Specialized Sirrus A1 Pro 2002 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Sirrus A1 Pro 2002 Hybrid Bike 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-6 of 6  
[Aug 08, 2003]
Jim
Recreational Rider

Strength:

strong, light frame chainset/group set

Weakness:

paint job chips too easily

I've used this bike for 200+ mile charity races as well as my daily commute to work. One spoke has broke in over a year. The bike is light, strong and faster than any hard tail but has a more comfortable riding position than a proper road bike. As far as I'm concerned this is an excellent all-rounder with a hybrid bias toward a road-racer.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 05, 2003]
OldTrekkie
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Good components for the price - a roadie rather than mountain hybrid. Nice finishing with lugs for fenders and racks.

Weakness:

Would be nice to have 105 or better crankset and better bottom bracket. Lousy seat - too wide and soft.

This is the third bike in my stable along with a Cannondale Mountain Bike and Trek 5200. I was looking for an urban commuter for my daily rides to and from work. I wanted more road than mountain. This does the trick with the Shimano Ultegra rear and Tiagra crankset(soon to be uograded). The ride is great for a commuter. V-brakes are good in the wet. The stock seatpost and seat aren't great and the tires a bit on the heavy side - but I'm not trying to be Lance Armstrong on my commuter! I'd recommend it as a commuter but don't expect to be able to do anything off-road or be able to keep up with the racers. It might be a good touring rig.

Similar Products Used:

Teated Broadie Infinity, Cannondale Bad Boy, Cannondale Road Warrior. This was a better deal on a close-out.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 30, 2002]
Belinda Hunter

Strength:

Great for local commutes and good for recreational tours on-road (not off-road) that typically do not speed over 16mph for an entire route of 50-100 miles.

Weakness:

Doesn't handle very well on off-road paths. It's a commuter/touring road bike that can only handle moderate speeds (11-16 mph). Sadly, this bike doesn't become responsive with frequent riding. Hence, this bike is not recommended for specific cycling training even for the beginner cyclist; on-road or off-road.

The aluminum frame rides very well in recreational urban and suburban century tours (100-mile distances) and local commutes for as long as your speed typically does not surpass 16mph on-road for an entire route of 50-100 miles. When riding over 16mph, the Shimano Deore XT with V-Brakes installed on the Sirrus Pro are not so reliable especially over rolling terrain or hilly climbs in that the shifting tends to loosen while riding and when the rider shifts frequently between uphill/downhill modes in order to maintain momentum (keep pace). Hence, this bike overall is not very responsive to frequent riding (over 100 miles per week). For example, at faster speeds across the flats (17/18/19 mph), this bike does not begin to ride easier like some of the others on the market. The rider's effort must perpetually empower the Sirrus Pro to maintain a consistent pace once a good pace over 16 mph has seemingly been established. The wheelset is Ritchey Logic USA so part of the problem could lie in the hubs - subtle mechanical resistance which is vaguely more noticeable when trying to maintain a higher speed. Also, the Ritchey bladed spokes are not top quality in that they weaken rather easily when riding across rough road (eg. bumpy concrete). The bike and its componentry, however, are easy to maintain if the rider has a habit of wiping everything down after each ride and checking the shifters, brakes, and drivetrain for any loosened parts; especially after riding 50-100 miles in one day and/or after riding in wet road conditions

Similar Products Used:

None recently.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 23, 2002]
akyo
Commuter

Strength:

- Comfortable and strong frame - Wheelset - Carbon fork

Weakness:

- Swap the saddle for something designed for humans - Paint finish chips too easily.

Overall, this is a great commuting bike which makes short work of most routes. After trying many different bikes, from Cannondales to Treks, Marins, and other Specialized, I found this to be the best overall compromise for speed and comfort. For commuting around the aweful London roads, the strong wheelset is a definite plus and the carbon fork definitely irons things out. Only the Marin Tiburon was marginally more comfortable than this bike, but the price differential was not worth it. The Sirrus Pro is a great all round bike.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 02, 2002]
snowfrog
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Solid frame, fork, good components.

Weakness:

Uncomfortable and not suited for hybrid status.

I have not learned to love this bike. While I bought it because I thought that it would be comfortable for a mountain biker occasional recreational road biker, it has not proved to be any more comfortable than any other road type bike. I'm surprised that it's listed as a hybrid. It cannot be ridden off road with much success, in my opinion. I had to change out the saddle, stem and add aerobars to the bike for minimal comfort.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 15, 2002]
Sean Kelly
Commuter

Strength:

Carbon forks, Ultegra rear derailleur. Bladed spokes. Light frame and well spec''ed on the whole. Upright riding position. P.S I wouldn''t call this bike a Hybrid, it''s definitley a road bike, a clever one at that. Well worth spending money on upgrades to this bike.

Weakness:

Would like to see this bike with full Ultegra and a carbon seatpost. Quite expensive for a commuter /recreation bike - but worth every penny in my mind, No real weaknesses as yet as yet.

This bike is fantastic. Carbon forks absorb the rough roads very well. The Ultegra rear derailleur is a much needed upgrade from the 2001 version. The frame is light and stiff. The Ritchey wheelset is good, but not great. However, the bladed spokes compliment the aero rims very well. The wheelset is definitley not a negative point for this bike, they are what you''d expect in this price range. Brakes are very good. The USE SX seatpost is the same as last years model, and you get the Comp version of the BG saddles - all fine. I really like the pick up on this bike. It accelerates really well, and sometimes its hard to know which way the wind is blowing. You could definitely tour major distances on this bike. I also love the geometry of this bike, is such that it really feels like a road bike, except that you are in the safer and more comfortable upright riding position. I''d buy a future model of this bike if Specialized upgraded cleverly and increased the road bike feel and speed of the pro.

Similar Products Used:

Sirrus Comp 2001. Cannondale Badboy

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-6 of 6  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.