Continental Ultra Gatorskin Tires - Clincher

4.01/5 (154 Reviews)
MSRP : $47.99


Product Description

Continental Ultra GatorSkin 27x1-1/4 Wire Bead: Designed as a high mileage tire with excellent flat protection. Many refer to the Ultra Gatorskin as "Bullet Proof". A layer of Duraskin and an extra layer of Kevlar under the tread keeps flat...


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (154 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Eric Schreiber

Date Reviewed: April 19, 2016

Strengths:    Can ride for miles and miles; ride very comfortable

Weaknesses:    Not performance related but after many miles, transsexual of thread emerged from sidewalls

Bottom Line:   
Bought my first set in July 2013 and just replaced in April 2016. I got nearly 6,000 miles of wear over this period. I am a big rider at 235 and inflate to approximately 105 lbs. I do not believe I got a single flat during this period. Am a recreational triathlete and ride about 2800 mile/ yr. the comfort on long rides and confidence of remote likelihood of a flat are what drives me to buy these. The really long life is an added bonus


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Audley Yung

Date Reviewed: August 28, 2014

Strengths:    light, fast, aesthetically pleasing.

Weaknesses:    none that I can think of at the moment.

Bottom Line:   
http://audleyyung.com/2014/08/28/continental-gatorskins-the-definitive-answer/

I wrote an honest and in-depth review in layman's terms on my with photos. Check it out if you'd like, it might help you make a better decision on this great tire. I've used it with confidence!


Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:3
Submitted by James White a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: July 23, 2014

Strengths:    Above average for flat resistance

Weaknesses:    Expensive

Bottom Line:   
If you are considering the Conti Gatorskin for a tire, you are way, way, way, behind the times and don't understand that Continental is a technological tour de force that keeps on innovating while innumerable shmucks keep on thinking the antiquated Gatorskin is actually still a top level tire and even worse, is worth its outrageous cost. For about the same cost, you can get the vastly superior Continental Grand Prix 4 Season. This tire has the 3/330 casing VS the Gatorskins 3/180 casing. Then you get the double Vectron breaker VS the single PolyX breaker so easily more than 2X the puncture protection as a single layer Vectran is better than PolyX for flat protection and lighter and more flexible. Then you get wide temperature rubber that is also formulated to excel in the wet and you have a tire that stands on the podium alone in the indestructible racing tire category. Tires like the Specialized Armadillo/Espoir series and Bontrager Hard Case series are a really bad joke compared to this tire. Not only are they less puncture resistant, they are much heavier, slower, and oh so much worse for value as well. When I change out an Armadillo for people, they are just shocked at how slow and harsh riding that Armadillo really was. The Gatorskin, too, has seen its day and it was a good tire before the 4 season cam out. Now there is no valid reason whatsoever to go to the Gatorskin anymore.

Expand full review >>

Similar Products Used:   Hutchinson Fusion & Atom, Michelin Pro 3, Kenda Kaliente, Vittoria Rubino & Diamante, Continental Grand Prix 4000S,
Continental Grand Sport Race.


Bike Setup:   Two 7005 aluminum and one carbon fiber road bike.


Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:3
Submitted by David, an endurance rider a Triathlete

Date Reviewed: April 17, 2014

Strengths:    They ride well and corner well especially at high speeds. Seem to handle well in the wet.

Weaknesses:    Short life span. Even with great care to avoid road junk and potholes I only get between 1,100 and 1,300 miles per tire due to holes in the sidewalls. At $50 per tire....very irritating.

Bottom Line:   
If Continental could fix the sidewall failure problem they would have a great product. Gatorskins are superior to Armadillos and the other tires I have tried.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Death Ride

Purchased At:   High Sierra Cycling/

Similar Products Used:   Specialized Armadillos

Bike Setup:   Giant TCR Advanced 0. Merlin Cyrene. Both bikes are running American Classics Aero wheels.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Sarah Swab

Date Reviewed: June 17, 2012

Strengths:    smooth ride without flats

Weaknesses:    none

Bottom Line:   
I have ridden this set just under 3,000 miles and the tires are still going strong. I am beginning to see some wear, but they are not worn out yet. I have yet to flat on these tires.



Reviews 1 - 5 (154 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating