Trek 2.3 Road Bike

4.57/5 (14 Reviews)
MSRP : $1700.00


Product Description

New for 2008
•Frame -Alpha Black Aluminum w/TCT Carbon stays
•Fork - Bontrager Race, carbon
•Wheels - Bontrager Race
•Crank - Shimano 105 50/34 or 50/39/30
•Rear Derailleur - Shimano Ultegra
•Sizes - 50, 52, 54, 56, 58, 60, 62, 64cm
•Color - Pearl White/Platinum


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (14 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Jim a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: June 2, 2013

Strengths:    105 components

Weaknesses:    None

Bottom Line:   
I have 1800 miles and have had no problems. I purchased new tires and a chain. Never had a flat. The bike has worked flawlessly. (Is that a word) this bike has minimal spokes and coast past any other bike. Great bike


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by wm of SF

Date Reviewed: March 9, 2012

Strengths:    I ran over a deer on highway 84 in the Santa Cruz Mountains

Weaknesses:    NONE

Bottom Line:   
"The Goat" has been some incredible number of thousands of miles and has provided an excellent bike for flying through the mountains. The only thing I recommend is to use Specialized Armadillo tires so you'll never get a flat. I ran over a deer on this bike and didn't crash. Excellent handling.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Bubbadidit a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: February 29, 2012

Strengths:    Great price for a bike with full Shimano 105 components- beats what comes on the 3.1 and 4.5 (brakes, wheels, and cranks).

Weaknesses:    The aluminum frame doesn't have the coolness factor that the carbon frames do. However, if you nick or scratch the aluminum frame, you can sell it without a problem; I'm not sure you can say the same about a bike with a carbon frame.

Bottom Line:   
I purchased a 2011 Trek 2.3 from Jax Bicycles about a month ago (January 2012) for $1340 OTD with a 3 year Red Shield protection plan. I sold a Trek Madone 4.5 last year, but missed road cycling, so within a few months I was looking for a replacement. I went back and forth between the 2.3 and 3.1 (the 4.5 was no longer in my price range) and decided on the 2.3 after I hung the 2.3 and 3.1 on a scale at the bike shop. Both bikes were 56cm and weighed the same (19.3 lbs without pedals). With pedals and two water bottle cages, my 2.3 weighs approximately 20.3 lbs. I threw on some "free" Race X lite wheels and got it down to 19.3 lbs. I am impressed with the ride quality and have not noticed the difference between the carbon and aluminum frames, even when riding with the stock wheels. I do, however, notice improved braking performance and feel with the 2.3 (105 brakes) over the 3.1 and 4.5 brakes. If you are looking to save weight by going with a carbon frame, you'll probably have to start shopping in the Madone 5-series, which will include better components, before you see a noticeable difference. Although, it is going to come with a much higher price tag.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Varies

Price Paid:    $1340.00

Purchased At:   Jax Bicycles

Similar Products Used:   Trek Madone 4.5
Gary Fisher HiFi Carbon (MTB)
Giant AC Air Lite (MTB)


Bike Setup:   All stock, except the Race X Lite wheels


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by baysailor a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: July 25, 2011

Strengths:    Light, strong, quick.

Weaknesses:    While the carbon fork and stays soften the ride, it's not as comfortable a ride as my old steel bike. However, it's much more maneuverable and, of course, lighter.

Bottom Line:   
This was a gift from my brother-in-law, who upgraded to a carbon bike. This has been a great bike for me -- 6'2", 250 -- as I work on getting back in shape. It's quick, comfortable, and strong. Not built for the Tour de France, but a great training/recreational bike for the above-average cyclist.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   local residential loop

Similar Products Used:   Trek 800 MTB, Panasonic DX-3000

Bike Setup:   Tektron brakes upgraded to 105, FSA Gossamer compact crankset, SPD pedals, switch to Giant Unity saddle


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by flangy a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: April 26, 2010

Strengths:    high quality frame, components.

Weaknesses:    compact gearing can spin out going downhill, standard seat, wheels and brakes not that great.

Bottom Line:   
Trek 2.3, carbon stays, compact gearing, really has been a fantastic bike. Very stable, nice geometry, light and fast. Waited 2 yrs and 2K+ miles to review it. This is a great training bike. I have ridden a CAAD9 and this is similar, but w/a better ride.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   around town....

Price Paid:    $1600.00

Purchased At:   Trek Store

Similar Products Used:   Trek 1200.

Bike Setup:   standard 105 components, upgraded no-name brakes to 105, upgraded wheels to Mavic Aksium, changed seat to Specialized BG Avatar, lots of Bontrager stuff. Bike rides great. Original Bontrager tires now have 2.5K miles on them, wearing very well.



Reviews 1 - 5 (14 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


2008 Trek 2.3 Questions - Seatpost

I bought a 2008 Trek 2.3 frame online. It will not be here for another week but I need a seatpost clamp, and seatpost. Does anyone know what clamp I need, and what diameter seatpost it uses? ThanksRead More »

First bike in a while - Trek Domane 2.0 vs 2.3?

Long story short - getting older, getting heavier - need to get in better shape. A few years back I was riding maybe 20 to 30 miles a week and even completed a century ride. My dad went through a mid-life crisis so to speak and got himself a custom made Independent Fabricator $$$$$$$ bike. And I ... Read More »

Trek Madone 2.1 vs Trek Madone 3.1

I'm new to road cycling coming off from MTB. After test-riding all kinds of bikes, including Cannondale Caad 10 5, I narrowed down my list to two Trek Madones, 2.1 and 3.1. Noticeable difference between the two is the frame. The 2.1 is aluminum and 3.1 is carbon fiber. Both bikes come with Shimano 1 ... Read More »

Endurance Sports Expo in Edison, NJ, March 2-3

Anyone ever been to one of these expos? Worth going to? Size? Says, "The Largest Cycling, Running and Triathlon Expo in the Country!" website: [url]http://www.endurancesportsexpo.com/index.html[/url]Read More »

30th anniversary of Lotus 1-2-3

Wow... memories... with video! [url=http://mentalfloss.com/article/48627/lotus-1-2-3-three-decades]Lotus 1-2-3, Three Decades On | Mental Floss[/url]Read More »

Read More »




Contest



Videos

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook