Bicycling Magazine Magazines

1.29/5 (14 Reviews)
MSRP : $2.95


Product Description

Bicycling Magazine


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (14 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:3
Submitted by smokey422 a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: July 26, 2011

Strengths:    Occasional interesting feature articles: example- Their story several years ago on the death of Marco Pantani. Also Mike Magnuson's Clydesdale articles, which were an inspiration to me.

Weaknesses:    They only seem to review high dollar racing bikes and have forgotten about those of us that ride just for fun and fitness.

Bottom Line:   
Bicycling used to be an interesting magazine but it is only aimed at racers and rich riders who can afford very expensive bikes now. I will admit I still read it from time to time but I wish they would do more articles for regular riders like me on a limited budget. They do get an interesting feature article once in a while, however.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Hilly MO countryside

Purchased At:   subscription

Similar Products Used:   Bicycle Times (excellent!), Cycle Sport, Velonews.

Bike Setup:   Lemond Poprad set up for 250# Clydesdale.


Overall Rating:1
Value Rating:1
Submitted by braston a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: October 20, 2007

Strengths:    Absolutely nothing! Oh yeah, and Style Man's a fake!

Weaknesses:    Not enough room here to list them all.

Bottom Line:   
Okay, after receiving my latest copy, I just couldn't help but write a review. This is the absolute worst bicycle magazine on the face of the earth. If I could get Team Performance to stop sending it to me for free,I would. I subscribed years ago but never renewed.

Bicycling is like the Cosmopolitan or The National Enquirer of bicycling. It's full of fluff and articles for no-nothings with short attention spans. I still give it the courtesy 5-minute thumb-through when it comes... I guess just to see if anyone there has a clue yet. Nope, just looked again... they don't. Don't waste your hard earned money on this trash.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   El Tour de Tucson

Purchased At:   They send it to me f

Similar Products Used:   Composted steer manure
Junk mail
Realtor door hangers


Bike Setup:   Cervelo R3 Dura Ace
Ciocc COM 12.5
Specialized Epic Expert
Surly Cross Check (coming soon)


Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:4
Submitted by krusty46 a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: July 25, 2006

Strengths:    It has lots of pictures of Bicycles. Its cheaper than the other bike mags.

Weaknesses:    I wish they would actually give a negative review of something.

Bottom Line:   
Gee, no updated review in a few years. Well, not much has changed. Either Bicycling only reviews great items or someones getting paid off.
Still, it does give me something to read while I'm sitting on....well, it gives me something to read.


Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:4
Submitted by rkerry a Weekend Warrior

Date Reviewed: May 23, 2004

Strengths:    You can pick up good tips to try out once in a while

Weaknesses:    Style man

Bottom Line:   
Although I still get excited when it comes each month, I guess it's from habit, they need to quit selling out to the advertisers. Although I only buy used bikes, I would like to see a buyers guide that just covered the vendors that paid to have the merchandise shown on the pages.

Getting the annual subscription is so cheap, it's still worth it.

Expand full review >>

Similar Products Used:   None

Bike Setup:   Many bikes, road, commutting, mountain, track......


Overall Rating:1
Value Rating:1
Submitted by Donald Cox a Cross Country Rider

Date Reviewed: January 29, 2004

Strengths:    None

Weaknesses:    Buy this, buy that, blah, blah... The "I'm a moron with $4,000 to throw away" colum really makes me ill.

Bottom Line:   
I really no longer appreciate this magazine. To me, it's more like a stupid infomercial than a real cycling mag. They have been sending it to me for free and can't get them to stop. I usually thumb through it in the kitchen, then toss in the recycle bin. My two cents.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Noble Canyon

Purchased At:   Mail Box

Similar Products Used:   Costco Toilet Paper




Reviews 1 - 5 (14 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


General fitness magazine recommendation - needed

I haven't had a magazine subscription in a decade. But, I'm thinking about getting some kind of fitness magazine - covering general fitness, e.g. abs, weight-lifting, nutrition, etc. But, it seems that magazines make some assumptions about men when it comes to fitness... - We don't know there are o ... Read More »

Velo magazine's editor’s pick for the best bike on the floor of NAHBS 2014

this bike here: [img]http://cdn.velonews.competitor.com/files/2014/03/15-659x440.jpg[/img] .... pardon me for saying so, but what year is it now? Have I been magically transported to Brooklyn 1999? [url=http://velonews.competitor.com/2014/03/gallery/gallery-velos-best-of-nahbs-awards-f ... Read More »

Good Cycling Magazine Recommendations?

I currently have a subscription to Bicycling Magazine, mainly because it was dirt cheap, but I am looking for recommendations for a good road cycling magazine. Preference would be something in print but online would work too. Anyone know of a good one?Read More »

The April 2014 BUYER'S GUIDE issue of Bicycling magazine has arrived.

FINALLY, I will know what bike to buy. AND, I could WIN ANY BIKE (under $5,000) IN THIS ISSUERead More »

the March 2014 issue of "Bicycling" magazine has arrived.

Top story: "101 BEST TIPS EVER" "GET STRONGER STAY SAFER LOOK LEANER TRAIN SMARTER SMILE WIDER" Also in this issue: HOT NEW BIKES > ROAD > MOUNTAIN > CITY "Including the racy Jamis Xenith SL" also: FASTER WAYS TO GET FASTER THE SWEETEST RIDE IN AMERICA 2014 READERS' CHOICERead More »

Read More »



INTERBIKE



Videos

Interbike Featured Booths

Check out the hottest road bike products from these brands!



















See All Interbike Coverage - Click Here »

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook