Trek Madone 5.2 Road Bike

4.57/5 (91 Reviews)
MSRP : $3000.00


Product Description

  • OCLV 120 Carbon Frame
  • Bontrager Race X Lite
  • OCLV 120 Carbon Fork
  • Bontrager Race Lite Wheels
  • Shimano Ultegra Rear Derailleur


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (91 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Bruce Buckoski

Date Reviewed: June 18, 2014

Strengths:    Preformed well in both flat and climbs.
light, stiff with no vibrations.


Weaknesses:    Stock saddle - changed out with my BuzzBee

Bottom Line:   
This is a very nice ride.
Light and stiff but still gives comfort thank to thin seatstays. Push the pedals and its like a rocket. With Ultgra and Race XLite its as close to stealth as possible with no noice at all,giving you an advantage sneaking up and pedalling past your mates in the mountian climbs.
Its superstable in speeds higher than I will even dare to try.


Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:2
Submitted by Joe B a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: May 28, 2014

Strengths:    Light weight, very stiff and good handling

Weaknesses:    Bontrager Wheelset is garbage. Shifting with internallly routed cables is very sluggish. Trek unable to supply recall parts.

Bottom Line:   
This is a review of the 2013 Madone 5.2. I purchased this new from my lbs last year. In the past 13 months, the bike has been in the shop for a total of 7 weeks. The first issue was due to sloppy shifting. The rear wouldn't shift smoothly and it appears that the internal cable guides were rubbing. The guys at the shop replaced rear cables and housing and shifting improved slightly. Later, Trek recalled the bike due to a faulty brake design. The LBS instructed me to bring the bike in ASAP and the bike sat more han a month due to a part shortage. Lastly, the rear wheel developed cracks around the spoke nipple and had to be replaced. Lead time for new wheel was 4 weeks. Luckily, the bike shop loaned me a wheel until a replacement arrived.

I'm very frustrated that I dropped 3 large on a bike that has has been less reliable that the 10-year old bike it was replacing. I had always dreamed of having a high-end bike but this one is a real let down. Trek, if you're listening, that swooshing sound is me and anyone within earshot looking for another brand.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Ragbrai

Price Paid:    $3200.00

Purchased At:   LBS

Similar Products Used:   LeMonde, Airborne

Bike Setup:   5.2 ultegra


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by James

Date Reviewed: March 27, 2014

Strengths:    Light weight, great handling, smooth shifts.

Weaknesses:    none for me

Bottom Line:   
I am older (65) and this bicycle is more than I will ever need which means I won't ever have to upgrade. I do maintain this bicycle and have never had any major problems. Around 10,000 miles and really enjoy riding it. Sure has helped me keep the waist line in check.


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:4
Submitted by mfaphoto1949 a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: August 14, 2013

Strengths:    I don't own this bike, but it appears to be one cool machine. I gave it 4's because there must be better for more money. Why else would they charge $11-12K?

Weaknesses:    There don't appear to be any. If I had the money, I might buy it.

Bottom Line:   
I'm posting this for the recreational user who believes that by paying more money, he will go faster. Not so. Speed is determined by, weight of the bike, weight of the rider, gearing of the bike, and strength and endurance of the rider. Recently I watched a YouTube comparison of a $650 bike against an $11K bike by Mike Horn. In it he said if you put equal physically fit riders on the two bikes, the $11K carbon fiber bike would be 1.5 miles further down the road after one hour. Put a 50 pound overweight middle aged man on the carbon fiber bike and a fit 25 year old on the $650 bike, and the fit 25 year old could be twice as far down the road on the cheaper bike. However, if you want to compare yourself with other middle aged fat men, yeah, you may be further down the road on the carbon fiber bike, but it might be a bit embarrassing. Who do you think you are? Mike Horn is a guy who rides about 20,000 miles a year. His day to day bike is a $350 Windsor that he's upgraded with better wheels, chainring, and cog. All together he has $650 in it. For that reason, I bought a Forge CTS 1000 from Target.com for $400. It's an average size bike which fits me well. It comes surprisingly well equipped, but I may upgrade the cog and chainring eventually. Weight is not as low as carbon fiber, but it isn't bad. Lastly, the best thing to do to decrease weight is to lose some of your own body weight and add muscle. You will go faster. I'm pushing too much fat now. If I lose 20 pounds, it should make a big difference considering that the gearing isn't a lot different than the Trek Madone 5.2. Oh, and lose some age too. Young people go faster!

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Hudson Valley Rail Trail

Price Paid:    $399.00

Purchased At:   Target

Bike Setup:   Crankset: Truvativ Touro Triple 30/42/52, Cassette: Shimano CS Hg-50 8 speed 12/13/14/15/16/17/19/21, brakeset: Shimano 2200Sti Integrated, Handlebars: Forged Aluminum with two sets Tektro brake levers


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Otis Burton

Date Reviewed: May 3, 2013

Strengths:    drive train puts the power into forward motion,and very comfortable ride

Weaknesses:    just bought it 4 weeks ago ,so no assesment yet i only have 300 miles on it.so i may or may not find anything.maybe the tires

Bottom Line:   
This is my second trek bike,so i may be a little bias, but compared to my old trek this bike is like going from mazda to a porche very smooth shifting ,great handling.



Reviews 1 - 5 (91 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


2012 Trek Madone 5.2 with extras--going to check it out tomorrow

Here's a tempting upgrade possibility that I ran across a couple of days ago. "[I][B][COLOR="#0000CD"]This is the 2012 model of the TREK Madone with many upgrades. It's a 56cm size with Reynolds carbon fiber Attack wheels set (I do not have the original wheels), Aero bars and so much more! It has ... Read More »

Headset and bottom bracket options Madone 5.2?

I am looking at upgrading my headset and bottom brackets for my 2013 Trek Madone 5.2. What options are out there? What models will fit my bike? Looking at Chris King, Cane Creek... Anything else? Also what model numbers?Read More »

Brake release 2013 Trek Madone 5.2

How do I release the front and rear brakes? I am trying to figure out how to take the wheels off so I can change the tube in the event of a flat during an upcoming race.Read More »

Sram red crank into Trek madone 5.2

Hello all! I have one question and if someone can tell me for 100% sure i will be thankfull. I got option of buying Sram red from 2011 with BB30 crank. I got trek madone 5.2 pro from 2008 and i think it has bb90 but im not sure 100%. My question is, should i go for that Sram red and is is able to p ... Read More »

2013 Madone 4.5 vs 2013 Giant Defy Composite 2?

I'm a crossfitter that used to ride bikes a lot more in my youth, and want to get back into it. My goals are to build up to 20-30 fast miles on the road. I'm not looking to tour or tri. I'm 53, but in fairly good shape, so I want a nice bike, but have a relatively limited budget. Based on price/ ... Read More »

Read More »



INTERBIKE




Videos

Interbike Featured Booths

Check out the hottest road bike products from these brands!




















See All Interbike Coverage - Click Here »

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook