Bianchi Eros 2002 Road Bike

Bianchi Eros 2002 Road Bike 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-6 of 6  
[Apr 20, 2004]
Touch0Gray
Recreational Rider

Strength:

frame, drive train

Weakness:

paint Big deal huh?

ok, I reviewed this bike a year ago and since then it has moved UP the ladder. I forgot that I had a Brooks B-17 N on it when I wrote the original review. Since then I have added a set of profile stryke force aero bard for riding into the seemingly ALWAYS prevailing head-wind. I just replaced the tires with Specialized all condition pro's, the Vittorio that came on it wore poorly and I had more flats than I have ever had with any tire. The more I ride this bike the more I love it. I now have 3500 or more miles on it and aside from the assorted nicks on the paint from almost anything that hits it, I have found NO problems. I got a small bottle of touch-up paint from Bianchi which is a TERRIBLE color match but the chips won't rust. Question is, should a guy buy a new bike every year? I'd have to get another Bianchi! oh yeah, the guy who's feet hit the front tire...I have been trying to duplicate that one since i got the bike and if I am clipped in, I just can't do it no matter how hard I try. The problem is not with the bike, hehehe, it has gotta be that his feet are too long!

Similar Products Used:

lots

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 02, 2004]
Robert Alcasabas
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Bianchi quality. Good Campy components, even if they are on their "low end." Responsive and predictable handling. This bike is no "thoroughbred", but it is a fine quarterhorse that can still get you there in style.

Weakness:

For weight freaks, it is a tad heavy at about 21.5 lbs in my 55CM size. But hey, at 5'11" and 185lbs I like a challenging workout. Stock Bianchi saddle is roadkill and it takes a large amoount of tightening to get the seat post to hold securely compared to other bikes I have owned.

Got this bike brand new out of the box on E bay for a RIDICULOUSLY low price. I could not believe my luck. Anyway, I used to race Cat 4 back in the 80's. Stopped riding cold turkey in 1995. I am now married with two kids and started riding again recreationally and for fitness and charity rides in June 2003. Started off in June 2003 with a 1999 GIANT Kronos I bought on E bay and upgraded it. However, you can only do so much with a Shimano RSX grouppo with the biggest chainring being a paltry 46. This Bianchi is a fantastic all around bike for the occasional race, touring and the long charity rides. It's geometry is easy on this "old man's" back and shoulders. The Campy mix of Mirage and Veloce is smooth as Italian silk. I have upgraded the saddle to a Selle Italia Pro Link Gel and switched out the tires for Hutchinson Excels. I will be debuting this blue Italian Stallion for the MS 150 from Houston to Austin. Again, this bike is THE bike for fitness, touring and century rides!!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Miyata 710, Benotto, Centurion Accordo, Diamondback Interval, Giant Kronos

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 06, 2003]
David Wilson
Road Racer

Strength:

Looks nice! Comfortable. Bianchi name.

Weakness:

Weight. Mudguard clearance (lack of). Awful saddle.

What can I say about this bike? First off, as a general all rounder it is a good buy if you want a steel framed bike. It is comfortable, and the Bianchi celeste colour (different to the picture above) has grown on me. So I am happy with it.... However, some things bug me about the bike. First off, it is a little weighty - I think the wheels will be upgraded over time to improve that area. Secondly, it is sold in the UK as an audax bike (complete with mudguard/rack eyelets), but unless you are prepared to cut off the front of the mudguard and do some filing, it will not take mudguards as standard (and even after the filing down of the mudguards there is still very little clearance). This is particularly annoying for me as I bought it as a winter bike and presumed eyelets on the forks meant ok for mudguards. Ahwell, never mind, have managed to get them on now! One final dislike - the salle was useless, squeeked and groaned, and was thrown out straight away. But, as I say, other than that, I am pretty pleased with it - the fella before me only had it for 9 months before selling as his local shop had sold him a bike too small for him. Therefore it was good value for me at £350 secondhand, but I'm not sure it's worth the £850 full UK retail. More like £650 would be better.

Similar Products Used:

Colnago Tecnos (another review posted) Colnago SL framed bike Dave Quinn 531 framed bike

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 29, 2003]
Touch0Gray
Recreational Rider

Strength:

handling, performance, value

Weakness:

paint job, seems to knick easily

After putting 25,000 miles on a custom built, flat bar road bike, I was leary about going to to a "normal" road bike. I was NOT disappointed! This bike handle like a dream come true; turns that I used to slow down for I now accelerate into! The Campy gruppo makes shimano look like dept. store junk. The only thing I did was to replace the rear cassette, with a 13-28 for climbing.

Similar Products Used:

Le Monde, Specialized, Panasonic

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2003]
bradirvine
Commuter

Strength:

Love the campagnolo veloce components - brakes work great even in wet winters in Seattle. The components on the bike were a good deal for the overall price.

Weakness:

The only problem I have sometimes is hitting the front wheel with my foot while making a slow turn.

I love this bike. I'm primarily a commuter - rain or shine 10 miles round trip a day. I used to ride a mtb with street slicks, but after switching to the Eros, I'll never go back. The bike is light compared to my old bike, and I love the way it rides. Quick steering, sure footed, and forgiving. I also love the Celeste Green color of this bike...

Similar Products Used:

Looked a Trek, and LeMond as alternatives. Commuted on a Specialized MTB for 8 years.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 29, 2002]
johncsun
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Price to component ratio Italian steel ride on a budget Handling Campy Mirage gruppo "Indestructible"

Weakness:

Some may think it''s a bit heavy. I''m not a weight freak though.

Great bike. Highly recommend it. I put 2000 miles on this bike in the past year, and the only thing I''ve had to do is routine maintenance, such as chain cleaning/lubing, re-indexing the derailleurs due to cable stretch, replace cork grips once, and true rear wheel once (my own fault, went over big bump without unloading the rear wheel). The ride is great, and it handles very well. It had the best components in its price range. I liked the Bianchi ride and value so much I bought a Boardwalk for casual bike path riding with my wife.

Similar Products Used:

Lemond Buenos Aires Bianchi Brava Cannondale R-xxx series Trek

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-6 of 6  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.