FSA K-Force Carbon Cranksets

Available At:

FSA K-Force Carbon Cranksets 

DESCRIPTION

The K-Force Light platform is FSA's top component tier, and now they're offering an BB386 EVO version of the crankset. It will fit any of the new crop of bike frames designed around this intriguing new bottom bracket standard. The FSA K-Force Light BB386 EVO Crankset is 26 grams lighter than the SL-K version. Suprisingly, it's also lighter than its BB30 counterpart.Among the benefits of BB386 is the larger diameter, stiffer spindle. At 30mm, it's the same diameter as a BB30 spindle. The big difference between them is that the BB386 spindle is longer to allow its use in a bottom bracket shell width of 86mm. FSA uses a low speed extrusion to form the 7075 alloy spindle before they machine it to its final shape. It is co-molded into the 5-arm spider on the drive side arm. The composite spider is hollow to save precious extra grams, as are the crankarms. FSA molds a transverse rib into each hollow crankarm. It's an exacting process, but worth it since it increases the torsional rigidity -- you'll appreciate the rock-solid feel when you stomp on the pedals. FSA employs T-30 Torx internal wrenching alloy fasteners for the chainrings bolts. Though more difficult to produce, this type of hardware ensures that you can torque the fasteners properly without the worry of stripped bolts because of a sloppy interface with the tools. A tight fit and snug fasteners means less power-robbing flex and decreased chance for strange creaking noises to develop.The FSA K-Force Light BB386 EVO Crankset is a top choice whether you're interested in a standard 53/39t or a compact 50/34t chainring configuration. It has a 3K carbon weave finish on the hollow carbon fiber crankarms. FSA uses bold graphics on the arms to make a visual tie with the Black anodized, CNC machined 7075 aluminum chainrings. They're ramped and pinned to ensure smooth shifting. It's compatible with all 10-speed road shifting systems. We also sell FSA produced Campagnolo 11-speed compatible chainrings which can be fitted to this crankset. Three crankarm lengths are available -- 170, 172.5, and 175mm.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 52  
[Jul 16, 2015]
Steve in Tasmania

Strength:

looks ok

Weakness:

the housing for the pedal spindle just comes loose. A washer helps to allow cranks to function. Has anyone eppoxied the pedal housing back in? A dangerous bit of equipment with not much help from FSA. If it was on a major car brand there would be a recall!! Obvious a substandard company throwing together poor quality product.

As above

Similar Products Used:

FSA Gossamer cranks...Stay away from these as well.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 30, 2014]
Andy Harvey

Strength:

Light

Weakness:

poor quality, design fault

I am in total agreement with the other reviews. My Cannondale Supersix came fitted with FSA SLK Light crankset. 10000km and the left pedal insert came loose. Almost impossible to get a response from FSA regarding their claimed 2 yr warranty. In the end I got a new FSA KForce Light crank for half price. Still more expensive than a Shimano option!
If this second one fails I will be most annoyed. For this sort of price and technology you expect a better quality AND a better service from the supplier.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 13, 2014]
Brian Fleming

Strength:

Looks great, light.

Weakness:

Same problem as with other users. The peddle insert worked loose on the first crank I purchased, and I thought that they had probably heard about this issue, and though they would fix it on the next generation FSA K-Force Carbon. I foolishly purchased the FSA K-Force Carbon and the problem returned. This is not a warranty problem, it is bad design. There is absolutely no excuse for this to happen, when all they have to do is redesign the aluminum insert.

I am not Fabian Cancellara, If this can happen to me, it can happen to anyone. A crank costing 500 bucks should not fail like this.

I have not tried customer support yet, but from reading previous posts, it is probably a waste of time.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 07, 2013]
roadphil
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light weight and sexy looking

Weakness:

Poorly constructed - Pedal inserts failed. Very Very Poor Customer service!!

My K-Force crank has been banished to a box in my garage for over 5 years due to pedal inserts failing. It had less than 2000 miles of light too moderate duty and no racing. I have two friends that had the same issue. We all were told the crank would not be warrantied. I'm still speechless over the customer service rep stating that it was designed to have a short lifespan and I was out of luck. So was the owner of my shop when he called them. Additionally, all other FSA products that were spec'd on my bike failed and have been replaced with Easton.

Similar Products Used:

Dura Ace

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 21, 2013]
Scott V.

Strength:

It's carbon, light, looks great, feels nice when using.

Weakness:

I live near FSA customer support. Before this I had the SL-K which was carbon over aluminum. The rings are nice but the unit as a whole is junk.

I don't plan on using any FSA chainsets in the future. This unit was crap. When I tried to get it straightened away, FSA tech support told me I had it all wrong and that I was assembling it wrong!!! It turns out, which I had to determine MYSELF, that the aluminum piece at the arm-center that connects to the spindle had separated from the carbon arm. This caused a repeatable 1mm shift of the arm forward every time it was reloaded by pedaling. Crap! I was totally insulted by the WORTHLESS tech support at FSA and they are virtually in my own neighborhood. They are not earning their pay. They are are not qualified in the least to support the product. They exhibit an inability to troubleshoot, they're irritable, and they are rude. They have no business providing tech support whatsover. I never asked for anything but some troubleshooting guidance and discussion of KNOWN issues. They failed on all accounts. Some young whipper-snapper talking to me like I was born yesterday! I was riding road bikes long before they were even born. If you would like to add insult to likely injury, buy one of these and when it fails, call FSA tech support. They could not have been ANY WORSE. I bought a Shimano chainset and couldn't be happier at a fraction of the bling...the engineering is there - it is designed to stay together and not let you down. The SL-K I rode for at least 15k miles with plenty of maintenance. The K-force was unusable after 500 miles.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 30, 2012]
LoneSharkie

Strength:

Looks.
Worked well for about 7k miles.

Weakness:


Not as stiff as high-end aluminum cranks.
Broke at 7k miles.

Any one have any luck getting replacement arms or a full crank replacement from FSA? I would avoid, as my crank also succumbed to pedal insert cracking/breaking issue from a not so hard snap out. Is it worth even trying to deal with FSA?

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 28, 2012]
ray

Strength:

light weight

Weakness:

product failed

As others have noted, the crank design is weak and fails--on mine the left crank pedal insert just worked itself loose from the carbon crank arm. Haven't called FSA yet, but from other comments I am not holding my breath. I have never had a problem with an alloy crank loosing a pedal. I hope FSA service has some integrity and recalls/fixes this design flaw. I will never buy another FSA product if they don't fix their flaws, warranty or not!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 01, 2011]
tonypet69
Road Racer

Strength:

Excellent power transfer, precise shifting, lightweight, A looker, Great bottom brackets

Weakness:

I guess the alloy plating on the fairing of the big chainring. Which is starting to build up salt.

Great product, I have nothing but good words for FSA cranks. stiff, light, aesthetics, durability, great bearings, reliable shifting. I never turned back since I started with my first set which is the Gossamer, then the Carbon Pro team Issue, I have a k-Force light as well and a K-Force on my mtb.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano Tiagra, Duraace, Deore, Deore XT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2011]
3djock
Road Racer

Strength:

none

Weakness:

weak on the left side crank mount wears out to quickly and becomes loose after time. Tend to flex and creak quite a bit..

Even had problem with alignment of the chain rings which was due to bad production.

I have gone thru to sets of these in the past 2 years they are garbage period. The left side crank even after their recommendation how 2, came lose and failed twice. They need to go back and re engineer these things if they want to keep customers in the near future. Would not recommend to anyone.

Similar Products Used:

Rotor now..

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 04, 2010]
alancross
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Very good looking
Light
Smooth BB
Fairly stiff crank arms
Really stiff chain rings

Weakness:

Unclear instructions for tightening. I tightened to Nm specs originally but that wasn't enough.

Bought this crankset to replace a Bontrager XXX Lite. 175mm length/2009 model. I've got about 2000k on the set so far and have not experienced any of the problems with pedal loosening. The BB has worked very well. The install instructions were explicit on how much to tighten the crank arm. Initially this left the wavy washer not compressed enough which led to creaking over some time. I went back and tighten the hell out of the crank arm. The wavy washer is not full compressed (flat) which it shouldn't be but the creaking went away and the crankset works flawlessly now. It is a substantial weight savings over previous crank/bb set up and I've been very happy with it aside from the initial lack of tightening.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager XXX lite
Ultegra 6500 and 6600
SRAM Rival

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 52  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.