Pinarello Marvel 2002 Road Bike

Available At:
Marvel

New for 2002 is the Pinarello Marvel. It’s a replacement and a refinement of the ever-popular Paris frameset in the Pinarello family. The “Pinarello Marvel” tubeset is a Tig-welded, oversized 7003 T6 aluminum with the same CRS carbon monostay as the Prince and Opera. It’s significantly lighter than the “Vires” aluminum tubeset used on the Paris in 2001. The addition of the CRS monostay gives the Marvel shock absorbency superior to that of any all-aluminum frame on the market.

The Marvel comes stock with the Pinarello Beta carbon fiber fork. It is 1-1/8” threadless, with a carbon fiber steerer tube and an integrated headset.

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
phillybiker24   Road Racer [May 29, 2011]
Strength:

Everything! Great ride, stable, fast, comfortable...not sure what else you could ask for.

Weakness:

none so far...

Just picked one of these up off CL for 1600...what a beautiful ride. The paint and tube shape are a thing of beauty on this. Light, great feel, comfortable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Ahbutz   Recreational Rider [Dec 03, 2007]
Strength:

Craftsmanship (the details, paint and finish are works of art).

Weakness:

Can't think of any.

Great combination of stiffness, weight and craftsmanship. A mix of great Italian engineering and art. I was warned the bike was going to be too stiff. Wrong. The stiffness makes it a great climber and allows it to accelerate out quickly.

Similar Products Used: Bianchi with full Campy record.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
bjps   Recreational Rider [Jul 27, 2006]
Strength:

As noted by other reviewers, the frame is both incredibly responsive and easy on the body.

Weakness:

It is not inexpensive.

This is a great frame: stiff, light, comfortable, and beautifully crafted.

Similar Products Used: Pinarello Galileo, Performance Steel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
shlomom   Recreational Rider [Jan 22, 2006]
Strength:

Stiffness & comfort in one bike

Weakness:

None

Marvelous bike ! Great lively ride Handling is superb and it's a perfect blend of stiffness and comfort I ever rode.

Similar Products Used: KHS, Trek 5500, Kuota khan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sgvn   Recreational Rider [Aug 11, 2004]
Strength:

Climbs like a goat. Oh so smooth.

Weakness:

Cost

Holy Cow! What a bike! If you can't climb with this thing then you shouldn't be on a hill, much less a mountain. Stiff, responsive, great smooth ride. Amazing workmanship. A pure joy to spend the day on.

Similar Products Used: Kelly Steel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
merckxman   Recreational Rider [Mar 01, 2003]
Strength:

Came standard with a very nice fork with carbon steerer,integrated headset (very smooth) and carbon seatpost standard equipment. Very nice carbon seat stays. Beefy BB and S shaped chainstays. Goes fast.

Weakness:

The carbon components of the frame are only warrantied 1 year (2 years for the rest); read warranty carefully. Integrated headset, how long will it last, will there be problems? The Pinarello.com on the seat tube is a design element I could have done without.

MARVELous ride. Lively and quick, smooth and steady. Bottom bracket is very stiff;it's a lot of fun to climb on this bike. Very smooth ride; carbon fork, carbon seat stays, and S bend chainstays must contribute a lot to the ride quality. Unusually shaped top tube and down tube makes it a little different. Not an ultra-light but I like the feeling of something somewhat substantial under me; not heavy by any means, just right (for me). It's so much fun to ride that I've been out in the freezing cold many times now. That's what it's about isn't it? The attributes of this bike make it my favorite thusfar (see below for past bikes) Very nice paint job. For what ever reason this is the Pinarello model I've see the least.

Similar Products Used: Cannondale 2.8, Kestrel 200sci, Merlin Extralight
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy Lai   Triathlete [Sep 12, 2002]
Strength:

Appearance, S-bent stays (vibration absorb and more stable), good geometry and size, good Price!

Weakness:

Not as light as Prince, Paint chip at head tube and seat tube edges.

Looks good, ride smooth, good response.. It's not very light but it can keep up to speed as LOOK 381i and climb better than whatever I've tried. With the S-bent stays it's not too harsh as other super bikes (I believe) so I pick it for my triathlon races.

Similar Products Used: JAD JR8, LOOK 381i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7