FSA K-Force MegaExo Cranksets

FSA K-Force MegaExo Cranksets 

DESCRIPTION

  • Length 170, 172.5 or 175mm
  • 130mm bolt circle diameter
  • MegaExo oversize cartridge bearings
  • AL7075 Torx T-30 alloy chainring bolts
  • Oversize splined integrated chromoly BB Axle

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 24  
[Aug 22, 2009]
nzxt
Road Racer

Strength:

can't say "weight" because what FSA claims is a lie.

Weakness:

just about everything. slips, creaks, bonding between carbon and metal snaps, left arm breaks, even after replacing by LBS.

I am only writing this review in light of the poor customer service by FSA.

Crankset should have had a recall on it.

Local bike shop says dozens of these cranks have been returned through them. They will no longer sell FSA because of poor quality control.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano Dura, Campy Record.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 25, 2009]
vifa
Triathlete

Strength:

It worked for about 500 miles before the persistant creaking set in.

Weakness:

- creaking started at 500 miles. Called FSA and they said to use loctite on the left crank arm. Started creaking again after another 500 miles.
- Then, the left crank arm bolt would start coming lose, no matter what the LBS could do. It has to be tightened after every long ride.
- THEN, the bonding of the left crank arm and the aluminum thread separated !! Now there is so much slip, it is dangerous to use.
- Called FSA many times, and they fought an RMA and warranty return repeatedly.
- Poor design of crank, and even the FSA staff ADMITTED IT...yet, they still won't provide me a replacement and it is from a TDF backup bike !!
- Poor customer service and very poor product design, that FSA admitted to, on a recorded phone conversation and they knew this should have been a recall.

The K-Force carbon crankset came with my bike. It is a BH Global G3 with full Campy Ultra Record 10spd, except the crank. TDF backup bike, but since FSA was a sponsor, they used this crankset. TOTAL PIECE OF GARBAGE !! FSA has battled me with warranty repairs for almost a year now. The crankset should have been recalled, but that never happened. I would NEVER recommend FSA again to anyone, at any cycling level.

Similar Products Used:

Campy Carbon Record, Shimano 105, Ultegra, Dura-Ace, Truvativ.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 12, 2009]
cogsci
Road Racer

Strength:

none

Weakness:

Finicky construction, false weight claims.

Constant creaking, slipping, loss of power. The finish lasts maybe 6 months under normal usage and sunny socal weather. The bottom bracket and crank system is trash. I've never heard so many complaints from one BB/Crankset at all my local bikeshops. Please save your money and mental energy and go with a tried and true Shimano.

Similar Products Used:

Ultegra,Dura Ace

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 04, 2009]
JulesYK
Recreational Rider

Strength:

None, in light of the design issues.

Weakness:

No reliability. No recall, either, which is what should have happened.

I'm submitting this review because some of these cranks, amazingly, are still on the market at closeout prices. Don't bother. Very disappointing. I have the K-Force Light on another bike, and it works great (the front shifting is spectacular). This one didn't shift great, but more importantly, the crankbolt would not stay tight. The revised installation instructions now call for two different types of Loctite to secure the left arm and crankbolt (and it may actually work), but who needs the uncertainty and aggravation, particularly if this happens mid-ride? I guarantee that you will not be able to get the crankbolt tight enough with just a small multi-tool.

Similar Products Used:

K-Force Light (great crank).

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 26, 2009]
mtber222
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Offset by weaknesses!

Weakness:

Poor quality

I had the same problem with the left crank arm described in many of these reviews very early after purchasing my bike. This was sorted under warranty by my LBS.
Recently the drive side crank arm pedal thread became loose and I have had to replace the entire crankset - I think this problem is referred to in the very first post for this product.
I won't be using or recommending FSA products in the future. I am currently working through a warranty claim for a set of FSA MTB wheels I purchased about 12 months back.
While I am sure the local distributor will help me out, there are simply too many good competitor products to continue wasting my time with warranty claims - not to mention time off the bike!

Similar Products Used:

Ultegra

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 09, 2008]
bogbog
Recreational Rider

Strength:

stiff enough. look nice. good qfactor.

Weakness:

poor design. spindle and insert issues. general fear your crank is going to fail.

The K-Force crankset came on my 07' tarmac pro (which i got in 08' on closetout - woohoo patience!) after about 2 months and 2K miles the non-drive side crank started doing the same thing FSA cranks seem to be known for.. clicking and slipping. awesome. apparently came "unbonded" (unglued) or something.

so instead of "blistering the tarmac", my bike is at the shop waiting for the crankset to make it back to FSA so they can verify it is in fact broken and send back a new one. now i can understand that if some guy like me calls up FSA and demands a new crank that they would want to see the old one first. that fine. but my local bike shop has had to return several of these cranks already, they can tell its broken, just send the friggin thing, i miss my bike.

spoke to someone at FSA and they said they are probably going to replace it with the SLK lite based on their current inventory. one nice thing is that apparently the warranty "resets" now. so my 2 yr warranty would begin anew when i get the new cranks. but wait, didn't FSA have a 10 year warranty last year?!?

dear FSA, if the cranks you send me are sh1te, im gonna return them in person. catfish?

Similar Products Used:

DA, 105, bontrager

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 03, 2008]
seven595
Road Racer

Strength:

The carbon looks nice

Weakness:

Left crank arm comes loose recurrently, despite cleaning threads, and using loctite. The LBS has had a go without luck. They also tell me that this has not been a rare occurrence with this model.

Don't buy this crankset! The left crank arm comes loose and will not tighten regardless of what one tries. The consumer should expect no problems from what used to be top of the line cranks from FSA. I will think thrice before buying another set of cranks from FSA.

Similar Products Used:

Campagnolo Record UT - flawless!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 15, 2008]
rightman
Triathlete

Strength:

Did not get to find out due to weekness of product

Weakness:

Everything

As for product looks fantastic but same problems as other reviews.CainReaction say they will try and sort it out.But if so many problems why dont FSA recall them.Have told chain reaction i would like a different product so have ask them to replace it with the sram force. Ill have to wait and see if they do.

Similar Products Used:

Dura ace

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 15, 2008]
kcp1228
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Looks good, lite, ceramic BB.

Used this crank for less than a month and the nondrive side pedal spindle broke loose. LBS is changing under warranty but makes me wonder about FSA's products. I had an another, lower end, crank of theirs on one of my other bikes and the crank would come loose. I figured that seeing that the design was different and it was the top of the line I would have better luck..I guess not. I will wait and see if this one holds up, if not I will go a differnt direction.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 07, 2008]
tom
Road Racer

Strength:

Stiff

Weakness:

Broke in 1 year, long wait for replacement

Came on my Giant TCR, had read the reviews and my first set has lasted 5k miles. I ride with a club and I'm 6 ft 200+ and love to sprint, broke the spindle for the pedal on non drive side. LBS handled the warranty but took FSA over 6 weeks for replacement. I'm going to wait to blow out again then sitch to Dura Ace Cranks

Similar Products Used:

ultegra

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 24  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.