CamelBak Podium Water Bottles/Cages

Available At:

CamelBak Podium Water Bottles/Cages 

DESCRIPTION

CamelBak Podium Water Bottle 21oz is the favorite for many professional and amateur athletes the world over. New redesigned profile and valve allow for a tighter, no slip fit in both cage and gloved hand. As always, BPA free and dishwasher safe.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Jul 16, 2011]
Mike
Road Racer

Strength:

Valve that keeps water from coming out until you want it to

Weakness:

None

Near Perfect water bottle. Never had a leak and its so much easier to use than waterbottles with the pull top. You can also use a squirter for dogs. Perfect for races.

Similar Products Used:

Old fashioned Pull top water bottles

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
[Jan 31, 2011]
gswink
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Easy to squeeze.

Weakness:

Can't put in dishwasher. Leaks when squeezed.

Rather disappointed in this product. I purchased tow new bottles because they were easier to squeeze than my old Polar bottles. The trouble is that the material is so soft that it mal-forms while it is being squeezed and leaks from where the cap screws onto the body. This is very annoying, especially when riding in the cold. I wrote to Camelbak to complain and they sent me two replacement bottles - after accusing me of putting the bottles in the dishwasher. The newer bottles are no better than the old ones. I cannot recommend.

Similar Products Used:

Polar

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 02, 2010]
KickingDust
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Doesn't leak even when open, no plastic taste, durable.

Weakness:

Can't take apart and clean drinking valve to clean. Mold can form in the white funnel area and nothing seems to get it out, chlorine, vinegar, etc. After a year with no success cleaning the valve I was forced to buy a new set of bottles even though the old ones function perfectly.

I ride a lot as I have a road bike touring company. I've been using the Camelbak podium nearly every day since I bought them. Best bottle around.

Similar Products Used:

standard water bottle, Kleen bottle, backpack water systems (Camelbak and others), Polar insulated

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 15, 2010]
kmunny19
Road Racer

Strength:

no leaks.

BUY IT. It holds fluids way better than the standard Specialized bottles we've gotten used to. the cap doesn't leak. the spout doesn't leak. when using Nuun, the mild effervescence, combined with sloshing, doesn't cause drips to continually come out the spout until the bottle is less than 3/4 full.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2009]
Miawahlum
Road Racer

Strength:

Cytomax taste like Cytomax not plastic. No drip spout works great. Also it is easier to load ice cubes as the Specialized have a skinny middle section which jams up the ice cubes going in. Soak in light bleach solution for 10 min to clean bottle and spout apparatus every couple of weeks to sanitize.

Weakness:

None except they don't make the insulated version in the 24 oz size. Weird

Great bottle. Does not drip as advertised. Well worth the extra $$$. I thought the reflectice silver bottle would stay cooler longer but it doesn't in the hot Miami sun. I got them at USPhome.com they are on sale right now for $6.74 and sell for locally 11-13 dollars. Got 2 for 20.00 and some change shipped to Miami. Going to buy 2 more

Similar Products Used:

Specialized wide mouth bottles.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 13, 2009]
voodooguy
Recreational Rider

Strength:

No drips = cleaner bike and jersey
Flow control
Dishwasher safe
No plastic taste- never
No need to pull open the spout, just squeeze
Good fit in hand
Durable

Weakness:

I'm not seeing any. Some comment on the cost. But, IMHO, the value is in not having all the hassles that come with all those other water bottles. Sometimes I think I'd like to see a taller model that holds more.

This bottle is great! I believe a great value because of the features and dependability. You can control the flow and either squeeze or suck the fluids out. Tip it upside down or give it a good shake to mix your drink before you drink... zip, nada, not a single drop... until you want it. Both bottle and caps have been in the dishwasher and still working great.

Similar Products Used:

All those bottles that have been bought or received from the water bottle elves.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 12, 2009]
mosswings
Recreational Rider

Strength:

doesn't leak...easy water flow, rugged

Weakness:

The valve body is made of silicone rubber and tends to pick up road dirt and gunk. The valve stopper is recessed within the valve body, and thus dirt builds up on the INSIDE of the valve when the bottle sits in its normal valve-forward position on the down tube. A valve cap would be a good thing to have. Otherwise, wash the bottle often.

Great bottle, dirt magnet valve

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 30, 2008]
ride alaska
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Doesn't leak EVER. No bad taste. It is worth every penny you spend.

Weakness:

none. Just had to get use to not having to open and close the valve

This is the best bottle ever made. Throw out your old bottles and get this bottle

Similar Products Used:

Polar Specialized Gary Fisher

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2008]
ronatbwn
Recreational Rider

Strength:

* No plastic-y taste
* Absolutely no leaks
* Bite valve is very easy to use

Weakness:

* None really. They are a bit pricy, but well worth it.

To start with, the Podium is made of a slighty harder (and BPA free) plastic than the average water bottle. This has a couple of advantages. First, the material does not have that plastic-y taste that other bottles have. Camelbak calls this their TrueTaste plastic. The harder plastic also makes the bottle a little more sturdy, contributing to the bottle’s inability to leak. Since the bottle is a little less pliable, the cap goes on and seals very nicely.The plastic also has an anti-bacterial coating called Hydro Guard that is said to help prevent the formation of nasty gunk if your bottle sits for a few days.

The cap contributes to the ease of use and the leak proof-ness. It has a lock that can be used to completely block water from getting to the valve. The bite valve itself is different than your average “gimme” water bottle. You don’t have to pull it open with your teeth, instead, you just squeeze the sides of the bottle and the valve at the top opens to emit a quick squirt of water. Let go and it seals itself tight - no drips on your bike or your clothing. The valve opening seems to be a little larger than other bottles so you get a bit larger squirt of water.

In our family, water bottles serve far more duties than just bike rides. They get filled up and thrown in backpacks to take to soccer games, hiking, the mall or wherever. Knowing that you can put a bottle somewhere and not have to worry about it leaking is very nice.

The Podium bottle comes in 21 and 24 oz sizes and a variety of colors.

View my full review at Bike World News

Similar Products Used:

Your typical generic water bottle

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 16, 2008]
majura
Road Racer

Strength:

Leak free, able to be used as a normal bottle in my backpack (lock), tasteless and reliable.

Weakness:

As mentioned, the bottle is a little stiff at first- but I've never had a bottle that wasn't.

When you 'run out' of water, you can't or suck out the last 15mL because of the valve design. Not a huge concern, but worth considering.

It does what it says. However, you don't have to squeeze the bottle. You can just suck and the water will come through, although it's not as efficient as the squirting- that's like a jet stream.

Definitely worth the money. It's my go-to bottle.

Similar Products Used:

Elite and generic other bottles that all leaked and died within 6 months. Now moulding in a cupboard.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.