Shimano 105 ST-5500 Shifters

105 ST-5500

  • Shifts Up To Three Gears With One Stroke
  • Double/Triple Compatible
  • ST-5500-C is the Shimano Flight Deck Computer Compatible Design

  • User Reviews (24)

    Showing 1-10 of 24  
    Daz Corcoran   Road Racer [May 18, 2010]
    Strength:

    Decent performance when working.

    Weakness:

    Don't appear to be up to the job, second shifter which has failed in the space of 15 months.

    Good shifting capability whilst working, however, left hand shifter has just given up the ghost again after 6 months of use, will not shift down, this was a warranty replacement for the 1st left hand shifter which did exactly the same after 9 months, looking to upgrade to DA. Gary Foord @ Mammoth was great (as always) at sorting the warranty replacement, top man.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    sk8teman   Recreational Rider [Apr 13, 2010]
    Strength:

    seemed to work good until it crapped.

    Weakness:

    left shifter broke....not the first time i have seen it in this component

    purched my bike with all shimano 105 comp., so did my wife..hers failed in 150 miles...they would not do any thing with mine until faliure...just failed (appr.350 miles)...have to wait over a week for parts and repair. Not Happy!!!!

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Chad   Recreational Rider [Jan 11, 2010]
    Strength:

    No complaints until failure

    2500 miles left shifter complete failure
    shop who sold me the bike said Shimano will warrantee it. LBS said they won't. Looks like I am lookin for a new LBS.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Andrew Dytman   Recreational Rider [Sep 11, 2009]
    Strength:

    Came with a bike as a reasonably priced package

    Weakness:

    Seem to be needing a regular maintenance - lubrication

    I was pretty happy with it untill after about 200 km the LH shifter suddendly refused to shift down. Tried to find a service manual (another saga)but without success. Being a mechanical engineer decided to look at the inner workings myself. Nothing appeared to be broken or jammed. Checked feedback on line from other users and decided to give lubrication a go - Triflo. Magic! It started working again. Now a dose every week:-)

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    herbie53   Recreational Rider [May 20, 2009]
    Strength:

    came with the bike cheap

    Weakness:

    breaks

    I joined the club with failed left 105 shifters last night. It feels like the rachet / shift mechanism is just gone. Stays on the small ring, no more clicky.

    I was planning on DA for my dream bike... now maybe SRAM.

    Similar Products Used: Ultegra groupset
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    sergioav   Road Racer [Mar 22, 2009]
    Weakness:

    Must be using cheap, Chinese parts inside.

    Crap left shifter busted after 220 miles. Dealing with Shimano and their awful warranty issues. I may just buy Ultegra now after reading all of these bad reviews on the 105 shifters.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    wahssoccer12   Road Racer [Nov 30, 2008]
    Strength:

    Cheaper than dura ace, pretty durable, last a long time as long as you take care of them. actually work unlike tektro and below that.

    Weakness:

    not perfectly smooth. rattle so loudly on a rough road (thus annoying riders around you and yourself)

    Well seeing as how these shifters have gone thousands of miles without any problems, i would say that they work pretty well. My dad had them on his bike, but when he upgraded to full dura ace i got these. The dura ace stuff is a lot smoother, but 105 will work fine for anyone who just wants to ride.

    Similar Products Used: I would say sora but that stuff does not work
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Robertson   Commuter [Oct 03, 2008]
    Strength:

    Ummmm they are shiney. Like the black color. Comes with a computer plug in the shell. I discovered it when the tech took it apart.

    Weakness:

    Don't plan on changing gears, single speed all the way.

    Another craptastic product way to make a shifter that breaks within the first 100 miles. Even the best bike techs came up empty trying to fix the inner workings of the shifter. I could go up but not down on the front derailler. New ones cost around $140 give or take and then the labor to install them. Head in hands,unhappy road biker. :(

    Similar Products Used: balsa wood airplanes that break in the first day.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    jimstaub   Recreational Rider [Jul 21, 2006]
    Strength:

    Great price and more than enough performance for a recreational rider.

    Weakness:

    Shimano doesn't describe any maintenance procedures in their manual. Also, there is no way to replace broken parts.

    The Shimano 105 shifter on the right side decided to quit working suddenly so that I couldn't select the smaller gears. After reading some of the reviews on this site I figured I was in for a new set of shifters. Before making the leap however I cleaned and lubed the shifter mechanism. When did a little oil ever harm things, except on your pads and pizza? To my surprise the shifter started working -- better than before. I even gave the left unit a little maintenance. Happy ending. I suspect a lot of problems reported previously may have been due to a lack of lubrication.

    Similar Products Used: Suntour Pro
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    chrisridebike   Road Racer [Apr 21, 2005]
    Strength:

    hmmm....still thinkin'

    Weakness:

    durability, feels mushy

    This product sucks. After about 1500 miles the cable holder just completely blew up inside, so i lost all tension on the cable and couldn't shift gears in the rear. This is inexcuseable, especially the day before a race. They also feel mushy when u brake or when u are pulling in cable. Bottom line: GET CAMPY if you can afford it. Two stars for making it to 1500 miles.

    Similar Products Used: Campy record, shimano dura-ace, a bit of everything....
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Showing 1-10 of 24  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.