Trek 7300 2002 Hybrid Bike

7300

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
David   Commuter [Nov 07, 2011]
Strength:

I like everything about it really, but I don't like the front shocks, when I get off the seat climbing a hill or bridge it bounces.

Weakness:

Shifting wasn't great in the beginning but then I switched bike shops and they fixed it right up, the other shop (not Bike America, they're great but I've moved to a small town now) was pretty lame at tune ups and charged twice the price, these new guys are pros. So I can't really put the problem on the bike, it was the mechanic.

I bought this bike because I had gotten ginormous sitting at a computer 15 hours a day for the last 15 years. I needed the excersise and I needed a bike that that hold my tonnage. This bike is awesome for that. I have lost 140 lbs. I use it to excercise and to commute now. Riding 30 miles a day. I'm at the point now that I am getting a road bike (Cannondale Synapse Carbon Apex 6) but I'm keeping this one for commuting, the roads here suck and this bike will take anything. I've actually done a 30 mile ride and averaged 15 miles an hour on it with the 35mm tires. This bike will fly on the road and take the trails like a champ.

Similar Products Used: Back before I got fat I had a Trek FX. it was great too, but I wasn't into biking so much then, just recreational.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill Walsh   Recreational Rider [Sep 18, 2009]
Strength:

If you spend more than 2 hours on the bike you will want multiple hand positions. I had the bar extenders and still wanted an areo bar at times just to vary positions.

Weakness:

I do not believe I can mount my areo bar to the curved handlebar. The curved handle bar sort of prevents secure mounting for a headlight.

Purchased back in the mid '90's. Never rode more than 1,000 miles until recently. I took my recumbent and this bike across Virgina. With the Trek 730 I could never have made it over the Appalachins. It is a great bike.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CDE   Recreational Rider [Jun 02, 2007]
Strength:

Smooth, quick response, large 700 wheels, front suspension is lockable.

Weakness:

Seat, handlebars, and pedals. Kind of weak for unpaved trail use.

I have been riding a Myiata Elevation outfitted for trail riding for 15 years, The Trek really caught my eye due to it's geometry so I gave it a try.

Bike handles very nicely and has quick response shifting. It took a little getting used to since the ride is different from my Myiata hybrid, but so far my only complaints are the handlebars, seat, and pedals.

I plan to replace the handlebars with a straight "T" like I have on my Myiata to give it more of a "Fitness Bike" feel. The seat has to go and does the pedals.

If I had the extra at the time I probably would of bought the Trek 7.2 FX instead.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert F Bachman Jr   Recreational Rider [Jul 17, 2006]
Strength:

Aluminum frame,paint(blue/silver),shocks, big brake pads,lightweight

Weakness:

noisy shifts, pedals, Bontrager seat(very stiff even with springs in it)

Mostly Bontrager and Shimano components on my model. Ditched the Bontrager seat immediately for a Trek gel I got on ebay for $21 new(excellent). Also added extensions on the bars and changed out the pedals for light but strong titanium. Also have a Trek rack for medium size bag with panniers($550 with the upgrades). Bike is easy to put in my pickup, less than 25lbs. Shifting a bit noisy but accurate. Ride is very smooth with the fork and seat post shocks. I have no problem getting up to speed in traffic and turning is quick but not as sharp as a true roadie(never liked road handlebars). I think the 300mmx35C tires impead this. Spending 40-50 miles on this baby is a pleasure. I usually get in about 150 miles /wk for a good workout.

Similar Products Used: Trek 730 from 10yrs ago(cro-moly frame)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Gina   Recreational Rider [Apr 19, 2006]
Strength:

Value for money, comfortable ride

Weakness:

Rear derailleur shifting

As a beginner, averaging about 50 miles per week, I bought this bike to ride for recreation and fitness along the local paved bike trail. As others have noted, this is great bike for the money. The bike is light enough for me to lift and put in the back of my Subaru. The ride is comfortable, due to shocks, steering forgiving. Unlike others, I have noted shifting to be a bit sticky, but overall okay. I added a Trek rear rack and it is more than sufficient to pack spare tubes, jackets etc.

Similar Products Used: Gary Fisher Nirvana
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott of Indianapolis   Recreational Rider [May 21, 2004]
Strength:

The gear shifting is flawless. The crank seems very strong and firm. Aesthetically, this is a beautiful hybrid bicycle.

Weakness:

A fork with a shock arrestor would have been nice, but I can't think of any deficiencies other than that.

I was a commuter/recreational rider many years ago when I was in the Navy and college. Getting back on a bike after 14 years was scary, but the 7300 made it a snap. I enjoy the bike's shifting system, and the components all see to be quality products. I purchased the bike from an individual who put handlebar extension and toe clips and new pedals on it and the additions make it even more enjoyable.

Similar Products Used: I previously owned road bikes by A-D and Peugot, but I never previoulsy owned a hybrid bike.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scootems   Recreational Rider [Jun 03, 2003]
Strength:

Quality Trek Alpha AL frame. Shimano components. Adjustable InSync front shock. 700cc wheelset. Comfortable, upright seating. SRAM gripshift 24 speed shifting. TWO water bottle cages. Suspension seatpost. Relaxed frame geometry. Comfortable squishy grips. Eyelets to add a pannier rack to the rear. Super comfortable to ride over most surfaces with confidence. Very versatile.

Weakness:

Platform pedals are plastic. Saddle is comfy, but not for the long haul. If you want to log hop, this ain't the bike for you! Otherwise, it's perfect for my needs.

I primarily ride a road bike for fitness rides, but wanted another bike for all around use. Wanted comfort, yet good gearing and 700cc wheels. This bike delivers. With front suspension, wide tires (38s), suspension seatpost, riser handlebar and riser stem, I cruise down the road in pure comfort and relaxation. I am able to look around and enjoy the scenery. Triple chainring keeps me moving at a fast enough clip. This bike feels like a fine steed and faithful companion for the journey. No more pavement gazing, like on the road bike. Though soft and springy, the saddle has too much padding for long rides comfort without numbness setting in. Shifted flawlessly and brakes stop you on a dime. Beautiful gloss black with silver/cream accents. A Stunner! Her name came to me immediately the first time I took her out on the path: Black Magic! One sweet machine!

Similar Products Used: Specialized Sirrus/Expedition; Trek Navigator/7500fx; Diamondback Wildwood; Mongoose Switchback.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
matgrv   Recreational Rider [Jan 18, 2003]
Strength:

Good all round Hybrid. Works on Road, Gravel, Dirt and fields. Shimano components holding up well. Triple Chain really helps. Like the dial-in shifters.

Weakness:

Stock Handlbars are poor. Pedals are K-Mart quality. What's with the spokes ? If you think you'll start biking alot, skip by it.

I got back into cycling after laying off for 15 years. I went for the Hybrid since it seemed to be good middle ground. I like the 7300 and done about 1000 miles since April. I decided in the fall to do some upgrades: changed the riser handlebar to a staight bar (better pulling) also got rid of those pedals (Yuk). Also adjusted the stem so I could crunch a little better. I've also been biking regularly through the Fall/Winter here in Missouri, that lead to problem: I do asphalt and gravel roads and this bike breaks spokes, must be the cold ? (Yes, I do try to keep them tight). Having said all that however, I've outgrown the 7300 already. When doing 20-30 miles trips on this bike, you've worked more than you need to and are hard pressed to average more than 10-15 miles/hr. I've decided there's a Trek 2200 in my future. My overall advice: If you think you're going stay casual (1-2 times a week, 10 miles or less per ride, this bike is great). If you're start using this bike for serious riding (3+ times a week, 20+ miles per ride, you'll out grow it quick !)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
William Borchardt   Recreational Rider [Dec 15, 2002]
Strength:

Ride, shifting, and it looks good.

Weakness:

At 29 lbs. it's not a lightweight.

Great bike! After not riding a bike for over 25 years, I decided to start getting some exercise. Istarted at 10 miles and worked up to 30 - 40 miles a ride sometimes 50 miles. Bike is very comfortable. Swapped out the pedals for Shimano SPDs. Seat worked fine for me. I like the adjustable front suspension. Cranked it down tight for paved roads. Shifting works well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
desertfisch   Commuter [Sep 23, 2002]
Strength:

Reliable, tough, comfortable, great in town commuter.

Weakness:

Pedals, seat.

I bought the bike to use as my daily commuter bike. I have put about 800 miles on the bike with no problems. It rides great, is very comfortable, and is so reliable that I've nicknamed it "The Road Dog". Before I got good lights I ran over a tree branch at full speed with no damage. Love the black paint too. Did replace pedals and seat.

Similar Products Used: Gary Fisher, Marin, Bianchi, all good bikes choice came down to color
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.