Wipperman Connex 10X1 10sp Chains

Wipperman Connex 10X1 10sp Chains 

DESCRIPTION

A tool-free link, that allows you to take off your chain as many times as you want without weaken the chain. Works with all Connex Chains of the 10 speed edition. 6.2mm compatible to all chains with a width of the inner link under 4.0mm.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 23  
[Nov 29, 2011]
lebikerboy
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Strong, Connex link.

Reading the reviews of this chain it's obvious that a lot of people didn't
RTFM. Yes, it will skip on an 11 tooth cassette if the connex link if the link
is installed backwards, If it's right it won't. Simple. I get at least twice as many miles from this chain compared to Ultegra.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano, Rohloff, SRAM

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 15, 2011]
Pete H
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Excellent for the ease of chain removal for propper cleaning, Shimano should have produced their own long ago !

Works fine when fitted as instructions !, WORKS fine on 11 tooth cassette sprockets (unlike some reviewers have said)
No noise or rubbing at all.

Weakness:

None.

Wipperman 10speed chain 'Connex Link' (6.1mm width link version).

Review regarding use of this quick-link with Shimano 10 speed 'Dura-Ace & Ultegra' chains.

Similar Products Used:

No.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 19, 2011]
slow.climber
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Easy to install.

Weakness:

Easy to install BACKWARDS and then you chain hops on the small cogs.

The chain hop is caused by installing these master links 'backwards'.

These things are asymetric. You MUST install them exactly as shown in the drawing on the Wippermann web site, otherwise you will get chain hop on the smaller cogs.

http://www.connexchain.com/data-live-connex/docs/pdf/Bedienungsanleitungen/Manual_Connex_Link.pdf

Other than that Ms. Lincoln, how was the play?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 28, 2010]
zender
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Price, removable, easy to install

Weakness:

Won't tolerate 11 tooth cog

Bought this for my rain/winter beater because I wanted to be able to remove the chain often to clean. As reported before, it does not tolerate a 11 tooth rear cog. Works fine on a 12 speed. No big deal if you have several cassettes.

UNLIKE others, I've had no shifting problems that are attributable to the chain. With correct tuning and lubrication, it shifts as well as Shimano chains.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano 105, ultegra, 7900 DA

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 24, 2010]
Windy City Johnny
Road Racer

Strength:

Strong, Durable, Easy to clean, Priced right

Weakness:

The only weakness is the reviews posted here by people who shouldn't be posting reviews.

I can't believe the reviews here on this product; obviously these folks don't know what they are talking about and shouldn't be wrenching on their own bikes at all.
This is the BEST CHAIN MADE by a looooong way. I've been using Wippermann Chains for over 15 years on the road and mountain bike for training and racing and I've only broke ONE.
Take a class or two in bike maintenance and know what you are talking about before you get on here and hurt the reputation of a great product. Wippermann Chains are the best in the biz!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 23, 2010]
Oregon RBR Fan
Road Racer

Strength:

Removable easily. Allows breaking the chain for regular off-the-bike cleaning.

Weakness:

Wipperman link does NOT work on a Shimano (Ultegra) 11 tooth cog. It skips badly and consistently every time the connex link passes over the cog. Fine on the 12-tooth and larger cogs

This is a review of a Wipperman Connex master link for a 10 speed chain

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 12, 2009]
toast
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Removal link made cleaning a snap. Quiet.

Weakness:

Snapping sideplates

Thought this was great. It was quiet and easy to use the conneX link. (So easy I put one onto a campy chain that had a noisy superlink.) But I got up on the pedals as I left my apartment tonight, and SNAP! It broke at the side plates of a link well away from the conneX.
It does have a lot of miles (3-4K), but I just measured it a few weeks ago and it was fine and didn't see any signs of wear. Now on closer inspection, I see at least 4 other cracks in the sideplates.

Similar Products Used:

Campy with super link that made clicking sound, so I put a wipperman link in that. Will probably stick with the ConneX link, but not the chains.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 10, 2009]
Francois van Heerden
Road Racer

Strength:

great quick link for easy cleaning

Weakness:

as stated

Got the chain as part of my Orbea Orca Dura Ace bike. Expected much, but am highly dissapointed. Chain jumps in 11 tooth cog (Contrarily to previous post no matter what direction you fit the chain)and shifting is not up to DA standard. I use alligator cabling.

Similar Products Used:

shimano chains

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 19, 2007]
Will
Road Racer

Strength:

???

Weakness:

Won't work with an eleven tooth Shimano cassette.

Purchased this chain (Shimano 10s compatible) less than one month ago after being enticed by a magazine ad. In all fairness the connex MIGHT be a good product. The problem that I encountered was that it simply will NOT work on an eleven tooth cog. Works fine in the 12, but skips badly when in the 11. My suspicions that the quick-connect link might be the culprit were confirmed when I had my LBS owner do a test ride. When it skipped he immediately stopped the bike and found that the link had just passed over the cog. Every trial produced an identical result.
The solution was very easy: replaced it with a Dura Ace!
My other complaint is that I could not find a contact address or number for Wipperman to tell them about the problem.

Similar Products Used:

Ultegra, Dura Ace

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 11, 2007]
Jason Linger
Road Racer

Strength:

Very easy to remove, which in turn, makes it very easy to clean and lube.

Weakness:

Durability is not good.

Bought this chain because it was supposively one of the "strongest" chains. That was a load of crap. From day one, this chain has not shifted well. Links stiffened up after the first month, even with regular cleaning and lube. Connex link broke after only about 1000k on chain, making a long walk home.

Similar Products Used:

Wimmperman 9 speed stainless steel. SRAM. Shimano.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 23  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.