American Classic Titanium Seatpost Seatposts

Available At:
Titanium Seatpost

  • Patented Micro Adjusting Clamp (Tilt The Saddle Up And Down, Fore And Aft)
  • Lightweight
  • Also Available in Aluminum

  • User Reviews (9)

    Showing 1-9 of 9  
    Dennis Morawski   Recreational Rider [May 19, 2002]
    Strength:

    low weight, reliability, adjustability

    Weakness:

    none

    Ah the seatpost. So simple yet so many choices... I choose the AC ti because of its light weight and the long standing tried and true design of the aluminum version. I figured the high price for ti and the fact that design improvements in seat posts are few and far between, this would be a seat post that would last me a very long time. So far I''ve used it for 6 years with unremarkable reliability. Once adjsusted, it stay there. I like the micro-adjustability but once in position forget about it (as it should be). The overall weight is low. Few posts out there today can out-light my AC ti. I believe I spent my money well. The post contributes to the aesthetics of my bike and it overall low weight

    Similar Products Used: Campy record
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Available At:
    Nessism   Recreational Rider [Apr 29, 2002]
    Strength:

    One piece: good looks, reliable, used to be good price Two piece: longer than one piece, strong and reliable

    Weakness:

    One piece: a bit short for some people Two piece: poor surface finish

    This review is for the aluminum posts. The old origional model is a one piece post made in the USA. This is the one that made the reputation for the company. Very nice looking, reliable, and cheap. The newer model is made from two pieces with the head glued onto the mast. Two piece is made in Taiwan or mainland China and has a much lower surface finish quality. Also the head looks slightly different -not as good to my eye. AC still sells the nice one piece model only when the two piece came out they raised the price from $35 to $55!

    Similar Products Used: Ritchey WCS
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Dano   Road Racer [Aug 23, 2001]
    Strength:

    None

    Weakness:

    It is the definition of weakness.

    This report is on the AL version. Took delivery of new bike today. Did the setup (Racer/mechanic for 40+ years so I did it right) On maiden ride, 100 meters from the front door, the adhesive between the top and lower portions of the post failed!Result: a rotating saddle and NO way to fix it. CS customer support is sending a replacement (CS did say that they have had very good results with this post with a low percentage of failures)I put a mid 90s Camy SR on and it looks so good I may stick with it, and since I used this post in a jillion points races,keirins, and match sprints without failure - I can trust it.

    Note: I weigh 215, but I was not hamering when this silly thing failed. Any product that fails first time out should get -points. CS will make it right because they are a good shop, and if the replacment post does perfom well I will repost (assuming I take the Campy out!)

    Similar Products Used: Campy alloy, SR & Chorus
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    SteveS   Recreational Rider [Apr 03, 2000]
    Strength:

    Adjustability and light weight

    Weakness:

    Aesthetics are a little lacking

    This review is actually for the aluminum American Classic seatpost rather than the titanium. It would be embarrasing to tell you how long I have used this post, let's just say it is probably from the first year of production and still going strong even if it doesn't look good. In recent years I have tried Shimano seatposts, McMahon titanium, Kalloy, and Thomson and none have been as good at fine tuning a position as the American Classic or as easy to work with. Also, this post is very light. If their current models are anything like this post, I don't much reason to try anything else. Light, ease of adjustability, and inexpensive sounds pretty good to me.

    Similar Products Used: Campagnolo, Shimano, McMahon, Kalloy, and Thomson
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Sean   Triathlete [May 21, 2000]
    Strength:

    very light, simplicity in design, it's titanium

    Weakness:

    hollow adjuster screw is a little delicate, price

    This is a nice post that i probably wouldn't have were it not for the fact that it was a gift from my girlfriend. It was purchased from the litespeed website--it is exactly as you would get it from amer.classic except a nice little litespeed decal is on it. I only had a problem with the hollow tilt-adjustment screw that is on the first aluminum seatpost i had, and that is because i tried to adjust it with the main clamp bolt too tight, thus splitting open the more delicate adjustment screw. this is definately avoidable, although it is not the kind of part that is readily available at most shops if you bust it. still gets 4.5 stars. would have to make me a better rider to get 5!

    Similar Products Used: thompson post, aluminum american classic post which is exactly the same design, just not titanium
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    alan carter   Road Racer [Aug 05, 2000]
    Strength:

    it looks nice, very adjustable

    Weakness:

    weak clamp design, scratches sticks up, expensive

    I got this post awhile back cause it was on sale for around 75 bucks at a website i ordered from. it look nice too and when i love the various adjustability i can do with my flite ti saddle. after about 4 month the cramp just broke for some unknown reason, and i had a crash a month before but i dont think it cuz it. anyways, i got a new clamp on it and after 2 month, it broke again, i said ..what the @#$%@!!! i replace it with a campy ti and it has work just wonderfully for over a year now (i also think the campy ti look nicer too on my merlin). i still have the classic in my garage collecting dust... what to buy it dirt cheap for looks? i give it 3 flaming rats for value, and 2 overall. get the campy, u won't regret it.

    Similar Products Used: thompson elite, tco, shimano d/a, campy ti post
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    TOM   Recreational Rider [Oct 02, 2000]
    Strength:

    Good light post. Smoother riding then Al. Good adjustment.

    Weakness:

    Weak top bracket . I stripped mine out.

    The stripped out top bracket? I e-mailed American Classic, they sent me one for free! This is a company to do your business with.

    Similar Products Used: Syncros, Ritchey
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Michael Kaspareck   Recreational Rider [Nov 29, 2000]
    Strength:

    Old posts - see below

    Weakness:

    see below

    I'm writing about the American Classic aluminum post. I have used American Classic seat posts in the past and always liked them. Just bought a beater bike and needed a good post, so I ordered another AC post. What came in the mail on 29 Nov 2000 was a piece of crap: clamp bolt frozen in clamp (unfinished threads), file mark on post, indifferent finish, ugly logo and not 27.2 mm diameter as marked. This is not the old American Classic. What happened?

    One star for looking like a good tool with which to pound tomato stakes into the ground next spring.

    Similar Products Used: Dura-Ace, Campy
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Eric Long   Road Racer [Aug 03, 2001]
    Strength:

    AL Model.Easy to adjust. Follow the directions or you will break the clamp. Light weight. Old school looks...classic.
    Tough...in use for 6 years and hit by a truck...broke leg, not post. Excellent product support from AMClassic.

    Weakness:

    Weathered look over time. Seat bag mat rub polish off the post.

    Keepin it simple. Not as trick as Carbon fibre, but light and tough. Used by racers (of all categories) for 3 decades. Cheep- about 35-40 bucks. 4.5 stars....nothing is perfect

    Similar Products Used: Campagnolo, SR, Suntour
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-9 of 9