Shimano Ultegra Brake Pads

Available At:

Shimano Ultegra Brake Pads 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Aug 19, 2007]
Chris Bown
Road Racer

Strength:

none

Weakness:

weak in the rain ,dangerous;due to extremely rapid wear in wet and hilly terrain.

just returned from a very wet and hilly training ride,to find these pads had worn down so quickly that the metal wheel guides on the cartridges were starting to score grooves in my rims[kysrium elites]initially thought this had been grit embedded in the pads,due to the horrendous noise when I pulled on my levers.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
[Jun 08, 2006]
ExtraSlow
Recreational Rider

Strength:

none worth mentioning

Weakness:

quality, durability, cost

Very disappointed in both the stock pads that came with the bike and the replacement pads I bought the following year. Pads ground down the braking surface of my rims; I found metal shards embedded in the pads! Initial stopping power was OK, but declined very quickly.

Similar Products Used:

Kool Stop salmon

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 11, 2005]
Wes
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Not expensive. Better than using feet.

Weakness:

Noisey, slow, abrasive, not good wet

Yes! The rumours are true! These pads aren't too good. I mean they stop the bike, but they're noisey, slow, not too good in the rain ( which I hate riding in anyway!) and abrasive. I swap them out after about 3-4 months and that helps because they start out ok, but go downhill radidly. I'll try something else next time.

Similar Products Used:

no name stuff, other Shimano

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 12, 2003]
systemBuilder
Commuter

Strength:

came free with the bike

Weakness:

destroyed another component on the bike

I bought these pads and they worked fine for about 500 miles. And then they started to tear up the rims. Mike at Chain Reaction bicycle confirmed that the Ultegra pads in 1998 were too abrasive and would eat away the sidewalls of rims (i have mavic cxp-21's). do not buy these pads. luckily, i have kool stops at home and i'll replace these with kool stops tonight.

Similar Products Used:

i've never used another product this bad.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 07, 2003]
Kaboom
Recreational Rider

Strength:

They came with the brakes... They will make you exercise your finger muscles... Oh yeah, and they are easy to remove, so you can dump them and get some real pads.

Weakness:

Just about every measuralbe aspect. i bet leather pads perform better.

WORTHLESS; TRASH; JUNK! i feel desperately ripped off. Bought ultegra brakes, and this bogus pads came with it. They are damn useless. They just dont brake, modulation is non-existant, specially in the rear wheel. You apply the brakes and it doesnt brake at all until one point where it block the wheel and you start skidding. the front brake is not as bad, but its far from the stopping power i've seen on some campy brakes. Will be replacing them SHORTLY. I havent noticed the destroying on the rims, but i'm on crap rims anyway. Oh and in rain, you might as well stick your shoe between the wheel and the frame, because that is the only way you are going to stop. Not only that, but also in the rain the MELT and make your rims BLACK. impossible to remove if it dries up.

Similar Products Used:

105 pads. Not much better... Tested campy. I hate that italian crap for shifting, but it sure brakes good... Even the Mirage...

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 06, 2003]
dherman
Recreational Rider

Weakness:

Leaves it's soft residue on the rim surface.

Only used these pads for 50 miles. The rim surface was coated with the brake material. They must use a very soft compound that is somewhat rubber and sticky. I can understand how abrasive material probably clings to the pad and then acts like sandpaper.

Similar Products Used:

Ritchey, Kool Stop

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 18, 2001]
Marshall Singer
Road Racer

Strength:

The ability to eat a Rim up and dig deep groves into the Rims braking surface.

Weakness:

These pads are terrible. They tear up the braking surface of the rim.

Do Not buy a set of these brake pads. If you have a set of these currently on your bike, remove them immediately ! They will tear up your rims braking surface. Just about any brand of stoppers are better than these. The braking action with the Ultegra Pads is slow at best, they make terrible noise, and most importantly they can rip up your rim faster than attaching a piece of sandpaper to your brakes. At least with a piece of sandpaper the wear marks would not cause deep groves.
Bottom Line stay away from these Pads !
Ps..... The Ultegra brakes themselves are excellent.

Similar Products Used:

Kool Stops

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 27, 2001]
Dave H.
Road Racer

Strength:

None - Unless your looking for a good excuse to throw away an old wheel.

Weakness:

Will wear away your rim, Fail to do what they are designed for.

The pads last a long time, but fail to stop you. After first ride I noticed that they left a large amount of black residue on the braking surface, later noticed that they were creating a groove in the braking surface of the wheel.
Save your money and purchase a better set of pads.

Similar Products Used:

Campagnolo Record

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 19, 2001]
Howard Davies
Recreational Rider

Strength:

None I can think of

Weakness:

Braking is sporadic at best, non-existent in the rain. Very noisy when pads are pressed against the rim. Evidence of damage to rim on rear wheel.

Just bought Aztec replacement pads.The Ultegra pads are now where they belong - in the trash.

Similar Products Used:

105 - Best stoppers I've come across

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 07, 2000]
Will

Strength:

they slow me down

Weakness:

None

they work very well in mud and rain, are easy to adjust and fit on my very narrow Spinergy sidewalls. No reason to replace until you wear them out. gotta love cartridge pads.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.