FSA Gossamer Road Triple Cranksets

Gossamer Road Triple

6061/T6 Cold forged aluminum crank arms Precision CNC machined 7075/T6 chainrings, ramped and pinned for perfect shifting. 53/42/30 Weight - 690 grams

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
systemBuilder   Commuter [Mar 19, 2017]
Strength:

Looks cool

Weakness:

Horrible bottom bracket
Soft aluminum

Drive-side pedal threads stripped out completely before I got to 100 miles. Piece of junk.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
jburnha   Commuter [Feb 01, 2011]
Strength:

- Chainrings are of high quality, ramped and pinned shifting well (when FD was properly adjusted / paired). And they look good!
- ISIS BB runs smooth & has been maintenance free.
- Price! -- managed to get this crank well below MSRP
- Never have had any problems over thousands of miles
- Always has felt stiff and reliable

Weakness:

- Its a triple, so yes its heavier and there are chain-crossing problems though they are minimal.
- Anodized black on right arm has worn away to silver (expected)

Had an accident and bent the stock crank arm on my Trek 1500 and found the FSA Gossamer Triple (53/42/30 ISIS) as an affordable and sharp looking replacement. Overall I am very satisfied with this crank, both its range and its shifting and the less measurable stiffness.

Similar Products Used: Suntour Superbe Triple (square taper)
FSA Gossamer Compact Mega-Exo
FSA Gossamer Triple Mega-Exo
Truvativ Compact ISIS
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rick   Road Racer [Aug 16, 2010]
Strength:

Cheap.

Weakness:

Failed the most important test; durability. Unsafe product. Needs to be recalled from the market.

Yet another FSA Gossamer broken crankarm. The right one. Yes, at least it failed gracefully and allowed me to limp home for 10 miles with a crack opening up at the mid-point in the arm. No crashes, no visible external damage, simple structural fatique failure of the solid aluminum arm. Unsat.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
pablocasal   Commuter [Apr 16, 2009]
Strength:

Pretty straightforward: it's a triple and it worked well until it died.

Weakness:

Kaput after less than 5K miles.

This crank-set came with my mostly 105 CAAD9 about two years ago. I've put about 4800 miles on it. Today, my right side crank cracked right in the middle. This came at the end of a hilly ride, so I am thankful for that at least. I am very good with my gear, and thanks to my excellent LBS, the bike has always been serviced several times a year. One should reasonably expect more than 5K miles from this product, so there does seem to be a problem.

Similar Products Used: First road bike in many years. Last road bike I rode was an old Bianchi from the 80's...back in the 80's.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
SG   Recreational Rider [Aug 30, 2007]
Strength:

Stiff. Reliable. Easy to work on. Looks good. Robust finish.

Weakness:

None worth mentioning.

This crankset come on my Specialized Allez Elite. I haven't had any issues. It's a triple so it must be heavier than a double.

Similar Products Used: 2004 Shimano XT (MTB 2 piece), Truvativ Elita (isis), Truvativ Elita GXP
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
u178146   Recreational Rider [May 15, 2007]
Strength:

Bottom bracket design. External, oversized bearing cups are much, much stiffer than my older Ultegra, although Shimano's latest crank designs appear to perform similar to MegaExo. Yet the FSA's come in black which, however cosmetic, was an important criteria. Cranks arms are noticeably stiffer, too, although I'm knocking on wood given the other review...

Weakness:

Triples are still too heavy. Not sure how to cure this, though, without the use of exotic materials and better engineering (translation = big $$$, which I don't want to pay)

I've been very happy with this crank for the money paid. Although only a recreational rider, it's met all my essential criteria - shifts well, light for a triple, great design, stiff...and black..! Not to mention, it's an improvement over my previous crank, a 5 year old Ultegra triple.

Similar Products Used: Shimano 105 & Ultegra
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
SignoreCinelli   Triathlete [Jan 01, 2005]
Strength:

decent looks. Looks much better than Shimano 105 black

Weakness:

Durability!!!! I am always trying to ride with high cadence and less by standing on my pedals. So it´s kind of strange to me that it broke. My MTB cranks have to bear a lot more and never failed so far - maybe because they have always been Shimanos...

Well, what can I say - concerning cranksets there´s just one main criteria: durability. But it failed. It was the left one which broke right in the middle. Fortunately it did not break all of a sudden but the crank buckled more and more. Before I bought it I was also considering to buy a carbon crankset. But my main concern here was ift it break it breaks all of sudden which - depending on the current situation when it breaks - could lead to an ugly accident. I bought it, bacause I was searching for a black crank set and I didn´t want to buy the black Shimano 105. That´s the first time I experienced a broken crank (I do also ride MTB and have never had any problems although the use should be much here - maybe because I have onls used Shimao parts on my MTBs so far)

Similar Products Used: Shimano 105 & Ultegra
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-7 of 7  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.