Cannondale R1000 2003 Road Bike

R1000

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
Healey   Recreational Rider [Jun 25, 2011]
Strength:

Light and durable.

Weakness:

Not the latest fasion.

I took one R1000 CAAD7 frameset, very second hand, build it up with full carbone forks, a Sram Rival groupset and Dura Ace 7801 wheels.
USE setpost, Deda 100 stem, Newton bars and a Thoork saddle.
Total weight 15lb dead inc Keo carbon pedals.
Out sprints, climbs and rides just about every current carbon combo I have been able to lay my hands on.
The best alloy frame ever made.
I have put over 5000miles on this frame, god knows how many were put on it by the previose owners, and it is as fresh as a daisy. Buy one and smile at all those overpriced carbon bikes, which usualy weigh a lot more and are no stiffer....

Similar Products Used: Caad2, 3, 4,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sc0ch   Road Racer [Oct 07, 2006]
Strength:

Good investment, will likely retain value for resale.
Lightning fast.
Stiff.
Good brakes (shimano105).
Bullet proof wheels (krysium elites).

Weakness:

none yet!

Since I was on a budget I jumped at the opportunity to buy an older used R1000. However, I was concerned about frame fatigue. To my relief, after 600 miles of brutal riding and one crash, the bike is unfazed. No creaks or flex is perceptable. Thus far the cycle has proven durable despite its thin walled 'optimo' frame tubing. I cheer cannondale for the robustness of their caad designs. If you're weary about buying an older race bike, maybe think again:



However, there are always risks when buying used. This review only represents my experience in this specific case.

Similar Products Used: Cannondale Caad2 R500
Old 10-speed.
Big Sur.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ohioterpes   Road Racer [Aug 20, 2005]
Strength:

light waight, strong, aerodynamic, fast

Weakness:

ultegra not dura ace not carbon seatpost unless you get the 05 i have the 04 and the saddle is not the best but it is amazing

one of the best bikes i have ever rode it is a dream and when i have to put the compatition behind me i just fly up hills and on the straights amazing

Similar Products Used: cannondle 600, trek 2100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ohioterpes   Road Racer [Aug 20, 2005]
Strength:

light waight, strong, aerodynamic, fast

Weakness:

ultegra not dura ace not carbon seatpost unless you get the 05 i have the 04 and the saddle is not the best but it is amazing

one of the best bikes i have ever rode it is a dream and when i have to put the compatition behind me i just fly up hills and on the straights amazing

Similar Products Used: cannondle 600, trek 2100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
whitey   Road Racer [Oct 13, 2004]
Strength:

weight, the frame is extremely comfortable to ride on (even more comfortable than my last bike, a full suspension mountain bike) wheels are sickly light. Looks great, very stealth in the black. Fit like a glove (6'4, 190) 60 cm frame

Weakness:

seat/seat post, more comfort/lighter. brakes/casette to full ultegra or start my upgrades to durace

2004 Cannondale R1000 Great ride, I was looking at Lightspeed and Cannondale, decided on the R1000 because of price. Extremely fast, easy to ride fast, stable. By far the most fun i've ever had on a bike. Bike was totaled the 23rd of September by a professor who wasn't looking, so a 2005 is on order.

Similar Products Used: nothing
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Maurin   Road Racer [Jul 12, 2004]
Strength:

Weight (or lack thereof), road feel, stiffness, frame

Weakness:

integrated headset design. Eliminates Chris King option.

Great bike. Very light, very stiff and as comfortable as aluminum can be. Great climber!

Similar Products Used: Schwinn 1000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tridoc73   Triathlete [Jul 05, 2004]
Strength:

world class caad 7 optimo frame great component value best price point on the market right now

Weakness:

ultegra rear derailer slips alot and gets loose, esp notice when shifting on climbs

i love this bike! it combines a worl-class caad 7 optimo frameset with a great training wheel (race wheel in a pinch), and full ultegra components. makes me climb like iban mayo and hit the flats like lance! handles well. by far best value in race bike under $2000!!

Similar Products Used: trek 5900, giant ocr
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joe_bushy   Recreational Rider [Jun 12, 2004]
Strength:

Smooth ride (carbon fork helps) Accelerates well Lightweight and responsive Paint and components have held up very well

Weakness:

A little rough on bumpy roads

I rode a number of bikes, including Trek 5200, Specialized, Bianca, and others in the $1800-$3000 range before selecting the Cannondale R1000. The shop was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Purchased at the end of season when significant sale. The handling is very reactive; quick to avoid road hazards, very responsive in all types of climbs (6%-12% grade), comfortable on long rides (100 miles), and stable at high speeds. >> The best price performance by a long shot!

Similar Products Used: Trek 5200, Specialized, Bianci, and others in the $1800-$3000 range
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
skirider   Recreational Rider [Jun 01, 2004]
Strength:

Rigity of the aluminum frame, brutally quick accleration.

Weakness:

Rough roads transmit quite a bid of vibration through the aluminum frame.

Purchsed the bike from a racer after one season of use. He built the bike with a full Dura-Ace grouppo including the wheels. Deda Newton stem & bars, Campy Headset. Bike is very fast, accelerates in a heartbeat. My love of Cannondale Aluminum frames was further cemented with this purchase!

Similar Products Used: 2000 Cannondale R1000Aero 1997 Cannondale F1000 Mountain Bike
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
acahn   Recreational Rider [Mar 04, 2004]
Strength:

Frame, Wheelset, Ultegra components.

Weakness:

The Cannondale brakes are a real joke, I guess they save some serious cash making the brakes out of tin with return springs weaker than rubber bands. Honestly, replacing the brakes with Ultegra will be the best $80 upgrade you can make on this bike. To a lesser extent, I would rather have them raise the price of the bike the $20 that they save by using a 105 BB rather than the Ultegra. I only switched out the saddle because I prefer the arione, and I figured since I would be screwing with my fit, might as well only do it once and upgrade both at the same time.

I am upgrading from an old Cannondale 3.0 frame, and the CAAD 7 is like riding on butter compared to the "tuning fork" stiffness of the 3.0. Can't say enough good things about the frame and fork, quick, light, resposive, awesome.

Similar Products Used: 1994 R600
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25