Zipp Speed Weaponry VumaQuad Cranksets

VumaQuad

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
kenstraub   Recreational Rider [Jan 02, 2012]
Strength:

really light, very stiff, great looks

Weakness:

need to be meticulous when you install, and need to have good chainline etc. It's easy to break stuff or overstress bolts, etc. I'm 165 lbs, not sure if bigger & stronger riders would have issues with chainring flex. Support from Zipp is not great, I ordered replecment rings from their web site and it took forever to get them.

put this crankset (compact, 34x50)on a Titanflex as part of a rebuild, goal was to go as light as possible. This set is incredibly light and very stiff. Have now put >10K miles on all sorts of riding, including commuting. Replaced worn chainrings once (probably from riding in rain & getting crap in the chain etc.), otherwise zero problems. Proper setup is important--- good chainline, don't overtighten chainring bolts, etc.

Similar Products Used: Shimano Ultegra, SRAM GXP (carbon)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tbone   Road Racer [May 14, 2011]
Strength:

weight and cool looking

Weakness:

Crap flexible chainrings laterally and cost.

I bought these cranks cuz I love Zipp wheels or Zipp rims in particular not their hubs. The weight was outstanding and the crank arms and spiders are amazingly stiff. The Q angle is on par with Campy which is good. The draw backs with this crank is the bulges on the arms scrap against yoour shoe damaging the graphics why would they put that bulge there anyways. My biggest beef is like what others experienced laterally flexible chain rings that causes chain drops and noisy drive train. One of the tooth on the 53 ring chipped and bent, I took some pliers and straightened them out. I bought new chainring and second one did the same thing, if you look at the chain rings when bolted onto the spiders the chain rings are bent by their anchor screws. I ended up selling them. Lesson learned stupid light parts that make you slower are not worth it, like Zero gravity brakes. I am sticking with the old faithful 7900 Dura Ace its heavy but you put it on and forget it.

Similar Products Used: Dura ace 7900 and Sram red cranks
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Scott   Recreational Rider [Nov 18, 2010]
Strength:

Light, smooth, shifts great, etc etc... all the things you would expect from a 1000.00 crank set

Weakness:

Breaks
Poor customer service
Cannot get a replacement and I live only 80 miles from Speedway IN.

No issues with this crank at all until 19 months into ownership. I was sprinting over some rollers and the non drive side broke off just inside of the threaded pedal insert. Luckily I did not eat it.
Now I have waited one month and 2 days and the LBS says that Zipp is shipping me a Sram Red to have as a replacement. Sorry but if I wanted Sram Red, I would have bought Sram Red!

Similar Products Used: Shimano, FSA
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Sammy Al-Doory   Recreational Rider [Aug 07, 2010]
Strength:

Lightweight

Weakness:

prone to breakage. Expensive

Overall, not Bad, but the crank bolt broke after only one week of riding.I had to pay to have it replaced. I asked my local shop why, and they shrugged their shoulders and said "that's Zipp" I have contacted Zipp and am waiting for a reply.

Similar Products Used: Shimano Ultegra, Sram force. No problem with either of these
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
twade36   Recreational Rider [Nov 07, 2009]
Strength:

The box they came in was nice enough I guess.

Weakness:

Weak chain rings that will flex & possibly break...customer service & warranty department are a joke.

I can sum up the VumaQuad in two words...complete garbage. Sure, they look great, but unless you're looking to waste a lot of money on something that will give you nothing but problems & enjoy playing phone tag with a customer service department that dodges warranty issues for weeks on end while your bike sits & collects a fine coat of dust, I'd suggest that these cranks be avoided like the plague. I snapped a chain ring on these after using them for only 10 months. The broken chain ring left a nice, long gouge on my brand new bike. To date (6 weeks after the fact), Zipp has STILL not replaced the crank, & even gone so far as to say that they aren't willing to & would rather replace it with a Sram Red. Thanks but no thanks.

Similar Products Used: Dura-Ace
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
mllfalcon   Road Racer [Oct 29, 2009]
Strength:

Stiff Crank Arms and Bottom Bracket

Weakness:

Expensive. Weak chainrings. Bad customer service from Zipp.

I am a bicycle mechanic with 10 years of experience. I have installed this crank with no problems. The problems come from the chainrings. I have had several custoomers with the 53/39T chainrings actually bend their chainrings. I even had one customer whose chainring broke and put a huge gouge in his brand new carbon bike. Unfortunately, Zipp has been dragging their feet in their warranty department.They have had the crank for over a month and have had no communication with the shop or the customer except when we call them. This is nothing but bad customer service. Between the bent chainrings and bad customer service, I DO NOT recommend this crank.

Similar Products Used: Campy Super Record, SRAM Red, Dura-Ace
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Emspilot   Recreational Rider [Sep 12, 2008]
Strength:

Super Light
Super Stiff
Easy Install

Weakness:

Price
110 mm bolt circle with proprietary rings...may be hard to get replacements.

This crankset is fantastic. Super light and super stiff. BB install is quick and easy. I have not had any of the problems I've read about on the Net about chain ring flex, I'm 160 lbs and have it installed on a super-stiff Look 585 Ultra, no flex in the rings beyond what I have seen in other cranks.

Similar Products Used: FSA Carbon Pro
Campy Record Carbon
Shimano DA
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
kingofworld139   Road Racer [May 29, 2008]
Strength:

if you are concerned about weight these cranks are for you. stiffest lightest production cranks on the market and made in the usa. excelent bb bearings like ceramic but steel

Weakness:

price is a little steep but if you want the best its worth it.

makes all other carbon cranks trash. gigantic aluminum spindle, bb30, makes stiff responsive. lightweight mine with spacers bb and everything else comes in at 590g. only 10 g above clamed weight and i didnt have to use all spacers

Similar Products Used: campy ut, d/a 7800, stronglight pulsion
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.