FSA Mega Exo Bottom Brackets

Available At:

FSA Mega Exo Bottom Brackets 

DESCRIPTION

Replacement bearing cups (bottom bracket) for FSA outboard-bearing cranksets.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Sep 13, 2012]
homebrewevolver
Road Racer

Strength:

Looks

Weakness:

Doesn't last, bad seals

The first time I rode with it I thought it was great. I got the bike for cyclocross and I did not ride it very often because I ride road too, and it was still road season. I had my first cyclocross race and the thing seized up, and got all gunky. I did some research on how to rebuild the bearings and I found out that the seals and covers always break when you take them off and FSA expects you to buy replacements for 3 to 10 dollars a pop. After doing more research I found out that the problem is that these are just crappy bottom brackets. I bought a dura ace 7900 BB and it is in the mail being shipped right now. It is my understanding that most people end up doing exactly this. I have even heard many people say that their LBS recommends just throwing out the megaexo for a Duraace right off the bat.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Available At:
[Jul 24, 2011]
Bibi
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Rigid, lightwieght

Weakness:

low reliability, low durability, poor design (crank unscrewed once)

Bearings completely froze after 1000km (and riding through some ocean water, I have to confess). Got a new pair, and 2000km later they are creaking...

Similar Products Used:

shimano octalink, old school campy

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 28, 2011]
Gareth
Commuter

Strength:

Bike is great

Weakness:

BB started grinding an creaking with in 2-3 weeks under no load other than commuting.

Paid $1150 for my new sleek Kona Unit only to have the BB grind creak and clunk with in 2-3 weeks - the bike is solid although the break scrape like a banshee.

I only commute for 15-30 minutes morning and afternoon and never put the bike under load.

Unfortunately the bloke I bought this from is a grumpy old bugger who likes to imply that you brke the bike rather than the bike being faulty, so I'm not in the mood to challenge him on - it even though it's still under warranty.

Will now buy a superior quality BB and swap it out.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 30, 2011]
Steven
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Love the bike so far. If not for the BB and that the front is a 46-36. I plan to change 46 to a 50. This, I hope, should give me more high end. Aluminum frame and fiber front fork are very smooth on the road.

Weakness:

BB is crap and gettig use to using the Sram double tapp.

Bike came with FSA EXO BB and only after 2 30 mile rides started to make noise. I've had other bikes with unsealed and sealed BB bearings that never craped out soo soon.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized, Diamond back.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 21, 2010]
Clutch
Commuter

Strength:

Unbreakable, in my experience.

Weakness:

None.

My touring/commuting road bike came with standard FSA Gossamer cranks and Mega Exo bb back in 2005. I've ridden the bejeezus out of that bike, with heavy loads, lots of crappy weather conditions, and putting a lot of leg into the cranks almost every day, (I've weighed between 200 and 250 pounds over that time!)

The bb is still absolutely money. No creaks, clicks or squeaks; it's quiet and smooth. (I've had preventative maintenance done twice anyhow.) Maybe I was just lucky, considering the problems that other reviewers have reported, but my experience has been as good as it can be.

Similar Products Used:

Various Shimano bbs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 17, 2009]
steven wardlaw
Recreational Rider

Strength:

It keeps your crank from hitting the ground!

Weakness:

You name it.

love the slk crank! bb is pure junk. I've road for years on good old campy unsealed bottom brackets with not one problem. This thing crapped out after 3 months. This is my second one that has died. Don't buy it!

Similar Products Used:

campy and shimano

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 25, 2009]
Lenny
Recreational Rider

Strength:

None..the bike is great.

Weakness:

Unreliable bottom bracket.

Same as other writers, noisy and clicking. Replaced and had same problem. Seems to be different ideas as well on fix, including using plumbers thread tape on the bearing cup threads. Whether a wave washer or O-ring between bearing cup and crank arm. Any, has impact on riding enjoyment.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 11, 2009]
ufitzti
Commuter

Strength:

Um, it looks nice, I guess...

Weakness:

You name it: noisy, rough feel, short bearing life. I suspect all of this must be attributable to a faulty seal design.

Just adding my voice to the chorus of dissatisfied FSA Mega Exo bottom bracket users. Mine came as standard, along with the FSA SK-K Carbon crank, on a new Scattante CFR Race bike. I'm very happy with the rest of the bike, but the Mega Exo bottom bracket is pure junk.

I've never had any trouble with a bottom bracket in roughly twenty years of serious riding. This thing started to squeal, creak, wheeze, and make grinding noises within the first 300 miles from brand new. This was after my favorite and very trustworthy LBS set up the bike. To back up their work, they disassembled, inspected, cleaned, relubed, and reassembled the BB/crank assembly to make sure everything was okay when I told them about the noise. This banished the noise for maybe another 100 miles, and then it all came back with a vengeance, and now I'm getting a rough feel.

My mechanic told me they get a lot of similar complaints about FSA bottom brackets, enough that many customers get fed up and switch to other brands just to escape the noise even if the bearings aren't worn out yet. With the loud noise and rough feel, I'm pretty sure my bearings can't be long for this world.

I've had enough. An Ultegra crank and bottom bracket are on the way to match the rest of my drivetrain and replace the FSA parts. I would not recommend the FSA Mega Exo BB to anyone.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano 600 (back in the day), Shimano 105, and soon to be using Shimano Ultegra

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 25, 2009]
dbogert
Commuter

Strength:

Ergonomics, functionality

Weakness:

bearings suck (kind of a detriment to functionality)

FSA Mega EXO is a poor product.I am on my second bike with this bottom bracket and also replacing said bottom bracket for the second time. The first Mega EXO I owned lasted around six months. A couple of rainy rides rendered it a ball of rust. This time it just plain got all crunchy, no rust but plenty of ticking noises and a rough feel. I have also had issues with FSA headsets. I feel that FSA uses poor quality bearings/seals in otherwise ergonomically and functionally sound products. Very frustrating.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano, Campangolo (no problems ever)

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 10, 2009]
seattlelovemonger
Road Racer

Strength:

Great to start,smooth..quiet...

Weakness:

turns to crap with-in 6-8 mos and 1000 miles

Bought megaexo BB in July 08...with my FSA slk-light..its now feb 09..and the bearings are toast...The FSA Crank is awesome..their BB sucks...having the bearing replaced with Phil Wood outboard bearings...LBS says bearings will last a long time and they are sealed

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 20  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.