Oakley Half Jacket Eyewear

Oakley Half Jacket Eyewear 

DESCRIPTION

Our first dual-lens eyewear with interchangeable lenses, this chameleon lets you adapt instantly to any light condition. When the sun fades or flares, switch to a new set of optional lenses and change your entire point of view. Accented with true metal icons, the lightweight O Matter® frame includes Unobtainium® earsocks and grip anchors. The open-edge design extends your vertical field of vision, and each set of optional lenses retains the peripheral clarity of XYZ Optics®.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Dec 16, 2013]
Blackbeerthepirate

Strength:

Light, interchangeable lenses are nice.

Weakness:

Extra lenses cost about as much as the glasses with lenses

The glasses fit really well but I've got a small face, so try them before you buy them. They come with a larger nose pad .Which, for me, pushes the glasses up a little higher so I'm not peeking over the top of them while riding. Lenses can be changed pretty quickly and after quite a few changes, I've had no problems with them. They do fit pretty close to your face, so no problem with wind. With the iridium black polarized lens I did have some problems seeing my computer's LED screen. No problems with the phone though.

Some have complained about the glasses fogging or the trouble with the lenses. These are some pretty technical glasses, and I think that it helps if the operator of these fine vision enhancement devices is a little bit smarter than the glasses themselves.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2007]
doninoregon
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Oakley's look cool
Very good optics

Weakness:

Don't hold up well
Poor customer service to average riders

I purchased prescription Oakley Half Jackets through an optician about two years ago. They held up okay for most of this time, but after about 1 1/2 years began to develop hairline cracks in the lenses and delamininate. Since they were out of warranty (0ne year), I called Oakley to see if anything could be done. The rep advised me to mail them the glasses for evaluation and repair or replacement, with a check for $29. Almost a month later, Oakley returned the glasses not repaired with my check, advising me that since these were prescription glasses, I had to return them through my optician, which I did. almost another month later, my optician called to tell me that Oakley was not going to do anything because the glasses were out of warranty - other than sell me new lenses. If they had told me this in the first place, I could have saved insured mailing costs and a lot of time. While I used the Half Jackets, they performed okay - some fogging on hard climbs and and a so-so fit. Overall, I was very disappointed with Oakley's service and felt that a $433 pair of prescription glasses should have held up longer. I would not recommend them unless you are a sponsored pro or just have a load of money to throw away.

Similar Products Used:

Maui Jim's - great so far, we'll see how they hold up.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 20, 2006]
Bloatedpig
Road Racer

Strength:

Replaceable lenses.....sturdy and light weight

Weakness:

glasses should not cost this much............but they are worth it!

These are the best glasses for riding I have ever owned. Looks like a couple of girls got some fog or something on thiers and wrote a bad review. These are light, DON'T FOG, are easy to clean and have replaceable lenses. Do your self a favor and get the polarized lenses....they make a huge difference in glare reduction.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 06, 2006]
smartyiak
Recreational Rider

Strength:

they're light

Weakness:

see above

These glasses stink. They fog, they're impossible to clean, and they get dirty if a speck of dirt gets within w/i 100 miles

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 05, 2006]
Bryan
Commuter

Strength:

none

Weakness:

to many to name

dude their awsome best one out there actually they suck dont buy em dont stay on face scratch easy dont listen to em. ive bought many and these arent the best out there

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 10, 2006]
Bobby Tropics
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light weight, comfort, unsurpassed optical clarity. Huge selection of replaceable lenses.

Weakness:

Replacement lenses aren't cheap, can be tricky to install in frames; rubber nosepieces can pop off and are easily lost.

The best sunglasses I've ever owned. They're light, very comfortable, and have excellent optical clarity. Much more restrained style than M-Frames and others, classy enough for causal wear and general off-bike use. There is seeminglly and endless array of replacement lenses to cover almost any lighting conditions, including polarized models. I own three pairs of lenses, including one polarized set, and they're all excellent. The lenses also seem very scratch-resistant; my original "Black Iridium" lenses show no signs of abuse after two years. My only gripes are that the lenses can be somewhat fussy to install at times (especially the left side of my particular frames, for some reason), and the tiny little rubber nosepieces can pop off and are easy to lose (no to mention expensive to replace). Overall, though, these glasses are worth their cost.

Similar Products Used:

Scott, Oakley M-Frame, various cheapos.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 10, 2006]
Tropics
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light weight, durability, comfort, interchangeable lenses

Weakness:

Replacement ear/nose pieces are pricy; nose pieces somewhat easy to pop off and lose.

These are the best sunglasses I've ever had. The optical clarity is superb, and they're exceptionally comfortable. I hardly know I'm wearing them. They also don't look so over-the-top as the M-Frames and others, so they're just as good for casual wear and general use. There are seemingly endless replacement lens choices to cover any lighting conditions, including polarized models. I own three different lens sets and find them all to be excellent, especially the polarized ones, and they all seem to be very scratch-resistant as well. The lenses can be somewhat tricky to install at times(especially on the left side on my particular frames for some reason), but this is only a minor and occasional annoyance. I've also managed to lose two of the little rubber nosepieces, and they're expensive to replace (I just used a spare left-side piece to replace the one on the right. It isn't perfect but works OK). These are expensive sunglasses (as are extra lenses), but in my opinion they are worth the cost.

Similar Products Used:

Scott, Oakley M-Frame, various cheapo brands.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 16, 2006]
stealthfixr
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light, comfortable, excellent lens choices, superb optical quality

Weakness:

Pricey, but you get what you pay for here

These are simply the best sunglasses I have ever owned, and I've had a bunch. The stay put, are light enough to forget, filter strong light VERY well (black iridium polarized lenses), shelter my eyes from road debris and wind, and are very comfortable. I will stay an Oakley customer!

Similar Products Used:

Bolle, Ray Ban, Maui, Serengeti, Vuarnet

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 01, 2004]
miniscoot
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light, don't slide around. Good clarity. Look good. Nice available lens colors.

Weakness:

A bit spendy for extra lenses. Long arms.

Having owned mainly Smiths in the past wanted to try the Oakley's. Liked the look and interchangeable lenses since I both Road and Mtn Bike. I bought an extra pair of Persimmon lenses that work great in low light. I use the glasses for everything. Very light and stay on your face. The arms are bit long on my head and hit funny in my helmet. Takes a bit of adjusting to make them feel right. I wear a Giro Pneumo (awesome helmet BTW) Takes a bit to get how to change the lenses but isn't a prob anymore.

Similar Products Used:

Smith moabs, smith toasters.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 29, 2004]
CK13
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Great fit, light weight, can completely change the look or use of the glasses with interchangeable lenses.

Weakness:

Lenses are a bit tricky to remove/replace at first but once you get used to it, it's no problem. Replacement lenses are expensive...especially the polarized lenses. Only real complaint is that for the money spent one would expect Oakley to provide a nice case instead of a cheap cloth bag.

I bought the Half Jacket about 6 mo ago to use for mountain biking, hiking, skiing, roller blading, etc...but I find myself wearing them all of the time. Fantastic fit, very light weight and comfortable. Polarized lenses are a must but very pricey! Overall these are fantastic glasses and I just bought a pair for my wife who loves them as well!

Similar Products Used:

Smith interchangeable Costa Del Mar interchangeable

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.