Shimano Ultegra BR-6500 Brake Calipers

Shimano Ultegra BR-6500 Brake Calipers 

DESCRIPTION

  • Super-Rigid Compact Design
  • All-Weather M-System Pad Compound

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 19  
    [Aug 31, 2009]
    Joost de Moor
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    powerful, nice looks

    Weakness:

    not too light

    Nice powerful brakepower. Changed them for the bianchi brakes that came on my bike: great difference. Used to feel insecure, now; in one word: everthing i need!

    Similar Products Used:

    dura ace, bianchi

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jul 21, 2006]
    69chevelle70
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Decent look, reasonable pricing, Super upgrade over stock

    Weakness:

    none so far!!

    Upgraded to the Ultegra from the Cannondale Omegas..What A difference..I can actually stop when I need to instead of planning ahead!!!!

    Similar Products Used:

    Omega..Shimano 105

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Nov 23, 2003]
    trek5900cyclist
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Good all around

    Weakness:

    They could be lighter and sometimes they dont stop you fast enough

    Came stock. I really like them.

    Similar Products Used:

    Dura Ace

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Jul 15, 2003]
    Dan Dalton
    Commuter

    Strength:

    they stop your bike quite well

    Weakness:

    nope

    fantastic upgrade from 105 sc. i had thought that the price difference was absurd given that the 105s are solid, light, attractive, effective, but these things are stunning and have given me the confidence to ride with a recklessness that will make my granny sweat. next stop, dura ace... and they're very shiny.

    Similar Products Used:

    105sc, campag athena (rubbish), assorted other cheap tat

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 26, 2003]
    spinordie
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    No worry stopping

    Weakness:

    none

    Consistent braking, relatively light and firm reliable stops

    Similar Products Used:

    105 and rx100 models

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jun 03, 2002]
    jrk
    Triathlete

    Strength:

    They work.

    Weakness:

    High force needed to stop.

    They have a spongy feel. Stopping coming down hill requires quite a bit of force. My Veloce bike stops with far less effort and a solid feel.

    Similar Products Used:

    Veloce, older Record

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Nov 25, 2001]
    Clauseau
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Stopping power, construction and the overall price vs. value.

    Weakness:

    Weight, but considering the price you pay, its not that big of an issue, and it doesn''t make that much difference anyway.

    These brakes so far have worked flawlessly. They have incredible stopping power and and are very nice to look at.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 26, 2001]
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Good looking Nice cartridge system Stop well Reasonably priced

    Weakness:

    Marginal pad material

    These brakes represent a suprising improvement over the previous generation of Shimano brakes. If Shimano can find a more suitable pad material, these would be as good as it gets. The pads are not as bad as the previous rim-ripping Shimano pads, but when I ran Kool-Stops up front and Shimano in the rear, the difference after six months was noticeable. The Kool-stop rim was clean - the Shimano rim was visibly damaged. I cleaned it up with some sandpaper and put Kool-stop pads all around. As an added benefit, the KS pads offer increased braking power

    Similar Products Used:

    ''96 Ultegra

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 31, 2000]
    Daniel Boscacci
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    All the features of Dura Ace at a lower price. Dual Pivot calipers with nice polished finish.

    Weakness:

    Shimano's attempt to product differentiate with the cable cam not being polished....but for the cost savings it is worth it. Structually, there are no weaknesses to these calipers.

    If you want to save some money over the Dura Ace calipers, go for these. They work just as well and are considerably less. The weights are within 20g too...so there isn't any weight consideration.

    Similar Products Used:

    Dura Ace DP, Mavic 451, 105SC DP

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 08, 2000]
    SteveS
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Excellent stopping power, good finish, relative cost

    Weakness:

    Can't think of any

    I was test riding and comparing bike frames a few months back when I first used the Ultegra dual pivot brakes and was hugely impressed. Only three pieces of equipment have struck me as being vastly better when I first used them: tubular wheels, clipless pedals, and the dual pivot brakes. Previously, I had thought my single pivots were pretty good but compared to these, they were backward. I didn't hesitate and immediately got the Ultegras, which seem to be an outstanding deal.

    Similar Products Used:

    Shimano Dura Ace single pivot, various Campagnolo

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 19  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.