Shimano 105 BR-5500 Brake Calipers

105 BR-5500

The New Super SLR Design relocates the brake lever pivot for better mechanical advantage.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Lloyd   Recreational Rider [Feb 27, 2005]
Strength:

Strong braking power... Doesn't flex... Affordable...

Weakness:

nO so far...

105 brakes are a must to have brakes for starter racers like me or any one who rides road bikes...

Similar Products Used: None... my first road machine...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
t-moore   Recreational Rider [Apr 27, 2003]
Strength:

Price, total was $58.33 including tax and shipping. Great deal at Jenson USA. Quality, and stopping power. Forged construction

Weakness:

So far none

Bought the 105's, to replace the generic Trek/LeMond calipers on a 01 Nevada City bike. Dramatic improvement in stopping power. The front caliper had no noticeable flex. The OEM calipers were flexy, and at my size, 240lbs. I thought I was hurting the. I do a lot of riding in my neighborhood so good brakes are very important too me. Coming off of a hybrid bike, I was dissapointed with the OEM brakes. While these brakes don't haul you to a stop like the V Brakes, the 105's are a vast improvement over the generic OEM calipers. I swapped out the stock brake pads for some Aztec Formula 1 red brakes pads, and they made a huge difference over the stock pad. From my short experience, the 105's are in a league by themselves..

Similar Products Used: V brakes on a hybrid, and generic cast OEM calipers and pads
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mikeyca   Recreational Rider [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Stopping power, durable construction; a very suitable alternative to Ultegra or DuraAce.

Weakness:

My front caliper regularly moves out of alignment; possibly a unique annoyance. Easily corrected.

Shimano's 105 calipers are a tough, solid, less-expensive version of their slicker big brothers, Ultegra and DuraAce -- and that's all there is to it. The basic engineering and design seems to be the same, albeit resulting in a slightly less finished, less pretty, and tad heavier component. Don't be mistaken, however... the 105 set is race worthy, and though Ultegra and DuraAce have come to overshadow it, there's no denying that it's a smooth-functioning, durable and attractive grouppo, brakes included. Stopping power varies with the rims you're using, but in general, I've found that when properly adjusted, the 105s clamp down like a vise and don't let go. Braking is responsive, prompt, and smooth. I've had a little trouble keeping my front calipers properly aligned on their master pivot; they seem to "swing" over time. After a week or so of use, I'm inevitably noticing one pad striking the rim before the other. It's subtle, but a bit frustrating. No amount of tightening the frame bolt seems to prevent this action. I haven't ever heard this identified as a common 105-caliper ailment, so it's likely little more than a freak quirk. All in all, an excellent value.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Raymond   Recreational Rider [Jun 12, 2002]
Strength:

Works great

These brakes are fine and dandy. They have never given me any problems, they have allot of power, good modulation and all that.

Similar Products Used: RSX Calipers
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
D.L.O.   Road Racer [May 01, 2000]
Strength:

Xcellent stopping power
Works as well as Ultegra without the price.

Weakness:

None

105 has the same performance as Ultegra without
the high cost.Superb stopping power and years of
dependable use.A front and rear set will weigh 40
grms more than Ultegra,the weight of a music cassette
w/case.Finish isn't quite as polished but that
won't make a difference in stopping ability.
Highly recommended brakes.

Similar Products Used: Ultegra brakes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Recreational Rider [May 26, 2000]
Strength:

Good stopping power, price

Weakness:

weight, adjustment

These brakes set up right will make your bike stop just as good as ultregra, but the action isn't as smooth but you pay less great buy! IF you have a bike equiped with 105 I wouldn't change the brakes it's not worth the upgrade!

Similar Products Used: Dura ace, Ultregra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Patrick   Road Racer [May 27, 2000]
Strength:

Cost

Weakness:

none really unless you're a weight weenie

For the money, you can't beat it. If you going with an all around ultegra or dura ace package then so be it, but if you have a choice and want to save a little, use 105. If you're counting every single gram, go with dura ace or campy.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Recreational Rider [Oct 24, 2000]
Strength:

Stops on a dime and gives change.
Reasonably priced.

Weakness:

Not as pretty as the Ultegra one, but did I mention that it costs 40 bucks less.

Great freakin brake. The improvement in stopping power on these bad boys is similar to upgrading from canti's to V's. Centering is made easier with the screw adjustment (no more fetching the old cone wrench!). My first set of brakes were Shimano 105's (back in 88'). It's good to know things have only gotten better.
5 flamers!!!

Similar Products Used: Old single pivot Shimano 105 and Ultegra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ruben   Road Racer [Jun 15, 2001]
Strength:

Name, stopping power

Weakness:

Price

They work. Kinda expensive, but would have to say it was a safe purchase cause I knew they were good stuff. Easy to adjust, IMHO, and reliable.

Similar Products Used: Shimano Sora and various generic.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.