American Classic 420 Black wheelsets - clincher

4.13/5 (8 Reviews)


Product Description

420 Black is the best do-it-all wheels on the market and strong enough for racing or training. Responsive and smooth with a lightweight, deep aerodynamic profile. Lighter than most wheels since deep rims do not need as many spokes.


Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating

Reviews 1 - 5 (8 Reviews Total) | Next 5

User Reviews

Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by Colmanchiro a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: August 17, 2011

Strengths:    Fast rolling aero profile, solid year after year in all conditions.

Weaknesses:    Break tracks are soft so you need carbon specific SwissStop pads which cost more and don't work as well as a standard abrasion pad.

Bottom Line:   
Before you freak on the price paid my rear has a PowerTap SL+ power meter laced into it. Fantastic Wheelset only needed truing once. Aero but light and fast rolling.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   17 mile drive Pebble Beach, CA

Price Paid:    $1200.00

Purchased At:   BTI

Similar Products Used:   Easton aero and Ritchie wcs.

Bike Setup:   Raleigh Team Sram red groupo.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by ColoColo a Recreational Rider

Date Reviewed: August 28, 2010

Strengths:    weight (or lack thereof)

Weaknesses:    None (yet)

Bottom Line:   
I got these babies last week. I waited until I received the Ultegra Cassette to try them out. Compared to my Fulcrum racing 7s, this is a total change. It feels like a different road bike. The bearings are smooth and the wheels spin forever it seems. These are 1530 grams so I shave over a pound and it made a huge difference going uphill. Cheap compared to others in the same weight stage. As far as durability goes, its too early to tell. I will post eventually how they perform under stress situations...

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   One that's not so hot

Price Paid:    $659.00

Purchased At:   Gotta Ride Bikes

Similar Products Used:   Fulcrum Racing 7s (1930 g)



Overall Rating:2
Value Rating:2
Submitted by Dave a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: October 22, 2009

Strengths:    wheels stayed true (till hub cracked) and felt nice, light and aero

Weaknesses:    front hub cracks!

Bottom Line:   
Bought Jun 2008 from chainreaction in the UK online and shipped to Australia. Liked them till now (16 months later). Rode <5000km on these wheels in this time without hitting anything so they've had a good life. Oct 2009 a spoke pulled a big crack in the front hub. That's one dodgy hub! have contacted supplier and american classic, I'll report how it goes with them!

Expand full review >>

Price Paid:    $550.00

Purchased At:   chainreactioncycles.



Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:5
Submitted by colnago888 a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: September 26, 2009

Strengths:    Wheels have stayed true since purchase 3 years ago. Love the black and white graphics and excellent braking surface. Good clamping from the skewers. Lighter than my Ritchey OCR 24-spoke wheels with Record Hubs.

Weaknesses:    Paint on the spoke nipples wore off on some spots, minimalist hub design which does cause cone loosening, but not that big of a job as long as you have a 15 mm cone wrench.

Bottom Line:   
American Classic CR420 Black. I had some hesitation after reading some of the old reviews with the cones losening, etc. Not really a big deal as long as you have a 15 mm cone wrench. The cone assembly has a minimalist design to save weight, but not that fragile as I've repacked the bearings at the end of each season without any incident. With this minimalist design, you will very likely need to adjust the cones once each season due to some side-to-side play that comes about from use. I ride on smooth and rough pavement and even rode once or twice on a trail. The front and rear have stayed true. I have NEVER trued these wheels, but have worked on the cones as discussed. Stiff, light and inexpensive. Would like to see a tubeless design at some point.

Expand full review >>

Favorite Ride:   Colnago CT2, Campy Record 10, Deda Carbons

Price Paid:    $699.00

Purchased At:   Ebay

Similar Products Used:   Ambrosio Wheels 32 spoke, Ritchey OCR Wheels 24-spoke.

Bike Setup:   2004/2005 Colnago CT2 HP, Campagnolo Record 10 Ultra, Deda Arimo 130 mm stem, Deda Spectrum Carbon h/bars, Keywin CRM Titanium pedals, Selle Italia SLK, USE Alien Carbon Seatpost.


Overall Rating:5
Value Rating:4
Submitted by jedled a Road Racer

Date Reviewed: May 2, 2008

Strengths:    Strong. Lite. Look Nice.

Weaknesses:    Locktite on Spoke nipples.

Bottom Line:   
This is a very good wheel set. I have been riding these for training for the last 3+ years. I have over 11K on the first set and am having them rebuilt as a precaution - not because they need it.

There was a recall issue with the hubs back 2 years ago. American Classic was a pleasure to work with. Had them fixed and back going in no time. I weigh just over 180lbs at the beginning of the season and I ride these wheels pretty hard. American Classic uses something like lock tite on the spokes so adjusting them requires a special spoke wrench.

For me they are a wheel set I trust and can easily maintain the hubs

Expand full review >>

Similar Products Used:   Mavic, Zipp

Bike Setup:   Orbea Orca, Champy record



Reviews 1 - 5 (8 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating


XMAS PROMO: New Apple iPad Air-$420, Blackberry Z30 white/black-$350

XMAS AND NEW YEAR PROMO...BUY 2 GET 1 FOR FREE WITH FREE SHIPPING! BUY 2 GET 1 FOR FREE WITH FREE SHIPPING!! BUY 2 GET 1 FOR FREE WITH FREE SHIPPING!!! DELIGHT ACCESS LIMITED® we are one of the leading mobile phone distributorsis. We are legitimate registered company under government registration a ... Read More »

Show me your bike with AC 420 wheelset (Black!)

Just ordered a American Classic standard build CR420 black wheelset. Can someone show me the picture of your bike with wheelset? Just wanted to see how it looks on others bikes. Thanks. dmzRead More »

Read More »



INTERBIKE




Videos

Interbike Featured Booths

Check out the hottest road bike products from these brands!



















See All Interbike Coverage - Click Here »

 

RoadbikeReview on Facebook