Bianchi 1999 Eros Older Road Bike

Bianchi 1999 Eros Older Road Bike 

DESCRIPTION

1999 Bianchi Eros, road/sport, Campagnolo Mirage Triple components, Bianchi fork

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 32  
[Dec 03, 2009]
ces
Recreational Rider

Strength:

large front gear full range rear. stiff frame. smooth welds

Weakness:

none ive found yet.

after 5000 miles it is still running like new. and that is saying a lot because it is VERY smooth running even on not so smooth roads and sidewalks

Similar Products Used:

giant rech. 80's mongoose 15 speed

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 12, 2009]
Spencer
Commuter

Strength:

-Celeste Green
-Handmade in Italy
-Stiff frame
-Durable
-Campagnolo Veloce/Mirage groupset

Weakness:

Not sure if they came on the bike originally but CXP 21's, while durable, were sluggish. Not a flaw with the frame and have since replaced them with Easton Circuits.

My father picked this previously stolen Bianchi up for me at a Police Auction for the sweet price of two dollars. I immediately fell in love with it, it was nice to own a Bianchi that wasn't made in Asia. Not too mention the gorgeous Celeste Green.

Similar Products Used:

Not sure of model, but a Carbon Fiber Giant, Steel 80's Raleigh w/ SunTour, a late 70's Steel Raleigh w/ Campagnolo, and a post-2000 Motobecane Le Champion.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 17, 2003]
ValleyRider
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Ride, comfort, durabilty, classic European geometry, value. Did I mention Italian steel?

Weakness:

Some or all of this may be different (improved) now. Saddle, wheels, seat post, headset.

Bought new in 96. Stock seat and post were landfill. Upgraded to Sella San Marco suspension then, ProLink Basic (oh yeah!). This is the ultimate "all day" or "all week" ride yet I can hang with most of the high end bike riders on club rides. Carbon fork was only slight improvement over stock CroMo but feels better while on aero bars. What can you say about Italian steel at this price? It's fast (enough) stable, smooth and with the upgraded wheels rolls along with rides costing three times as much. If you look at this bike today, there have been many improvments by Bianchi without much price increase although I've had no problems with the stock Mirage/Veloce mechanicals even after 11K miles. This bike climbs, decends and reacts well to flat out hammering though I don't think it's the first choice for your state crit title. But if the Eros is in your price range, don't by anything until you ride this or any other Italian Steel. You'll love it for a long time.......long time.

Similar Products Used:

Myata aluminum Late 80's Cannondale tooth cracker

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 17, 2002]
peterp
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Fair price. Well engineered frame. Attractive Celeste paint job. Good reputation behind product.

Weakness:

Mirage deraillers disappoint again and again. Dealer not able to correct shifting problems. Rode cycleoregon(400miles)and required the daily services of mechanics to attempt to get gears to shift properly. Particularly poor in maintaining rear down-shifts. Rear wheel poorly tuned and eventually fell apart.Replaced by dealer.

Bicycle frame is very comfortable and reponsive. Overall concept and pricing for the bike is good. Any demanding cyclist will be disappointed with the Campy Mirage deraillers.

Similar Products Used:

Upgraded PX-10 Peuogout; DeBernardi; Specialized

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 02, 2002]
AshburnJim
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Nice ride, after seat was replaced. Mirage groupo has sufficient performance. Does not go out of tune. But needed about 500 miles of breakin. High performance to price ratio.

Weakness:

Headset and front hub.

Overall, a good bike for training and recreational riding. The steel frame has a nice ride. And the Mirage component group offers good performance. Had two problems of note: a bum headset and a poorly packed and too tight front hub. Headset was replaced by LBS with a Chorus. Works great very smooth. Front hub was not packed with sufficient grease and was too tight. Needed new cones and bearings. The front hubs are difficult to find cones for as they are a generic hub with the Campy name. Campy does not stock parts for it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2001]
bike n veg
Commuter

Strength:

steel; eyelets for rack are plus for commuters

Weakness:

shifting not as smooth as it could be

I was looking for a sturdy steel frame with rack eyelets for use both for daily commuting (15 miles each way) and longer rides, including centuries. Bianchi recommends the Eros for centuries, but it''''''''s also worked great for commuting. A big factor in my purchase is that I did not have $1,000 + to spend. After doing alot of research and test rides, I determined that the Eros and the Jamis Quest were the best bikes for what I wanted and in my price range.

Similar Products Used:

Jamis Quest, Bianchi Campione

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 18, 2001]
Andres
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Fantastic, comfortable, and fast ride. Campagnolo components are a dream. Have used it on many long rides (100+mi) and it feels great overall. Very addicting.

Weakness:

Dark green color makes it non-Bianchi (spiced up with yellow accents compensates for this).

Excellent bike with superior quality. Nothing beats Italian. Great value that can keep up w/ $$$ machines.

Similar Products Used:

Bennotto 2000, Klein, Cannondale

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2001]
John
Recreational Rider

Strength:

very nice ride. I am train for a triathalon and was looking for a bike that good value. i ride about 60 miles per week and it is very comfortable and easy to handle.

Weakness:

Front derailleur needed a lot of adjustment not sure what the issue is here, I have seen this in a lot of other reviews of this bike. Unless you butt is made of rock change the seat. The campy shifters do not index, [I was a bit surprised since my 6 year old Trek MB does] however this has not been a problem to date.

This bike fits my needs and price range. If you are looking for a good entry road bike this certainly fits the bill. They could save a little money by selling the bike without the seat and all the stupid stickers

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 12, 1999]
Vicky
Cross-Country Rider

Strength:

Fast downhill
Great at climbing
Very comfortable
Handles curves wonderfully
The only company with a woman product manager, so the bike fits better
Campi is easier to shift if you have small hands

Weakness:

Needed to change stem & handlebars to fit my smaller handsCame with cheap pedals

Awesome road bike

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Jul 01, 1999]
Tim
Cross-Country Rider

Strength:

Entry Level Campy affordability
Styling
Durability
Price
Stiff BB
Bianchi/Campy factor

Weakness:

Rear Derailleur still being dialed in after 3 mos, 1,800 mules.

For $1,100 I have achieved countless hours of riding enjoyment. The bike climbs well, cornering is reliable and predictable, and coasts faster than a lot of more expensive bikes. The Mirage componentry is nice, but the read D goes out of whack every 500 miles or so. My only complaint is a unidentified squeek during seated high torque peddling. Its not in the BB, pedals, shoes, seat, seatpost.....????comes and goes.Overall, I am very pleased with the Bike and give it the highest rating for its ridability right out of the box.

Similar Products Used:

Schwinn, Specialized, Trek, Lemond in the same price range

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 32  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.