Tacx Tao Cage Water Bottles/Cages

Available At:

Tacx Tao Cage Water Bottles/Cages 

DESCRIPTION

Full Carbon cage is beautiful light and strong.Reinforced arms and rear braceFlared opening for easy bottle insertion and removalHolds bottle tightLifetime warranty. Weight 39 grams

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 31  
[Dec 16, 2011]
kanekikapu
Road Racer

Strength:

it's great when it's not broken.

Weakness:

plastic tabs breaks too easily, making it useless.

Went through four of them in two seasons of racing. Always break at the plastic tab/mount area. I kept replacing it because I thought I just got the bad copies and I want to keep two identical cages on my bike.

It's a good cage when it's not broken - didn't lose any bottle while using it.

Now I've just use King stainless and ti cages on my bikes. One of the stainless cage is almost 9 years old and going strong. Get a King cage and forget about it.

Similar Products Used:

King Stainless Cage, King Ti Cage, Elite Ciussi stainless (crack welds), Elite Ciussi alloy (crack welds), Rev-X

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
[Jul 01, 2011]
jojo
Road Racer

Strength:

Cheap and you get what you pay for.

Weakness:

Poor quality, does not last long

These things are junk. Hit anything on the road that rattles the bike and the bottle stopper on bottom of cage brakes off rendering cage useless and making bottle slide down to bottom of frame. Too many good cages out there to waste time on this junk.

Similar Products Used:

Ciussi, Arundel, Blackburn, Bianchi, REI, cheapo steel and alu cages...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 15, 2011]
chickenfried
Recreational Rider

Saw a lot of positive reviews on this so I bought a pair.

Right off the bat had a problem, the recessed hole for the water cage bolt did not work with the water cage bolts on my bike. Bolt head was too large.

Second problem I ride a 52cm road bike. A Tao is not a good choice for the seat tube spot. Because it limits you to smaller water bottles. Not enough room to slide a larger bottle in a Tao located there.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 04, 2010]
GREAT UNCLE BULGARIA
Road Racer

Strength:

looks, easy to use, weight

Weakness:

2 bottles, both used as secondary. broke at lower plastic tab. the second lasted only about 2 months

a poor product. breaks far too easily. most reviews saying it is good appear to only have used them for a short time

Similar Products Used:

multiple, none have failed like these

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 11, 2010]
eadweard
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Holds the bottle well, light.

Weakness:

The tabs break off and can't be replaced. Tacx has a poor replacement policy.

I used a set of these cages for about 1 1/2 years, about 3500 miles. The top tab on the front cage broke off. All of these miles were smooth New England roads. I contacted Tacx. No tabs available and only a one year warranty with a receipt. Back to ss Elite Ciussi cages. They don't break and don't look "funny".

Similar Products Used:

Elite Ciussi, King

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 19, 2010]
achc
Recreational Rider

Weakness:

Weak plastic, the plastic tab at the bottle fails so either your bottle fall out or your frame gets rub and paint comes off.

This thing broke within three weeks. I had two and they both broke.

Similar Products Used:

Too many cages, nothing works so far

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 28, 2010]
Jeff Schnelle
Road Racer

Strength:

Ease of use, durability.

Weakness:

None.

I bought one of these when I was one on
Thor Hushovd's bike during Paris Roubaix with the bottle bouncing around yet staying in. This is the beauty of this cage, you can just drop it in and it stays there. Gravity keeps it in unless maybe you crash. Many people fail to understand that the cage does not have to squeeze the bottle. I have raced and trained with this one over 6 years and thousands of miles and have never once had a problem with a bottle falling out. finally one of them broke last week but if i can get 6 years out of it then absolutely no complaints. These are different then all the expensive carbon ones which you have to aim to get them in right, this is a way better design.

Similar Products Used:

Aluminum, many carbon ones, everything else out there.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 14, 2009]
livin4lax09
Triathlete

Strength:

Looks
Weight
Does the job

Weakness:

Holes for bolts are small and won't fit many different kinds.
A little expensive if bought MSRP

I have read the numerous bad reviews from cyclist after cyclist and don't understand how individuals think so harshly of these cages. I use fairly big bottles and have never had any problem minus one used cage that I got a hold of that was already broken on the upper tab and super glued back together. It broke quickly, but that's no surprise. The other cage I used for a year and had no problems. I have never ejected a water bottle, never had any of the tabs break, and none of the screws ever loosened up. Just as reference, I ride on your typical NE pot-holes and frost-heaved roads, and have even ridden single track with a cross bike and these cages and haven't had a problem.

Similar Products Used:

Standard bottle cages

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 28, 2008]
flatlander
Road Racer

Strength:

simple design.
looks.
easy to insert bottle.

Weakness:

easy to lose bottle.
install not as easy as others.
**the black tab that holds bottle in cage (stops it from sliding thru) snapped on a ride and i found my bottle resting on my bottom bracket. i took the other cage off and replaced both with old plain Elite Ciussi's**

cages work fine. bottles are not very tight in them so i'd be careful using most bottle in them on a mtb but for road riding they're fine. easy to find the opening without looking down. simple design is good looking. install isn't tricky really but not as easy as a ciussi.

Similar Products Used:

elite ciussis
profile plastic
specialized plastic
NEXT UP king Steel

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 21, 2008]
David Yates
Road Racer

Strength:

Great hold with Tacx bottles, light weight for the price, looks good, I use them on my MTB and Road bike and no issues over the last 14 months and ~ 5000km. No breakages and I've never had a bottle come out accidentally, even when I fell off my bike on a descent.

Weakness:

Not designed for multiple different bottles. Use Tacx bottles (or perhaps Tune bottles)and you will have no issues. Screws also need to be checked for tightness every few rides but you should do this anyway.

Excellent product, great hold on the bottles, light for the money and I've found them to be very durable despite what others say. The thing to remember is these are designed for Tacx bottles (available for only 2.80 Euro from www.roseversand.de in plain colours). Just remember to check the tightness of the bolts every few rides and they will work perfectly. I even use these on my MTB with no issues.

Similar Products Used:

Other cheapo aluminimum holders which bend and don't hold the bottles well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 31  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.