Trek 1500 Road Bike

4.51/5 (146 Reviews)
MSRP : $1099.99


Product Description

Frame Material: aluminum
Frame Angles: 73.0 head, 73.8 seat
Sizes: 52cm, 54cm, 56cm, 58cm, 60cm, 63cm
Colors: Black, Gray/Blue
Fork: Bontrager Race Carbon
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano 105 STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager Ergo
Stem: aluminum
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Aheadset
Front Der: Shimano Tiagra
Crankset: Bontrager Race, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Ultegra GS
Pedals: aluminum cage w/clips & straps
Tires: 700 x 25c Bontrager Select


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (146 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:4
Submitted by John Nicholas a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: November 4, 2011

Strengths:    The look (frame shape is almost classic), frame stiffness, Cane Creek SCR3 brakes, carbon seat post, Bontrager SSR saddle, awesome painting (Discovery Channel Team),

Weaknesses:    The rims, even if are good looking are not robust at all. The rear one was replaced due to multiple cracks around spoke holes after one year of use.

Bottom Line:   
Very good acceleration, very good mid level bike because of solid 105 group, frame and accessories.
Over 2000 miles on it without problems (except rear rim) but I must mention that I'm a very big rider (260 lbs). Even so the frame is calculated up to 275lbs. And that's means something!

Expand full review >>

Price Paid:    $1150.00

Purchased At:   Surmont Bike

Similar Products Used:   Cross (Cube Nature) and MTB bike (Merida Matts TFS 900).



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by jeremy a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: July 28, 2011

Bottom Line:   
Is this legit?

The bike is a 2005 model. It has significant miles, but was well maintained and sheltered. The petals are Look-type Shimano 105. The petals show wear, but function as new. The bike has a few dings, but nothing detrimental to the expected performance. Thus the asking price of only $250. The front tire is practically new, the rear tire shows some wear, but probably good for several hundred miles.



The wheels are Bontrager Select. There is one dent on the top tube, but hardly visible. No paint removed or deep scratch. You probably would not notice it unless I pointed it out.



Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Matt a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: March 19, 2011

Strengths:    Fit. Ultegra and 105 mix are surprisingly good quality components for an entry-level race bike.

Weaknesses:    Average weight (20 lbs). Aluminum frame makes for uncomfortable century rides. Cheap saddle and tires. Weak rims. The rear stress fractured, which is a common problem with this wheel, although was replaced under warranty at no cost to me.

Bottom Line:   
Purchased the bike new in May 2007. Have since rode 10,000+ miles on it. Very comfortable (after replacing the saddle) and surprisingly fast for the weight. Overall a fantastic bike for the price. Time to upgrade so am reluctantly letting go of it.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   STP

Price Paid:    $950.00

Purchased At:   Bike Gallery, Portla

Similar Products Used:   None.

Bike Setup:   Specialized Toupe Saddle.
Stock components.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by IH a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: July 20, 2010

Strengths:    Acceleration is great. Shifts up and down very smoothly. Maintains speed well.

Weaknesses:    Probably just me adjusting from a mountain bike to a road bike, but the handle setup is a little awkward.

Bottom Line:   
First road bike purchase. Couldn't be happier. Rides very well.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Back country roads

Price Paid:    $500.00

Purchased At:   Craigslist

Similar Products Used:   Trek 4300

Bike Setup:   LOOK pedals. Stock.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by CopperMtBiker a Commuter

Date Reviewed: May 8, 2010

Strengths:    Fast. Light.

Bottom Line:   
Improved my 16 mile daily mountain commute by 30% over a Giant hybrid.
Smooth gear transitions. Light weight for price.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Trek 1500

Price Paid:    $800.00

Purchased At:   Christy Sports

Bike Setup:   Replaced Bontrager Race Lite tires with more durable Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires.



Reviews 1 - 5 (146 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


Seeking recommendations for a road bike priced around ~$1500.... Carbon vs. Aluminum

Bike Dealers in my area are Giant, Felt, Specialized, and Cannondale. Main uses will be riding for fitness on a paved bike path river trail or on roads. I can see myself doing some races like granfondos or something, no crits or anything too dangerous though. My budget seems to be in that gr ... Read More »

used Trek 1500 SLR - $550 good deal?

Looking at a used 2005 Trek 1500 SLR , 105 group set. Everything looks in good condition, and the owner produced receipts that his local LBS did a tuneup about 6 months ago. Bike blue book always throws me off/amazes me how much it thinks bikes are worth. Good deal?Read More »

$1500 complete who gets your $$?

My wife's 505/130 showing athletic interest in cycling yet has no road bike. What's the point of diminishing returns for a new rider purchase with competitive spirit. I'm ball parking $1500.00 plus pedals shoes gear. Looking for the most product until ridden miles confirms riding is a hobby not t ... Read More »

Looking to spend $1500, Specialized Allez EVO vs Litespeed M1

Both w/ SRAM parts. Is Litespeed carbon at this price point less quality vs. the Specialized aluminum?Read More »

Whats a good frame to upgrade to from the 566? $1500 budget

I've had the 566 for about 2 years and have upgraded everything on it except the frame and fork. I'm running sram red + Ritchey WCS bar/stem + Thompson seatpost I feel that the "bottleneck" if there is one, is the 566 frame. Whats a good frame to upgrade to: considering: a higher end Look, or ... Read More »

Read More »




Contest



Tour De France

Videos

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook