FSA Gossamer Compact Cranksets

Available At:

FSA Gossamer Compact Cranksets 

DESCRIPTION

Gossamer New Ergo feature a high stiffness-to-weight ratio.....

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 50  
[Mar 13, 2016]
Daniel Morrissey

Strength:

None

Weakness:

Crumples with quick acceleration

I bought a new "Turino Pro" road bike from Bikes Direct which comes standard with this FSA Gossamer crankset.

Today I was out riding me new bike and a dog started chasing me.

I attempted to run away but the large chain-ring on my FSA Gossamer Crankset gave way and bent on the large push causing my chain to fall off and putting me in a bit of a sticky situation with an angry dog.

Needless to say I wasn't happy. Eventually I tried putting the chain back on but it keeps falling off because the chainring is permanently bent. I'm 56years old and have been riding all my life and have never experienced this failure mode. This bike has gone less than 100 miles and is now un-rideable.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 17, 2015]
Fanboy82
Commuter

Strength:

None

Weakness:

Cheap and weak parts

I have had 2 new bikes in the last 6 months, a Cannondale CAADX Tiagra which got returned as the top chain ring snapped whilst riding after 2 weeks, I then upgraded my bike to the CAADX 105, still fitted with the FSA Gossamer Compact set, 10 weeks in (during that time I didn't ride for 3 weeks due to a new baby in the house) the same issue has happened, the top chain ring has bent this morning, I had FSA triple on my previous road bike which I rode for 5 years with no issue.

I notice people have had issues with chains dropping, I too experienced this for the past few weeks, especially if I try to pull away from traffic lights etc in the top chain ring

My bike is cleaned weekly and chain lubed after every ride, I mainly ride to work and back, 90% roads and 15 miles a day so this is not due to parts wearing out.

I would strongly suggest looking at different cranks than these.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 15, 2012]
Freddy Chew

Strength:

I was impressed by the look of the design when my mechanic (authorize FSA distributor) help me to setup my New purchased Cervelo P1.

Weakness:

Surprising, first try out riding for the first kilometers, I notice that, when I do a back pedaling back to get the pedals ready, the chains will drop off from the crankset. try out a few times and the problem exist. Rode back to my mechanic for assistance. Examine and check it out, they informed me that the crankset is "warp ". For goodwill they loan me a used set of Shimano Ultegra.
Checked with Cervelo HQ. they refer me to FSA. FSA Singapore refer my case and says. Sorry refer back to distributor or Cervelo. Sad to hear that. Therefore I have to bare with it. Looks like I will no more in the future purchase bike from Cervelo and any other FSA parts.

Poor services. Not able to provide warranty for it own new products. No principal of its business and so called quality products

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 15, 2012]
Niall Smart

Strength:

- work fine for a week

Weakness:

- FSA BB creaks like hell after a week
- poorly machined (will not fit Shimano BB)
- shifting performance is not great

My 2012 Bianchi Infinito came fitted with these. The BB started to creak after about a week. A trip to the bike shop reduced but didn't eliminate the noise. I purchased and fitted a new Shimano SM-BB7900, but the crank diameter is machined too large and they won't fit through the Shimano BB. Junk.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 28, 2012]
Pirate.tth
Road Racer

Strength:

Light weight.
Replaceable chainrings.

Weakness:

Not carbon like the rest of my bike.

Have ridden 500 miles in 6 weeks, no problems with the Gossamer MegaExo that came on my bike (Argon 18 Arsenic) to speak of. Had the derailleurs adjusted (Shimano 105) after first 300 miles, as the gear changes were taking a while, (it is normal to have to make at least a half of a revolution of the crank arms while shifting, as the chain needs to be moved by the derailleur one tooth at a time from one chainring to the other. The chain doesn't just instantly jump from one chainring to the other), since then the shifting has been hard and fast. It sounds like many of the problems others are having are caused either by poor installation and/or maintenance of either the crank or the derailleur. As for broken teeth, stop running into rocks.

I lube the chain every 30-60 miles, before going for a ride.

I would like to change chainring size from the 46/36 to either a 50/34 or a 53/39 to get some more top end, as I usually seem to be using the 46 chainring with the 15/14/12 cogs at 30+ mph, with no squeaking, creaking or groaning coming from the crank, just from my knees.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 02, 2012]
forrest

Strength:

haven't found any

Weakness:

i bought a caad10 5 and this is the worst part on it. i have had it for one month and have already broken off 10 teeth of the top chain ring. i work very hard not to cross chain and i am telling you it is not why they broke. i have put tops 1000 miles on it. o and it started squeaking after the first week. i am a bit over weight at 180 pounds and i would like to mention in all fairness my wife has the same crank and only weighs 120 pounds and she has not had any ware to speak of . so maby if your on the lighter side this is a great deal. however i am having to go with somthing of a higher quality.

if your on the heavy side you should pass. if you have the money spend it on a better crank. in the long run it will save you money.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 10, 2012]
Tony Torres

Strength:

Unable to tell.

Weakness:

Cheap

I bought a new road bike yesterday and went out for a nice easy ride. The crank shaft fell apart after 30 min of riding the bike. I have the FSG Gossamer (had-come tomorrow) and don't think i would purchase this product again based on my first interaction. This is my first road bike and i'm new to biking. First impression are lasting ones!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 26, 2012]
ctrain
Road Racer

Strength:

Cheap long lasting looks cool

Weakness:

Chainrings

I've got a few road bikes
I used to work in a bike shop I fitted these to all my mates
Bikes and my dads bb30 carbon frame and I also run these on
My mrs mixte frame with ss ring same as my single speed I have
I've been runing mine for 3 yrs no problems
OVERALL THEES ARE CHEAP YOU PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET !
BUT FOR THE PRICE I'VE HAD NO PROBLEMS and as for fsa
Mega exo bb I've changed mine once in 3 yrs but as I said I'm a
Bike mechanic

Similar Products Used:

Shimano truvativ race face easton

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 10, 2012]
Ben

Strength:

Cheap; but then you get what you pay for

Weakness:

Creaks, creaks, creaks. Full revolutions required to swap rings (that maybe a slight exaggeration) oh and did I mention creaks!

Its cheap, not very well made, needs constant adjustment or it creaks, groans and generally sounds like a bag of old nails. It works particularly badly with BB30 bottom brackets and seems to suck water and grit into the bearings. Don't bother buying one and if you end up having one on your bike (Bianchi, for example, sell their compact Sempre's with them- why, oh why?) immediately invest the money in swapping it out- you will never regret it.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 29, 2011]
baysailor
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Cheap?

Weakness:

Creaky, shifts poorly

This came on the Trek 2.3 my brother-in-law gave me a year ago. Upshifting to the large ring was frequently difficult, requiring almost a full revolution to engage. Downshifts occasionally dropped the chain. I put up with these as derailleur issues until the crankset started creaking. I had it adjusted and tightened, but it still creaked. Finally I swapped it out for a Shimano 105 compact crankset. Oh. My. Gosh. Why did I wait so long? Silent, stiff, and instant shifts in either direction. Spend the few dollars extra to get a 105 (or better) crank. The Gossamer is not good.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano 105 compact

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 50  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.