Shimano Tiagra ST-4500 Shifters

Available At:
Tiagra ST-4500

  • New integrated Optical Gear Display
  • Ergonomic design with smaller bracket shape
  • Reach adjustable through shims
  • SLR for super linear response braking

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
mbrint   Road Racer [Jan 09, 2010]
Strength:

Looks nice, braking feels solid

Weakness:

brake very easily, poor quality, "double" version is equally as terrible

If you are planning on buying these shifters don't. It would be best to pay the extra bit and get the 105's. I've had the Tiagra shifters for 5 months now and already broken two. Also if you have a compact crankset especially do not buy these shifters because they cannot handle the cable tension needed and will brake, like mine.

Similar Products Used: Shimano 105
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Available At:
canflyboy   Recreational Rider [Nov 19, 2009]

Stay away from these shifters if you plan on putting on the miles. The LH shifters are very weak and tend to break. Mine broke at the 3000 mile mark. Tried to find a replacement on ebay. All Shimano grouppo shifters are available on EXCEPT the Tiagra 4500 LH. Non available anywhere (all broken, but lots of RH's). There was even a post for a guy selling a group of 10 BROKEN LH Tiagra shifters. Shimano doesn't offer a cheap fix either.

Similar Products Used: 105, Ultegra
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Edd Loggg   Recreational Rider [Feb 26, 2009]
Strength:

Quick accurate shifts, easy trimming, easier than trying to find replacement Shimano parts.

Weakness:

No Flight Deck

These shifters are perfect for anyone not wanting to upgrade their Shimano 9 speed. these shifters new work better than my 105 shifters did new. only thing I miss is my Flight Deck.

Similar Products Used: 105, Ultergra
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Mr. Dana B.   Recreational Rider [Feb 06, 2009]
Strength:


What gear am I in indicators on shifter name plate?

Weakness:

parts replacement; service

> SHIMANO makes it almost impossible to get parts for this shifter set.
> It is critical that your bike shop not discard the lever reach adjustment blocks during assembly of new shifters to your drop bar. They are difficult to nearly impossible to acquire. (Try sending SHIMANO an email.) If you have small hands ..oops!
> "Sorry" is of small consolation from your l.b.s. ...

Similar Products Used: luv them bar-cons!
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
ChadRicco El Swavaaah   Recreational Rider [Oct 23, 2008]
Strength:

They work

Weakness:

The biggest thing is the rattle. the top plastic indicator part rattles against the rubber hood. I live in Texas and have to ride on chip seal that those shifter rattling drive me nuts.

These shifters came on my 2008 Specialized Sequoia Elite. They shift smooth and crisp.

Similar Products Used: 105 Group much better
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Available At:
brs1986   Road Racer [Aug 15, 2008]
Strength:

good looks. accurate and quick shifting.

Weakness:

none so far

So far a great set of shifters. I upgraded my masi from sora shifters to these tiagras which i got new off ebay for 75.00. they work very well and are quick and accurate. Add a 105 or ultegra rear derailure and youll have yourself an excellent shifting drive train.

Similar Products Used: 105
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bianchi77   Road Racer [Jul 17, 2008]
Strength:

Fast shifting and ergonomic...
Very good for "honking"

Weakness:

None that I can think of

Tiagra is a very good product as long as I used it

Similar Products Used: Shimano D A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
nesjure   Recreational Rider [Jan 14, 2008]
Strength:

Easy to shift, has indicator, can trim. Ergonomic design.

Weakness:

Can easily get scratch due to plastic screen. Only 9 speeds.

This is a great shifter, it has gear indicator. It can trim. Nice to grip due to ergonomic design. The group set is cheaper than Shimano 105. The downside was it is only 9 speeds.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8