Bebop Inc. BeBop SL Pedals

Bebop Inc. BeBop SL Pedals 

DESCRIPTION

  • Semi-hollow spindle
  • Spindle : Heat treated 17-4PH stainless
  • CNC-machined from the finest 17-4PH stainless steel
  • 195 grams

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jul 11, 2007]
Joe
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light Weight (<200 gm/pair).
Low Stack Height.
Simple and Rebuildable.
Durable.
No Weight Limit.
20 Degrees of Float.

Weakness:

Clip-ins Can Be a Bit Tricky Until You Get Used to Them.

These are very well thought out and designed pedals with only a few minor issues to them. Pluses are that they are extremely light, serviceable, have very good float and stack height, no weight limits and simple cleats. Minuses are that over tightening the cleats so the baseplate bends can lead to loose attachment when clipped in and clipping in requires a bit more "feel" than should be necessary. These aren't big issues and I can strongly recommend these pedals.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SPD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 11, 2007]
Joe
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light Weight (<200 gm/pair).
Low Stack Height.
Simple and Rebuildable.
Durable.
No Weight Limit.
20 Degrees of Float.

Weakness:

Clip-ins Can Be a Bit Tricky Until You Get Used to Them.

These are very well thought out and designed pedals with only a few minor issues to them. Pluses are that they are extremely light, serviceable, have very good float and stack height, no weight limits and simple cleats. Minuses are that over tightening the cleats so the baseplate bends can lead to loose attachment when clipped in and clipping in requires a bit more "feel" than should be necessary. These aren't big issues and I can strongly recommend these pedals.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SPD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 15, 2006]
Bickis
Road Racer

Strength:

light, simple, all metal, strong

Weakness:

no float adjustment, slippery entry at times, sudden release (though not entirely engaged at the time) caused me to crash.

After figuring out not to tighten the cleat too much, these pedals worked flawlessly for a long time. I liked the endless float, simple design, and not having the same pedals as everyone else.
After time, however, I noticed a few problems. One, because of the way you engaged the cleat (a kind of straight down, or with the back of the cleat first) if you missed the entry then the shoe abruptly slid right off the pedal, which isn't such an issue with look/dura-ace types which engage the toe first. Two, it may have been from running back to the wheel pit, but my cleat all of the sudden wouldn't engage entirely, partially fixed by bending the metal open a bit more, but sketchy. Third, I found that an annoying amount of play developped between the cleat and pedal, especially bad in sprints and climbing. The last two could probably be fixed with new cleats, but just reminders of drawbacks to having the moving mechanism on the shoe.
I'd say a good touring/rec pedal. I'll never race on them again.

Similar Products Used:

look, ritchey logic, shimano

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 28, 2006]
shmoo
Road Racer

Strength:

metal cleat seems durable and lots o float

Weakness:

expensive and the cleat isn't flush

dont even have them yet but the design is ass-woopin

Similar Products Used:

campy, speedplay x2 and frogs, eggbeaters, spd,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 02, 2005]
bykr
Recreational Rider

Strength:

See above

Weakness:

Lance doesn't ride them

Bebops saved my knees three years ago and have been faultless ever since. The float, durability, lite weight, lean angle, appearance, and simplicity are unsurpassed. Also no sensitive areas to wear when walking. I have gotten an E-mail response from the company but they definantly have higher priorities than customer service. Also no advertising or team support that so many other manufactuers sink their money in. There is a metal-to-metal contact so I use a liberal rubbing of paraffin on the pedal. No grit attraction. There's no reason to ride anything else.

Similar Products Used:

$himano

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 09, 2005]
lemmy999
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light, strong, cheap(er than the Speedplays), low stack height, easy entry, free float, looks.

Weakness:

Customer service. Impossible to get in contact with the company.

These pedals are the best I have tried. They are supposedly for road or mountain use, but I do not think I would like them for mountain. The only bad thing about these pedals is the company is impossible to contact. I have heard some people speculate that they are out of business, but the web page is still up and the answer machine message is changed from time to time. But the will not return calls or emails.

Similar Products Used:

SPD, Egg Beater.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 29, 2005]
pedlfoot
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light ,durable,lot's of float and low stack.Good looking and if you need,serviceable.Buy them and you won't need to buy pedals again.

Weakness:

None

These are great.Easy step down entry and consistant exit.Very light and more float than you will ever need.They look great and are very easy to maitain.Actually you nly need to keep them clean and lube the cleats once in awhile.No springs to adjust here.The stack hight is extremely low.I have never come out of these prematurely .The cleats have lasted two seasons of riding without a problem.

Similar Products Used:

SPD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 27, 2004]
cinbau
Road Racer

Strength:

Easy set up, Light, Lots of float, all metal cleat Pedals have outlasted three bike over 8 years and many many miles.

Weakness:

Not so good for mountain biking, but that is my opnion

Greatest pedals I have ever tiried. Light weight and very comfortable. Cleats are very durable (I just don't trust anything with a plastic cleat, they break, Look + Campy)

Similar Products Used:

Shimano Spd, Welgo Spd, Time

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.