Vittoria Rally Tires - Tubular

2.63/5 (16 Reviews)
MSRP : $25.95


Product Description

Roll into your next training ride on the Vittoria Rally Classic Tubular Tire and spank the blacktop like it has been seriously naughty.


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (16 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:3
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Neil a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: May 17, 2012

Strengths:    Cheap

Weaknesses:    Not super light

Bottom Line:   
Who are you people who blow out tires like every 100 miles, and get flats like every time you ride? If you don't ride like a dumbass and look where you put your wheels I bet you will get fewer flats. Also if I paid $10 for these and they were billed as training tires I would be pist if they lasted 1000 miles, but they were 25 dollars

Expand full review >>

Similar Products Used:   Tufo S22
Vittoria Evo CX


Bike Setup:   Cervelo S1
Ultegra
Ambrosio Nemesis/Dura-Ace (Training)
Boyd 38 carbon Tubulars (Race day)


Overall Rating:4
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Jeffrey Lynn Carlson a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: March 27, 2012

Strengths:    Price, durability(run them at 7 bar, and they will last longer and ride better)

Weaknesses:    Sometimes not perfectly round.....

Bottom Line:   
I find some of the reviews quite amusing.....it is been my experience, that many times when someone has a problem with an item, the problem is with the person, not the item. I am a "Vintage" Cyclist, who rides an immaculate 1980 Gios Torino Super Record, about 3500 miles a year. I buy 4 Vittoria Rally Tubulars a year, and they deliver EVERYTHING that a TRAINING tire could, and should deliver for 1/4th the cost of a RACING tubular. You get what you pay for....a decent training tire, that if you do get a flat, you are not out $100.00 !!

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Anywhere in Traverse City Mi

Price Paid:    $1500.00

Purchased At:   Brick Wheels Travers

Bike Setup:   1980 Gios Super Record, Campagnolo Super Record Groupo, original owner.


Overall Rating:1
Value Rating:1
Submitted by clayhorste a Commuter

Date Reviewed: October 12, 2009

Strengths:    Non

Weaknesses:    Unreliable

Bottom Line:   
I have to say that these tires aren't worth the glue to put them on. I only had them on a week when they sprung a mysterious leak that I can't find without ripping out all of the stitching and submerging the tub under water. The air comes out a hole in the casing , but the leak is elsewhere as I opened up the casing, pulled out as much tube and I dared and submerged it under water and watched it deflate, but no bubbles from the submerged section.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Commute over Scravel Hill

Price Paid:    $30.00

Purchased At:   LBS

Similar Products Used:   Panaracer Practice Dual TG

Bike Setup:   Panasonic DX3000 commuter with tubulars, 3 speed internal gear hub and a coaster brake.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Hill Boy a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: December 8, 2001

Strengths:    They hold up fine. They are basically round. They are rubber. They hold air (better than my $80 race tires do, for that matter.) They aren't clinchers. What do you want here? It's a training tire. They aren't terribly light, they aren't terribly round. In fact, I was a little surprised at the remarkably low rolling resistance, but I guess that might come from riding them at 9bar. For crying out loud, it's a 6 dollar tire. That's its strength right there. You can spend $12 on a tube these days.

Weaknesses:    If I were trying to race on these, I would complain that they bulge in a couple places and that they weigh more than the rims they're glued to. But I'm not trying to race on them, because that's what my racing tires are for. Just like I wouldn't race on rims built in the early 80s. Sheesh. As a training tire, you can't get a cheaper tubular.

Bottom Line:   
So really, all of the griping below is more than a little out of hand. These are a [i]training[/i] tire, not a race tire. More to the point, they are a winter trainging tire; lower speeds, wet conditions, all around nasty. They don't have to be light, they don't have to be terribly round, they just have to be cheap.
I had a set of Omega Stradas laced to an aging set of 105 hubs to build up a reasonably heavy, mildly aero wheelset for less than $150 including labor, and I glued these bad boys onto them. The goal wasn't speed or light weight or screaming descents, it was just something that I can put low intensity miles on without costing myself a fortune.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   The dead fast one.

Price Paid:    $6.00

Similar Products Used:   I've tried the Tufo trainers, and for the substantial difference in cost, it ain't worth it. Veloflex Servizio Corses, Vittoria Corsa CXs, but those are race tires so it's not really the same thin

Bike Setup:   Race setup: 303s, light bike (sub 16)
Winter training setup: Ancient campy rims laced to cheap shim


Overall Rating:1
Value Rating:1
Submitted by Mr Bib from Washington

Date Reviewed: August 28, 2001

Strengths:    cheap

Weaknesses:    cheap

Bottom Line:   
Thes tires are junk!

Expand full review >>

Similar Products Used:   None

Bike Setup:   cheap wheels



Reviews 1 - 5 (16 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


Sharpton Leads Rally

for the release of [URL="http://gothamist.com/2008/01/06/sharpton_leads.php"]John White[/URL]. woohoo!Read More »

Americans rally nationwide against stricter gun control measures

[QUOTE](TheBlaze/AP) — Concerned citizens gathered in state capitals nationwide Saturday to rally against stricter gun control measures, days after President Barack Obama unveiled a sweeping package of federal gun control proposals. Roughly 800 people turned out in Austin, Texas, many carrying si ... Read More »

Gun Control = More Crime Rally @ your state capital building on Jan 19, 2013

Is anyone here able to attend? "Please attend the "Guns Across America" rally on Jan. 19, 2013, at your state capital building. This event starts at "high noon" local time. I'm posting a link for the event, and for my Facebook page, "Gun Control = More Crime." Please America, I implore you to ... Read More »

an idea for all of us to rally around

While I am not a stranger to these political wars and struggles, I would like to propose an amendment/action/idea we can all agree with. Please take the time today to thank a veteran and their families for the sacrifices. Please take the time to thank someone in uniform for their service. S ... Read More »

DNC Sweetheart's HUGE rally in Reno, NV

[url=http://now.msn.com/sandra-fluke-rally-in-reno-draws-only-10-people-to-sak-n-save-parking-lot]Sandra Fluke rally in Reno draws only 10 people to Sak 'N Save parking lot[/url] only 10 people showed up.Read More »

Read More »



INTERBIKE

EUROBIKE




Videos

Interbike Featured Booths

Check out the hottest road bike products from these brands!




















See All Interbike Coverage - Click Here »

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook