Giro Monza Helmets

Giro Monza Helmets 

DESCRIPTION

The Monza is where inspired design meets the romance of the road for club riders and racers who crave the svelte style and the top-level performace that elite pros enjoy. Featuring a minimalist in-molded shape powered by 24 race worthy vents and cover in rich, head-turning colors. Equipped with the familiar fit and feel of a smooth Roc Loc 3, too.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Jul 25, 2012]
Michael Peterson

Strength:

Excellent padding system - vertical pad at the forehead rather than horizintal.
With other inferior helmets at the same price point I was getting heat rash on my forehead on long rides. Not with the Monza.
Reasonable weight & plenty of ventilation.

Weakness:

Adjusting the fit system takes a lot of patience.
Fragile - I cracked the front rendering it unservicable by dropping it from handlebar height.

Despite it's weaknesses I'm on my second Monza.
Will be more carefull with this one.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 10, 2010]
hammerhead
Recreational Rider

Strength:

The Styrofoam is thick and sturdy
The Monza is very light
It looks great and the colors are vivid

Weakness:

None

I really like the look of the Giro Monza Helmet. My Helmet is red and white and it matches my Bike perfectly. The adjustment system on the Monza helmet is superb and very easy to use. Its really light and the Vents are really wide. Plenty of room for air to flow through. The styrofoam is exceptionally thick so this would be a great helmet to have if you were in a serious crash. I would recommend this helmet to a friend. This helmet was a lot cheaper than the Ionis so I couldn't pass it up.

Similar Products Used:

Bell Helmet

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2010]
Jat
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Lightweight, good visibility, mostly light grey for being seen by motorists, not flashy.

Weakness:

One of the plastic things wasn't anchored to the inside of the first helmet I bought. Either REI or Giro replaced the helmet with no problems.

Great helmet and for the price.

Similar Products Used:

None. I'm from Laguna Beach CA and never even considered wearing a helmet and never felt I needed one. Now I'm stuck in Podunk Eastern NC (po 1300) where cycling is a novelty -- there are no bike lanes and no sidewalks, the rednecks hassle the very few cyclist and motorists don't look out for cyclists. It scares me here (in many ways) and I had to buy a helmet.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 03, 2009]
rocker9455
Recreational Rider

Strength:

looks ok

Weakness:

fitting system takes AGESSS to adjust

Just got this lid through the post today - not to happy with it, first it took about an hour to get the straps so they werent totally scratching my ears/chin etc cant say what its like on a bike yet but its not exactly the comfy-iest helmet i have had - time will tell whether its any good. . .

Similar Products Used:

Cheapo met helmet

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 20, 2009]
jon lon
Recreational Rider

Strength:

I like the way the RocLoc keeps the helmet from twisting. It feels secure without squeezing. The straps are adjustable and I can figure it out. I won't say it is easy but ... it is better than helmets of the past: god forbid you need to adjust them on the trail, be dark before you figured it out.

Weakness:

No visor. I know it's a 'road' helmet and somehow roadies are too cool for visors yet somehow it is cool for the dirt crowd. I went to a shop and they had a Giro visor in the back and just gave it to me. I punched some holes and installed the visor and it looks like it came with one now. I like a visor, road or dirt. Especially in New Mexico where I am now.

Helmets are funny, kind of like the heads they go on: they are not all the same size and shape and what fits you may not fit me. Individuality is a sought after trait in this culture but it makes for a problem for helmet manufacturers. At this point in the game 'they' have established different categories of head shapes and corresponding sizes. I bought this helmet because it fit my head. In fact it was the only helmet in the store that did. There were others that I liked better and would have purchased but they didn't fit and when it comes to gear: function always leads the way.

Similar Products Used:

I have used many helmets over the years and I like Giro products. I have also used Specialized helmets. I had a Sub 6 back in the day and I loved that helmet too. This is is better but the Sub 6 is an old helmet now.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 10, 2008]
JurgenMaas
Commuter

Strength:

I LOVE the Monza's fit system. It's far and away the most comfortable helmet I've ever tried.

Way sleeker than the old picnic cooler I was wearing on my head.

Weakness:

Not cheap.

I have a large noggin, so finding a comfortable helmet is a bit of a challenge. I read a review of the Monza in Bicycling, and seemed a good bet.

Similar Products Used:

Bell Triton (universal large)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 01, 2008]
synthetik
Commuter

Strength:

comfort.

Weakness:

none.

monza is a really nice looking, nice feeling helmet. so comfortable, i usually forget its there. Giro customer service is excellent. i have called them twice for replacement liners (the velcro padded thing inside) and they send it totally for free. a helmet is just a piece of styrofoam, but a company like Giro is much more. when mine wears out i will not hesitate to buy it again. thanks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 17, 2008]
VeloHalloran
Road Racer

Strength:

Good crash protection, good looking helmet.

Weakness:

none

This helmet perfomed its job perfectly well last weekend. While riding in a race, I was involved in a crash at 30 mph and my head was what hit the pavement first. The helmet cracked but my head didn't :) Save for a minot concussion and road rash I came out great. This helmet is what saved me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 09, 2007]
SG
Road Racer

Strength:

Price
Style
Crash Impact

Weakness:

No bug net

Great Helmet
I crashed my current one,
It did such a great job in the crash that I am going to replace the helmet with another Giro Monza

Similar Products Used:

Bell

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 01, 2006]
Brett
Road Racer

Strength:

Fit
Looks

Weakness:

Orientation of the pads deliver sweat into the eyes.
Hotter than a Limar.

This is a good helmet for the money. It fits my head like a glove (well, like a hat, really). I found it helpful to know that Giro helmets generally fit people with a more round head around the hat band, whereas Bell helmets are better for folks with a more oval shaped head.

One issue that will keep me from buying another one is the pads. They are oriented longitudinally so that sweat runs down from the top of the head and is channeled to drip right into my eyes. The Limar helmet I had before this one avoided this by putting a front pad across the forehead laterally with its low points depositing the sweat outside of the eye area.

Similar Products Used:

Limar , Specialized, Bell

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 15  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.