Ritchey Pro Stems

Available At:
Pro

Ritchey Pro Road Stem 100mm. With it's unique texured inner claming surface this stem is a perfect pair with a carbon handlebar.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Trouble   Recreational Rider [Apr 09, 2011]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Everything about Ritchey components is weak and their customer service is the worst in this industry

Bought this for my second bike to experiment with setup so that I had another spare stem.
Bolts stripped out, wouldn't hold position and it finally cracked. Pretty much useless like a lot of the Ritchey products I've since stopped using.

Similar Products Used: Bontrager is all I own now, the best customer service
Thompson stuff is the best and Ritchey knows it.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
matthew   Road Racer [Sep 30, 2008]
Strength:

cheap

Weakness:

lack of stifness

13cm length. I find this stem to be too flexable for hard climbing/sprinting but it absorbs road iregularities well

Similar Products Used: itm(varius models)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jjohnlee   Triathlete [Sep 02, 2005]
Strength:

Great Value!

Weakness:

None yet.

Very nice stem for the money. Stiff enough for me and I am not exactly small (6'03 at 185lbs). I bought the MTB version for my Kona and I love that one too!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
stackhouse   Road Racer [Feb 14, 2005]
Strength:

Cheap, light and stiff.

Weakness:

Bolts strip out easily.

After talking with another friend who had a bolt strip out while installing a new ritchey pro stem, I thought I should pass along my recent experience. Although, I was careful threading in the bolts, one of the four face bolts used to install the bar stripped out of my stem as well. I then installed a longer bolt and was able to put a lock nut on the back side of the stem for security. Amazingly though when I pushed down hard on the bar to test the set up, a different bolt popped its threads, and the bar came loose. Scary. I'm not well sure how Ritchey warrantees their products, but I don't think I'll find out because I wouldn't trust a replacement after this experience. After failing with this and the flexy WCS stem, I guess I'll have to venture out of the value market to look at $100+ stems for something that's light, stiff, and secure, if not cheap.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Wojo   Road Racer [Nov 19, 2004]
Strength:

Light, strong, relatively inexpensive.

What can I say? If you think that a stem should be a reliable and light piece of metal that consistantly connects the handlebars to the bike and NOT made of some obscure element that costs as much as a mortgage payment, the Ritchey Pro is for you. Not much more to say. I like this stem. I have never had any problems with slippage or flex. I like the redundancy of 4 plate bolts instead of 2, and the finish is pretty. The opposing stem bolts and offset angle of both the clamp and spacer shim indicate well thought out engineering.

Similar Products Used: ITM Mantis, Cinelli, TTT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BikeCrit   Road Racer [Mar 04, 2003]
Strength:

Strong, light

Weakness:

None

I like this stem. I like stems where the stack bolts go all the way through the fitting. Many of the ITM stems have bolts that thread into a dead space and your not sure if you hit the end or not. Thsi stem was plenty solid for me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
lewislw1   Road Racer [Dec 17, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Rusting bolts

The stem is stiff, looks good, and reasonably light for the money. The only problem are the cheap bolt heads that rust in the region where the allen wrench is inserted. I had the same problem with the bolt from a Ritchey WCS seatpost. I emailed Ritchey for new bolts, and they never responded. I''ve never had this problem before. I''ll email them again. If there is no adequate response, I''m done withRitchey. There are many other quality components to select from.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Ben   Road Racer [Jun 25, 2001]
Strength:

Light, stiff, two rise positions.

Weakness:

None

This stem was a replacement for my ICON Graphite stem which broke. Luckily, it did not happen during my ride. My old stem which was a 0 degree, 80mm length stem weighed 162 grams. My Ritchey stem which is a -17 degree, 90mm length stem weighs 146 grams. Whether on the aerobars or standing up climbing hills, the stem has proven itself to be much stiffer than my ICON stem. No noises and the only flexing is coming from my ICON handlebars. The Ritchey stem I bought at REI was with a Titanium finish, not the black finished pictured on this site. It is nice to find a "true" 1" stem that doesn't need a shim for installation. Having a two bolt clamping stem gives me better piece of mind vs. the ICON one bolt clamping to the handlebars. I would recommend this stem if you are looking for a stiff, inexpensive and light stem for your bike. What more could you ask for?

Similar Products Used: ICON Graphite
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SteveS   Recreational Rider [Mar 30, 2000]
Strength:

light weight and low cost

Weakness:

none to speak of

Got this stem as my second threadless stem on my Zeppelin when I went to the Reynolds Ouzo Pro fork. As far as threadless stems go, this one is pretty good. Mine was the +17/-17 degree reversible and I used it in the +17 degree mode. Its a good looking stem and appears to be well made. Unfortunately, I don't like the looks of using a stem with that much rise, which is no statement on the quality of this product. If you have to go threadless, this is a pretty good choice.

Similar Products Used: Icon
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Will   [Apr 07, 2000]
Strength:

good bolts, hasn't stripped out

Weakness:

None

It comes on soo many bikes, and it really is a quality product. No frills, just the understated traditional look. Not too heavy, not too light like Goldi Locks said "this one's just rite"

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.