Bike

4.75/5 (8 Reviews)
MSRP : $2800.00


Product Description

The S2 pioneered carbon aero road bicycles. Our experience in building aerodynamic frames without losing focus on weight, stiffness, strength AND comfort, has been proven with multiple wins on the cobblestones. Introduced in 2009, the S2 remains a vital part of the S-series and still offers a true aero value today.


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (8 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by MErcRidnMike a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: October 25, 2013

Strengths:    Tour technology (granted a few years old) with modernized materials, reasonable weight (17.5 lbs for a 58 cm frame with Campy Zonda wheel upgrade), pretty stiff but doesn't beat you up too badly for an aero frame bike. Cervelo name....come on, admit it: it is a sexy name when it comes to fast bikes ;)

Weaknesses:    Not the cutting edge of tech (but the price reflects that), color / schemes the last few years, limited seatpost options, heavy stock wheels and cranks

Bottom Line:   
I got mine on an end of season special (price in Cdn $) and it was a great value overall. Coming off an aluminum framed bike, this frame seemed like butter for my clyde class butt. Yes, there are more comfortable bikes for the long haul out there (lots of Fondo bikes these days)...but what it gives up in absolute plush ride, it gives back in "ready to hit it....hard" go. It has held up extremely well and is surprisingly fast...it seems to really find its stride if you get it over 30 km/h.

The SRAM Rival shifters and derailleurs do quite well, but they are not the lightest (not a big concern for me). I'm not a fan of the FSA Gossamer cranks and brakes that came stock on my 2012 version....I'll likely ride it stock for a year or two and then upgrade to Campy Chorus.

Since new, I've upgraded from the Fulcrum Racing T wheels (mix of Racing 5 and Racing 7 components) to Campagnolo Zonda wheels (aka Fulcrum Racing 3's) shod with 25 mm GP4000s tires and it has livened the bike up considerably.

For a charity event, I threw some clip-on aeros on it and, though not ideal for position, it did quite well overall.

If you're not looking at spending an arm and leg for a quick bike, then look no further. If you're after a bike for back-to-back Centuries, this might not be ideal but it will get the job done.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Enbridge Ride to Conquer Cancer (Alberta)

Price Paid:    $2400.00

Purchased At:   Way Past Fast

Similar Products Used:   Tried a variety - Cannondale Synapse and Giant Avail Composite being the runners up to this choice...but the sexy and speed won out when I had a chance to put the S2 through its paces.

Bike Setup:   Cervelo S2 (58 cm), SRAM Rival shifters FD and RD, FSA Gossamer brakes and crank (34-50), RaceFace Cadence bars (460mm), Truvative Stylus 110 mm stem, Fizik Aliante Gamma XM saddle, Campy Zonda wheels, Continential GP4000s tires (25 mm), Look Keo 2 Plus pedals, Fizik microtex two-color wrap


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:4
Submitted by ayEtionroids

Date Reviewed: March 14, 2013

Strengths:    This bike is comfortable, great cornering, and the aero frame cuts through the air like crazy!

Weaknesses:    The SRAM Rival components are middle of the road, but still quality components.I am planning on upgrading to Force with Red shifters.

Bottom Line:   
Overall, a great bike. Cannot fail with this bike!


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Tom a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: February 6, 2013

Strengths:    The bike is stiff, fast, very repsonsive and I love the geometry. The geometry allows me to spend more time in the drops while feeling relatively comfortable. My bike is equipped with full Ultegra and I like the overall solid feel and dependability of the frame and components. To me, it's the best bang for the buck when it comes to a true race machine.

Weaknesses:    The only weakness is the components. Current 2013 model comes with sram rival components and cheap, heavy wheels. If you can upgrade to carbon wheels that will maximize the aero features of the frame then you have a dream machine. The original S2 for the Cervelo Test Team came with durace components and Zipp wheels and any reviews that were done at that time had either ultegra or durace components and deep dish carbon wheels that worked well with the bikes geometry. So the good news you can replicate a similiar build if you want to go to that expense.

Bottom Line:   
Overall a great bike not matter what components you have on the bike. You will simply enjoy the ride and feedback you get from the road and the ability to go fast. The bike is very responsive to your effort and energy you put into the bike. I also love the "emotion" of the brand. Cervelo has done a great job telling it's "story".


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by Jonathan a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: December 19, 2012

Strengths:    (1) it is stiff for power transfer, (2) it corners well (I like the geometry)… really well, (3) I guess the aero shape is good, but I cannot discern the advantage when riding, trust the science.

Weaknesses:    The non drive chain stay got a crack in it, but Cervelo sent me a new frame for free after minimal arguing. Out of the box, the frame weighed in at 1,120 grams (size 54 cm) with nothing but the derailer hanger. I guess that is a little heavy, but 90% of cyclist who worry about their bike’s weight should worry more about their body weight. Built with pedals and carbon wheels & sram force the bike weighs 16 pounds.

Bottom Line:   
Bottom line, I’ve had good race results on this bike. I think my legs had more to do with the results than the bike, but the bike didn’t hurt because it is a race machine. The geometry, stiffness, tube shapes; everything is designed for the races. If you are more of a recreational rider, I would go with an R3, because you will get plenty of performance, but more comfort. The S2 isn’t known for comfort, but I’d rather have the feedback from the road than compliance when taking a corner in a crit. Also if you are a recreational rider you’d get a higher head tube on the R3 rather than running a bunch of spacers on the S2 and watering down its race geometry.
The extra weight of the frame for the aero tubing doesn’t bother me much, because it is static and compared to a full water bottle or excess body fat, the weight is negligible. I guess the aero tubes are good, but if aero dynamics are a concern spend your money on deep section carbon wheels and your time doing yoga to reach a low handle bar position.
I’d recommend this bike no problem… if you have a good shop to work with on warranty, fit, and maintenance. A quality shop should be the biggest consideration, buy whatever the best shop in town sells. If my shop sold Cannondale, I would buy the CAAD10 next and get just as good of a frame, but they don’t, so it will be a Madone next.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   http://app.strava.com/activities/17348625

Price Paid:    $2000.00

Purchased At:   Trek Store of Omaha

Similar Products Used:   Cervelo R3, Trek Madone, Klein Pro XX

Bike Setup:   Sram Force and Reynolds DV3K


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by A141 a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: November 26, 2012

Strengths:    Great overall race bike. Stiff, Aero, Lightweight. Can be used for crits, long road races, and tri's/tt with aerobars/2-position seat post.

Weaknesses:    At 2013 MSRP of $2k for frameset, none when compared to other competitors in that price range. Maybe that the S2 is becoming dated (has been out as the soloist carbon since 2006).

Bottom Line:   
Owned a 2009 Cervelo S2 from May 2010 to early 2012. Paid $1,999 for frameset on sale at Competitive Cyclist (yeah when they used to sell Cervelo's). 2013 S2 MSRP is set at $2k. Back in 2009-2010, they were at least $3,100. Same frame, but pricing has come down because model has been out for awhile and there are better and lighter aero frames now on the market. Back in 2010 I bought the frame because I was curious about the aero-bike frame phenomena. Built the frame up with a mix of dura ace and FSA components. Over the course of 2 years I probably put about 10k miles on the frame as I shared training and racing b/w this frame and another Cervelo frame.

Frame is a very solid performer. BB and front end stiffness is solid. Frame is not super comfortable/compliant for longer rides, but feels good at high speeds and is relatively comfortable for a no-nonsense aero race performer. Considering weight, the frame is probably mid-pack when compared to other 2013 aero frames. Probably considered a bit heavy as compared to other non-aero carbon frames on the market, but is priced accordingly.

One thing that is important to note is that the frame is basically unchanged since the soloist carbon (name prior to S2) was launched back in 2006ish. I think the only thing that is different is the fork and some cable routing changes. In terms of lastest-and-greatest bike technology, S2 is becoming a bit dated (although it was basically the frame that started the whole aero frame craze...yeah that's 7 years ago).

Similar products used include Cervelo S3 and R3. These are both great comparison frames to the S2 because one is Aero (S3) and one is at the same price point (R3). First the S3. The S2 is a bit heavier than the S3 with essientially the same aero profile (eventhough the Cervelo literature states that the S3 is x% more aero with its aero rear end). I will say, that aside from the overall look of the two bikes, the bikes ride very differently. The S3 is a pro-tour high end frame that (with it's narrow seat stays) is comfortable for the long rides/races. It also feels more lively than the S2 when climbing. The S2 is a more in-your-face type of race machine. S3 has been discontinued and replaced by the S5 team or VWD. S3 MSRP is more than twice the 2013 MSRP for the S2. It is not twice the bike. Considering the R3 and the S2, to me is a better comparison. This comparison is aero vs non-aero at the same price point ($2k). S2 feels fast, R3 feels light, but actual race times would be similar. You really can't go wrong with either. And now, 2013's are in the CAAD 10 price point. I personally don't feel that S2's aero profile makes a noticeable difference when compared to the R3 in actual race performance (due to the fact that most races are in a bunch protected from the wind anyway). But if you were going to go on a break, I assume the aero S2 is better. Climbing performance goes to the R3.

One important thing to point out is that the S2 may be the most versatile mid/high-end carbon frame for mass use. If you are going to buy only one bike and want to do triathlons, crits, rr's, TT's century rides, etc....the S2 is a good choice. You can clamp-on a set of aerobars and use the S2/S3 compatible optional 2-postion seat post set at the forward position and your crit bike is now a tt bike and a tri bike. S2 is a serious contender for an all around bike for all types of biking and racing.

Overall, S2/Soloist Carbon is a great/solid performer. It revolutionized the aero road-bike marketplace. If you can pick one up for a good price (look for sale prices), you will not be disappointed. However, and for what it's worth, I since sold my 2009 S2 and 2011 S3 and continue to race/ride a Cervelo R3. I'm over the aero bike phenomena. Traditional bikes just fit my riding style better. If you are considering the S2, don't buy it over a traditional shaped bike, because it is aero, buy it only if you can get a good deal, and only if it fits your riding style (after you test-ride a correct size).

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   ?

Price Paid:    $1999.00

Purchased At:   Competitive Cyclist

Similar Products Used:   Cervelo S3, R3, R5

Bike Setup:   DA 7900, Zipp 404 tubular (race), Mavic Ksyrium (train)



Reviews 1 - 5 (8 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


2012 Cervelo s2 for sale located in northern jersey

Not sure if this is the correct place to be posting this. But helping a friend of mine sell his (original owner) 2012 Cervelo s2. Located in Northern Jersey - Black/Red/White colorways. - size 51 - selling just the frame, fork, and seatpost only. - 1,200+/- miles on current frame. - s ... Read More »

2012 Cervelo s2 for sale located in northern jersey

Not sure if this is the correct place to be posting this. But helping a friend of mine sell his (original owner) 2012 Cervelo s2. - Black/Red/White colorways. - size 51 - selling just the frame, fork, and seatpost only. - 1,200+/- miles on current frame. - super clean. flawless conditio ... Read More »

Advice on a new Cervelo S2

Hi Guys, I am getting into road biking and looking to buy a new bike that will last and possibly have a decent resale value in case I want to upgrade later on. I currently have a cheap Dawes (those generic ones from bikedirect) and I can get a 2013 new Cervelo S2 full Rival components for $2500 fla ... Read More »

S2 or S5?

Hi, I need recommendation for a Cervelo S2 or S5. Looking for a versatile bike that do climbing and comfortable on long rides. Please dont give me more options for other bikes. Gonna be one of these two. Is the 2012 better than 2013 is also a tip i need. Thanks lot.Read More »

Cervelo S2, Ridley Noah RS, Felt AR - comparative experience and analysis

If you've ridden at least two of these framesets for an extended period of time, NOT just riding around the parking lot or 1 day, then please compare and contrast performance such as climbing, sprinting, cornering, descending, sustained efforts on flat land, etc; and overall ride quality and durabil ... Read More »

Read More »






Videos

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook