Profile Design AERO DRINK SYSTM Water Bottles/Cages

Profile Design AERO DRINK SYSTM Water Bottles/Cages 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jul 01, 2009]
patmac
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Easy to access while in aero position.

Weakness:

Splashes all over you!
Yellow poly-web thing likes to get away from you.
Will likely need the additional adapter to fit this thing to your bars.
If it fits in your aerobars without the adapter, it sure is a pain to remove for cleaning.

This is a review for the old Aerodrink without the cap.

Good idea, terrible design. I tried it several times over the last year hoping I might have better luck. The poly-web does very little to keep you and your bike from wearing the contents of your bottle. The chances of this thing popping out of your bottle are extremely high too.The top is curved in so you can't fashion a lid for it.

Do yourself a favor and snag the new version with the lid. It will still splash you a tiny bit on large bumps, but it is way better than the old one. Please do not buy an old version on sale or used, when something several times better is only $20.

Similar Products Used:

Profile Design Aquarack
Profile Design Aerodrink (new version with cap)

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 29, 2008]
Carl Teterskis
Triathlete

Strength:

Would be a great product if it was delivered with a properly fitting cap instead of the poly web plug.

Weakness:

The poly web plug intended to prevent splash out is totally ineffective. The poly web plug itself is undersized and prone to bouncing out of the aerobottle itself. What was Profile Design thinking when they put this item to market. I doubt any true testing of the product was performed.

This would be a great product if it were'nt for the lame poly web plug intended to prevent the contents from splashing out. I'm not sure how the company allowed this product to go to market. Aside from not even comming close to keeping the contents from splashing out the poly web plug itself is improperly sized and is prone to bouncing out of the bottle itself.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 13, 2008]
Theresa
Triathlete

Strength:

Accessible to fluids quickly.

Weakness:

No lid, and when you hit bumps, liquid spills everywhere.

Great idea, but with no lid, the drink spills every where. I mean everywhere.
Makes a very stick ride.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 25, 2008]
Terry Stickler
Triathlete

Strength:

Aero drink bottle is solidly built but lacks a lid to keep liquids inside.
> The spillage during the ride gave me something more to be upset about other than the hot long mid summer race in late July.

Weakness:

Liquid spills, yellow scrubber drops out,

I've purchased several PD products in the past and loved them. However, this hydration system is an overall piece of crap. Water bounces out on rough roads when the bottle is near full. There is no lid only a yellow pot scrubber that is prone to fall out (during a race).

A great idea with poor execution on the design.

Similar Products Used:

Standard H20 bottles.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 23, 2007]
Greg M
Road Racer

Strength:

I admit it actually works and you can drink what doesn't splash on the bicycle

Weakness:

#1 If you aerobars are more than about 2" apart you will need to buy their mounting frame or rig up wire ties or sometime.

#2 the mounting frame is a very poor fit

#3 the drink will splash through the yellow mesh

#4 the yellow mesh blew away during the first ride

First product I ever bought that is so bad I wrote a review. Good idea but the execution is a disaster, unless you like washing gatoraide off the bicycle after each ride.

Similar Products Used:

still looking

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 15, 2007]
BeaverTriathlon
Triathlete

Strength:

you can drink some gatorade while in the aero position. It's a skinny bottle so it can mount between almost any kind of aero bar

Weakness:

-Doesn't hold enough liquid
-I have to refill it often while on the fly and that can get awkward
-when I hit bumps the gatorade spills out through the mesh thing and onto my bars
-The mount system isn't the best design in the world, but it works

This thing works. If you're looking for easy access to some liquid while in the aero position, then the aero drink system does its job.

Similar Products Used:

profile aqua rack

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 27, 2007]
James Clements
Triathlete

Strength:

Provides quick and easy access to hydration

Does not clutter the seatpost area so you have room for gear storage.

Weakness:

The bottle spills badly, since the plastic sponge (the so called "plug") is not sufficient to prevent spilling.

The very first (and only) time I used the Profile Design aerodrink setup, I became so frustrated that I threw it to the curb DURING the ride (picked it up later on). For the first twenty minutes of my ride, I was getting drenched in sticky gatorade. Thus, the reason I would not suggest this product is because of its ease to spill my drink all over me, as it does not have a cover for the opening. And the little sponge they provide you to "plug" the opening is a piece of crap. However, for those of you that have already invested in this product, I would suggest putting plastic wrap over the opening, and sealing it with a rubber band. Other than that, stay away from this product.

Similar Products Used:

No similar products tested.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 03, 2006]
Naldo
Triathlete

Strength:

Fluids are easily accessed.

Weakness:

No lid. There is a plastic mesh that allows one to easily pour fluids during a race. The main problem is what can go in can also come out. ALL of us will hit a bump at some point during the ride, and when we do fluid pops out - bumpy rides ultimately become wet and sticky ones. I'm sure the designers could have used some common sense and a bit of creativity to build a better lid system than the current one. Another major complaint is the system used to secure the bottle ... rubber bands. We spent $20 for a water bottle. I went on to purchase the plastic holder for another $19. Very poor instructions and the systems was still not secure.

An unspectaculater but useful item. Nice concept but a little pricey. The overall system was not well thought out, which results in a cheap unimaginative set-up. Ultimately, with few options, I chose this set-up. I probably recommend another if more choices were available.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 20, 2005]
TheBigC
Triathlete

Strength:

Quality bottle. Easy to use.

Weakness:

Older models have rubber band restraint system that limit use to narrow bars. New ones have a rack system

Good stuff. You put liquid in it, attach it to your aero bars, and go. Makes drinking easier and more efficient on the go. A Bit $$$, but its not cheap construction, either.

Similar Products Used:

Camelbacks (Mtb) water bottles

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 27, 2002]
jeremiah gantzer
Triathlete

Strength:

aero

Weakness:

hard to put on no cap splash out when you hit bumps

works great very aero ez to drink

Similar Products Used:

braz on down tube cage

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.