Cannondale R3000 Si 2002 Road Bike

Cannondale R3000 Si 2002 Road Bike 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Sep 06, 2017]
Just Brilliant

Strength:

R3000si I have the cobalt 2 tone blue 58 CM (mid pipe to mid pipe) 60 CM from the crank to the version, which is a little crampt for me, but it makes me tuck it in and crunch through the Pennsylvania hills. I weighed it at 16.7 lbs. 1500+miles current. It has the original Dura Ace setup. The krysilium wheels are changed to Bontrager Race Lites, The Tires are Michelin Pro's 27x23's The aluminum frame is suprisingly light and stiff. The Slice fork flexes nicely while pumping up a hill. I love this bike. Fastest speed 52 mph. Longest ride 32 miles

Weakness:

My only complaint is the oxidation on the bottom bracket. I continue to use the R3000si for racing, special events and in my training bracket. It is very nice for the $$, if you can FIND one.

Lightweight, stiff, excellent 9spd Dura Ace setup. This bike at almost 20 years old is nicer than most new ones at the shop.

Original price was $3800.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 05, 2016]
BigOne
Road Racer

Strength:

Lightweight, attractive, 16.9 lbs it seems pretty stiff, I haven't hit a pothole yet.

Weakness:

I too had an issue with stem, and took a spill. My fault, it wasn't tight enough. The Cinelli bars give more than the carbon fork.

I have about 100 miles on it in cold weather and it has only wet my appetite for more endorphin. Please warm up! So far, it is very light, and dream to ride. I will be using it for my lunch hour workouts, climbing hills and gaining oxygen depth. I don't see this bike as any more than that.

Similar Products Used:

1994 Cannondale M2000 Mountain Bike with big gum wall knobbies and a granny gear. (no oxidation)
1988 Univega Gran Rally, Shimano 600 steel is real
1994 Trek 1100 Aluminum

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2003]
dctrofspin
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiffness, craftmenship, paint, everything.

Weakness:

Campy hiddenset has needed adjustment twice. Bike is not as light as the elite racers -- but damn close for the $$$

I purchased a 2002 R 700 on close out and stripped the 105 components and sent the CXP 21's apackin'. What I loved was the Caad 5 frame decked out in the USA Edition RW&B paint scheme that C'dale did to honor the 9/11 firefighters. I put a full D/A drivetrain and Kysrium Elite wheels. I netted about $250 on Ebay for the stuff I stripped, new wheels and D/A set me back $850.00. Total net was $1700 for new 2002 R3000 equivelent. The bike is stiff, light, fast and a joy to look at. I love C'dale as a company and this bike is a blast.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2003]
rudd
Road Racer

Strength:

-Stiff -More comfortable then my first race bike, a lugged steal Tiwanese Bianchi

Weakness:

Does anyone, not just Cannondale, put pump pegs on bikes anymore?

CAAD 5 frame/fork only A great bike for an amatuer racer. Light enough, comfortable enough, durable enough. Can't even question stiffness. And the frame sets can be found cheaply enough that I won't cry to hard when I crash it. Just a good reliable, nothing to outragous, race bike. Would buy again.

Similar Products Used:

1996 Bianchi Alfana-Tiwanese lugged steel, Shimano 105

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 29, 2002]
ETA255
Road Racer

Strength:

efficient, fast, stiff, light, light, nice paint job (i got the unpainted aluminum w/blue and yellow decals). and the ego boost you get when someone says "daaaaamn, they made a caad7?!? and you got it already?!? lemme ride it" kind of egotistical but were bikers, we flaunt.

Weakness:

comfort, but thats what you get, you don't buy a ferrari if you have six kids...

(this is a review of the caad7 r3000) great bike, got it EP from the shop i work at a few months ago. amazingly stiff up hills and in sprints, the bike takes everything you give it. i prefer the hourglass stays compared to carbon stays some bikes now have, i just put a carbon seatpost, and that fixes the problem. my only problem is the ksyrium wheels, which are fantastic, but when you put crazy stiff no-give wheels on a crazy stiff no-give bike, then end result isn't very comfortable, i'm about to switch to the carbones... basically, don't get this if your not a racer, this is a race bike, where you lose comfort, you gain in efficiency, which all of us don't necessarily need. the saddle is great also, the handlebars i had to warm up to but now i like them, and for the seatpost, i switched it for an easton carbon...

Similar Products Used:

trek, and random bikes i goof off on in the shop

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2002]
RideMore
Road Racer

Strength:

stiff frame, great parts, pretty light

Weakness:

none so far

What can you say about a full Dura-Ace bike with Ksyriums? Throw in a super light, super stiff frame and you have a true performer. Gotta go with the Pink! Not sure what the other reviewers are talking about in regards to the stem. I like the Zepp XL stem and bars. Great ride!

Similar Products Used:

Trek aluminum-ultegra

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 13, 2002]
biknben
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff and efficient. Crisp handling.

Weakness:

I'm leary of the star washer in the carbon steerer tube but haven't had problems so far.

This review is for CADD5 frame and fork only. C'dale continues it's reputation for no nonsense racing frames. Stiff BB and chainstays ensure that none of your effort is wasted in this frame. The hourglass shaped seatstays may help a little to damped the ride. It's not like riding on pillows but it is an improvement over previous C'Dale offerings. I find it to be an acceptable mix of comfort and efficiency. I do mostly 40-60 mile training rides and find the ride acceptable. There's a little harshness but I think that is inherant of most Al frames. If you're looking to ride a lot of centuries or touring type ride you may want to look at another frame material. The fork is comparable to other CF forks. I don't notice any difference there. I filed off the huge "lawyer tabs". Campy headset is solid. Bearings and races can be replaced if necessary.

Similar Products Used:

Steel frames

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 29, 2002]
version88
Road Racer

Strength:

Top of the line components and wheels. Really nice looking bike. Quality construction.

Weakness:

Weak stem bolt. Flexy fork/stem combo. Maxed out Visa card.

Unbelievable! This is my second Cannondale road bike. Just buy it! You know you want it, it looks and is so cool! I find that the bike is very stable at high speeds, however i agree with the other post...replace the stem bolt. It''s extremely light and weak. I think the Slice fork with its carbon steerer tube is way to flexy when out of the saddle. It may also have to do with the stem also, need more stiffness in the front end. Kysriums are great. Dura Ace rules.

Similar Products Used:

Older cannondale criterium frame.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 26, 2002]
Schneeball
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff Not that heavy Great componentry Great warranty

Weakness:

While I think Cannondale specs their bikes out with a lot of thought, I have to say that they dropped the ball with their stem and handlebars. I''m not a heavy rider (162lbs) and not the strongest, but while doing stomps, I snapped the stem bolts, sending me to the ground at 30mph. Cracked the stem, snapped three spokes in my wheel.

2nd Cannondale bike owned (if that says anything). Super stiff (thanks to the bottom bracket and Al. material) yet comfortable (thanks to the hourglass stays). I''ve seen lighter bikes, but usually at the cost of stiffness.

Similar Products Used:

R2000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2002]
j1caad4
Road Racer

Strength:

very very very stif and very very very "nervous" more than all other frames i''ve ever tested (trek 5500, colnago dream, frame in airplaine or sc6110, look 281...) light weight very responsible for climbing, a dream...

Weakness:

jsut 2 colors?

the best bike with a colnago C40 i''ve ever tested, and i think i prefer the R3000si thanks the stifness in the front part (less important on the C40 frame). full dura ace with capy neutron wheels, selcof X92 seat post, slr, 3T 199 and ritchey WCS stem... 8kg

Similar Products Used:

R2000 (caad4)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.