DEDA 215 Shallow Drop Round Handlebars

215 Shallow Drop Round

Deda Elementi 215 drop handlebars feature an anatomic bend that provides closer brake lever reach. Features and Information Width measured outside...

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Lance#8in09   Road Racer [Nov 30, 2008]
Strength:

Great bars looks wise, ergonomics wise and performance wise. Great value if you are looking for a round bend bar with a shallow drop.

Weakness:

None, and no the bar is not flexy! If it didn't give Mr. Armstrong any flex issues for years in the TDF when he was honking on them insanely in the Alps and Pyrenees it certainly is not being flexed by delusional amateur wannabees.

Great bars, the shallow round drop is great. Bars have a nice finish and a solid feel. Anyone claiming these bars are noodly who is not a top European Pro level sprinter needs their head examined. Lance Armstrong rode these EXACT same bars for years in the TDF and NEVER had a flex or a "noodly" issue with them despite all the crazy honking at near 500 watts of output he regularly put on them in climbs. But a slow poseur in here is gonna flex those same bars to the point of being "noodly"? Yeah sure they are?

Similar Products Used: Deda Supernatural, TTT Zepp, Cinelli.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
otherself   Recreational Rider [Nov 27, 2006]
Strength:

Good value I think; nearest rivals seem to be ITM's offerings at £49.99 GBP.

Lightweight (215g), stiff but don't vibrate due to triple-butting design. Hoods sit beautifully. Nice laser-etched graphics too.

Weakness:

None so far.

Bought these to replace my late 90's scrathed-up flexy 340g ITM's. I ride a 1.5lb cromo fork on a 4.4lb cromo frame and these make a welcome upgrade. Will upgrade to a 1" carbon fork and ahead though. I live in quite a rolling hilly county and I'm generally in the saddle for a few hours so needed something that was stiff & precise when hitting those 40+mph downhill speeds but also light enough for the climbs.

Similar Products Used: ITM Supertraining
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Riccardo   Recreational Rider [May 14, 2006]
Strength:

Premium equipment that is well built. Light weight (and allow TT style clip-ons). Pretty finishes (black or silver). Shapes to fit every rider.

Weakness:

To few shops stock the range of options. Better to stock all the differnent versions of the 215, than 10 different brands of bars with the same anatomical shape.

Nice bars. Plenty stiff except for some big power sprinters. Those guys should go with something larger in diameter. A little flex goes a long way towards all-day comfort. The bars are well finished and have well placed cable slots. The availability of three different shapes is special - all those who don't like the anatomical should have purchased one of traditional shapes. So, they fit, they're comfy, easy to set up cables, what's not to like, eh? Oh, and if you haven't tried Deda tape on them, well you've missed something great.

Similar Products Used: Cinellie, TTT, Richey, Trek/Bontrager, Nitto
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mraspi   Road Racer [May 05, 2006]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Noodle-like flex. Anatomic bend is horrible. I should have listened to the reviews, but I was convinced that my smallish hands wouldn't object. The problem with the bend isn't in the size, but in the angle. Anatomic bend is way too upright, creating harsh pressure on the bottom of your palm.

I purchased the 44cm Anatomic version. Installed, then promptly removed. Thank god I didn't waste a good Cinelli ribbon.

Similar Products Used: Cinelli Eubios, Cinelli Nerve
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
morkm   Road Racer [Jun 28, 2004]
Strength:

Light but not crazy light, stiff, perfect drop and traditional bend

Weakness:

None so far

WOW. Very happy with these bars. Replaced a set of 3TTT Prima's with these Deda 215, shallow drop, traditional bend. I was never too happy with the 'anatomic' bend of the 3TTT's and wanted to stay away from any other brand that had an anatomic bend. Bars are very nice and stiff, with plenty of room on the flat part of the drop. The shallow drop means that moving from the hoods to the drops isn't a huge difference...on the old bars the drops were too deep. These are just right. All the negative reviews of Deda's stems have steered me away from them. If the stem I've ordered to match up with these bars (a Thompson) doesn't work out, I may have to consider the Deda and a torque wrench.

Similar Products Used: 3TTT Prima
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ericw   Road Racer [Oct 09, 2003]
Strength:

Weight - nice and light. Shallow drop. The tube diamiter is just right for me.

Weakness:

None

After building up my training bike with a set of shallow round bars, simmalar to the Deda 215 shallow bars, I decided to install these on my racing machiene. I had been using ITM millenium bars beforehand, I found the anatomical bend on the ITM's just a little big for my hands when riding in the drops. With the same stem hight I can now ride very comfortably in the drops for long periods of time. The break leavers are also closer to my small fingers, which is always a plus when desending at 80kph into a tight corner. I also find that when in the drops I've got a few more hand possitions then with the ITM's. As far as stiffness goes, which everyone seems to carry on about, I don't notice a huge differance between the deda and ITM bars.

Similar Products Used: ITM Millenium, 3T round bars.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
transistor   Road Racer [Aug 16, 2003]
Strength:

they work, they're light

Weakness:

I am not a big fan of anatomical bars in general whether the ttt bend or deda's but find deda's a little better for a more aggressive position.

well they are handlebars, they gotta have the right curves, the right stiffness, they right weight and not fail, these bars do all that. I wouldn't want bars any more flexy then these. I actually will look forward to the larger diameter bars to gain a bit more stiffness

Similar Products Used: cinelli of every variety
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
richardmc   Recreational Rider [Nov 12, 2002]
Strength:

Very strong and stiff Extremely light

Weakness:

Brain-dead bend leaves a lack of support for the hand on the drops

Face it - if you like 3TTT, you'll HATE these! In the drops, there is no support for the hand unless: 1-you can put up with your wrists angled way up to let rather small hands hold the flat part; or 2-you forget about riding on the tops and have the bar tilted WAY down so the natural angle of the wrists allows small hands to hold to the bend. I refer to small hands. The "flat" part below the lever is pretty small. I guess I'll shop for some Profile shims to get some support down there (and kiss another Cinelli ribbon good bye). Otherwise, all the hand contact is on the heel of the palm and the base of the fore finger (with a broad unsupported span).

Similar Products Used: 3TTT Forma, Profile Hammer, Kore, Cinelli 63, assorted SR crap
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Nao   Triathlete [Sep 20, 2002]
Strength:

Light weight, Toughness, Beautiful finish

Weakness:

None

I have used anatomic bent (color mat black), which has given me easier reach to levers. Light weight, but stiff enough for climbing and sprinting. Though enough with clip on aero bars.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rbenson   Road Racer [Apr 03, 2002]
Strength:

Light weight, shallow drop, bend puts the levers in a very ergonomically correct postition in my opinion.

Weakness:

none yet, these are a put it on and forget about it item. Note: I have heard horror stories about the Deda Newton stem so I probably wouldn''''t match the 215 bars to that stem. Stem Failure = No Riding For a Long Time!!!!

I purchased these bars to replace a set of ITM pro 260''''s at the suggestion of my lbs. I was just never comfortable with my old bars and liked the idea of the shallower drop and the more ergo bend in the deda bar. So I gave them a shot and have been more than happy with the bars. Very stiff and light. The weight is very favorable to many carbon bars that are priced much higher. I realize they may not damp road vibration as well as a carbon bar but I have never had a real problem with this.

Similar Products Used: itm, ritchy
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.