Campagnolo Daytona Pedals

Campagnolo Daytona Pedals 

DESCRIPTION

  • QR - PRO-FIT - With Floating Cleats
  • Thread: 9/16 " x 20 tpi
  • Steel Axle
  • 2 Bearings
  • The Left Axle Is Compatible With The “ErgoBrain” Magnet

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 15  
    [Sep 01, 2008]
    Stevo
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Lightweight, easy in/out, stable, look good.

    Weakness:

    NOISE. Crunchy, squeaky, raspy, gritty NOISE that eventually will drive you nuts and arouse attention from your fello riders (WTF is all that racket?!?). Every single ride I have to put a not-so-thin bead of bearing grease around the edge of the cleat in order to keep the NOISE down. And, of course, I constantly have gravel and grit on my cleats and therefore in the pedal. I'm going to something else. This is ridiculous.

    This is the Campy Pro Fit Road Pedal. I concur with most of the other comments. On balance, I like these pedals. Easy (sightless) clip in/out. Lightweight, large platform, etc. But after <1 year, they started making NOISE!

    Similar Products Used:

    Mostly DA previously.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    [Apr 20, 2007]
    Pablo
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Durabilty and style.

    Weakness:

    None.

    I purchased these over four years ago. They have held my shoes to the pedal ever since without issue. The bearing remain smooth and tight.

    Excellent choice.

    Similar Products Used:

    Look and Look Style Shimano.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Jan 13, 2006]
    wankski
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Reasonable weight, confidence inspiring build quality and clip-in function. Very smooth and noiseless bearings. Attactive when new

    Weakness:

    Expensive hardware (cleats), gray finish scratches very easily and looks obvious. Smaller clip-in target than other pedals.

    I really like these pedals.. Some say that they are hard to clip into, and i have had a couple of moments where i missed the engagement, but overall i do not find it to be a problem worth mentioning. It may sound strange, but i have found better results by not looking too much at it while engaging.. simply glace down to make the correct alignment with your foot with the pedal at the 11 o'clock position .. look back up at the road and let your foot do the finding by pushing forward and keeping the correct alignment with the cleat to the pedal - and you're in with a satisfying click! Once you are in, they are fantastic pedals, i have never been dumped out of them even when frantically sprinting up a hill, and i feel very secure in these all alloy pedals. clipping out is a breeze. Never had a problem clipping out, haven't yet keeled over at a stop, and i learnt how to use "clipless" on this system. Obviously, i could never go back.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Oct 25, 2003]
    xracer
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Look, weight

    Weakness:

    noise, maintainance

    These pedals look great and I have no problems to cleat in and out, but they produce all kinds of noises that I could not fix.

    Similar Products Used:

    look

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    [Jun 28, 2002]
    Jeffrey Holt
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Low weight, solid feel

    Weakness:

    Noise, noise, and more noise. Did I mention the noise?

    The pedals fit well, even for a 200+ pounder that likes to get out of the saddle. Unfortunately the negatives of noise and difficulty clipping in were hard to live with. Had to go back to Looks. The noise was particularly atrocious, there simply was not enough grease in the world!

    Similar Products Used:

    Various Look pedals, using PP396's now

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    [May 30, 2002]
    Uncle Tim
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Good looks. Very light (310 grams?). Decent sized platform. They are Campy. I got them at a great price.

    Weakness:

    Platform may be smaller than other pedals. Spring failure during a sprint; That's not good.

    This is a follow up of a review I wrote in July of last year: My Daytona pedals purchased a little less thana year ago finally failed. The spring on the retaining clip of the right pedal broke after about 5000 miles. It happened quite suddenly as I pulled out of the pedal (the failure!) during a friendly sprint on a club ride. I am fortunate that I didn't get hurt. While they worked, they were great pedals. They were always snug and were easy to get out of in a hurry. Clipping in was not always the easiest, but I never got into trouble. And the bearings, though never serviced by me, appear to be working fine. It's shame the pedal failed in the way it did. My replacement for these is Campy Centaurs which look and feel like the same pedal. They come with a 3 year warranty, so I will be keeping the paperwork.

    Similar Products Used:

    Shimano SPD's, Time ATAC, Look

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 29, 2002]
    off242
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Great design and execution of that design. Once you''re in, you''re in, and with a nice amount of float, too; unclipping is not a worry and is very nice without a bulky cleat trying to clear a bulky pedal. Look-style, 3-bolt pattern works with virtually every shoe, and Look-style cleat covers will save the plastic housing while at the Quick Stop (not to mention keeping you from slipping on the floor).

    Weakness:

    On occasion, clipping in from a traffic light can prove to be a bit more dramatic than I care for such an activity to be. It''s rare when it happens, but when it does, your heart monitor will certainly let you know, as will drivers behind you.

    Awesome pedal, especially for the price.

    Similar Products Used:

    Veloce ProFit, Time Challenge Pro, Look something or other, Bebop

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 11, 2002]
    Ray Sachs
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    No squeaks! I don''''t understand some of the other reviewers were having with engaging and disengaging. These are a small target, so not the easiest pedal to get into, but not that tough either. On a par with other road pedals. As for getting out, much easier than most others I''''ve tried, Speedplay being the exception.

    Weakness:

    For me, the only weakness is how small they are. They really don''''t offer nearly the platform that Look or Time pedals do. They feel more like Speedplays underfoot, but without the massive float.

    Good pedals, but smaller than expected. Reasonably easy in, secure but very easy out. No squeaking is a big plus. Not as much platform area as I like. My ultimate pedal would be non-squeaking Looks. So far the tradeoff is Looks that squeak or these with the small platform and less support than Looks.

    Similar Products Used:

    Look, Speedplay (x series and frog), SPD, Time ATAC.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 15, 2001]
    David L
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Campagnolo. finish, quality, light. This is a review of 2001 Daytona pro-fit plus pedals.

    Weakness:

    none yet

    These took a little breaking in and training to learn to use them right, but I would not trade them, period. They're lighter than chorus - and less expensive. No hot spots, feel real secure, no surprise releases. The harder you pedal the harder they grip. Once I learned to grease the cleats, release became very easy. I can hook up w/o looking - never have to think about my pedals. Highly recommended.

    Similar Products Used:

    well go R4, look 206, shimano platform

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 31, 2000]
    Todd Camp
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Solid, clipped in feel

    Weakness:

    underside painting

    I bought these to replace the Richeys my bike came with. I got them from Excel for $90. They are great pedals. I have no more hot spots, and have never had an unintentional release. My cleats are holding up well, because I don't walk around in them but they will wear quickly if you walk a lot in them. Four stars on value only because the bottom scratches too easily.

    Similar Products Used:

    Richey road logics

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 15  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.