Look Keo Carbon Pedals

Keo Carbon

Look has gone lightweight with its newly designed Keo pedal. A thinner, lighter carbon pedal body and lightweight chromoly spindle paired with a Keo specific cleat to provide smoother entry and exit with less wear. The cleat also has a memory tab to insure correct cleat replacement. Red cleat: 9°. Black cleat: 0°(FIXED). Wt. 115g. Lightweight carbon injected body, chromoly spindle, KEO specific cleat.

User Reviews (68)

Showing 1-10 of 68  
Paul   Road Racer [Feb 01, 2012]
Strength:

smooth, weight easy in and out

Weakness:

none

almost didnt buy these because of tarts that don't have a clue, I have a Felt Z4 sub 16 lb and wanted a new set of peddles, saw on other reviews that they make noise when they get wet, well I bust be deaf because they are silent in any condition

great peddles don't hesitate, I waited over 6 months of use and 1500 miles before I posted this, much better than shimano's only got smother with time

Similar Products Used: shimano ultegra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim Shelton   Recreational Rider [Dec 09, 2011]
Strength:

Light weight, low profile, stiffness

Weakness:

None yet

This is my second pair of Look Keos. First pair were carbon/ti and, while expensive, I felt I got my moneys worth. Super light, low profile, easy to clip in and out, and great power transfer. After 18k miles, the footbeds were getting quite worn and I felt play developing so I retired them and bought Keo a pair carbon/cromoly. Not quite as light (of course) but satisfactory. With the addition of a metal footbed I will be curious to see how it wears. One question to other home mechanics: is there any reason I couldn't swap out the axles from my carbon/ti to the newer carbon/cromoly pedals?

Similar Products Used: Look 396's and Shimano Ultegra.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Andrew Day   Recreational Rider [Aug 12, 2011]
Strength:

light, strong, responsive, comfortable.
Beautiful craftsmanship and a well finished off frame. Ticks all the boxes, even the ones that don't immediately come to mind.

Weakness:

Umm, scratching my head, Nope,can't think of any as all the boxes are ticked in the strenghts department

Recently purchased a LYNSKEY R230
Used to Ride competitively years ago.
Recently decided to get back into cycling and was looking to purchase a quality bike that was to be along term aquisition.
After ruling out a carbon frame and researching titanium, the name lynskey kept popping up.
It feels way more responsive and zippy than the branded lightweight bike I had previously. Also very comfortable. I initially spoke with the folks at Lynskey Performance (Don Erwin)who provided a 10/10 service in every aspect of choosing the right frame and components.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Blue CheeseHead   Recreational Rider [Apr 22, 2011]
Strength:

Weight & price when on sale.

Weakness:

Wear of pedal and cleats. (deal breaker for me)

I tried these after using Keo Classics since the price was right. Smooth, light pedals. What disappointed me was how quickly the body wore. I used the pedals a little over a season and the body wore out where the cleat contacted it on the outside footbed. As soon as the pedal began to wear, it started to eat the cleats in that location as well. I have been riding Looks for the 5 years I have been cycling. I recently switched to Shimanos and would never consider going back. The Shimanos are easier to clip in and I expect the metal footbed will wear much better. Sorry Look. Nice concept, wrong material.

Similar Products Used: Look Keo Classic
Shimano Dura-Ace
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Kevin Sweeney   Recreational Rider [Aug 07, 2010]
Strength:

Light...but not worth it due to squeaking

Weakness:

Loud, constant squeaking. I have ridden look pedals forever and have never experienced this...

It was BAD DECISION to buy these pedals. Theses pedals squeak constantly. They are so loud that I can not ride in groups as they annoy everybody. I thought the squeak would go away after 10 hrs of riding. Not so.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Zachariah   Recreational Rider [Feb 12, 2010]
Strength:

-Light
-Smoothest bearings in the business
-Looks sharp
-Close spindle proximity
-High resale value
-Solid engagement, w/ audible clack
-Much easier than Shimano SPD-SL release
-Lighter than Keo 2 Max
-No rider weight requirement

Weakness:

Cannot find a single fault.

I have the 2009 LOOK Keo Carbon CroMo, with the grey 4.5 degree/float cleats. They weigh exactly 230g a pair...precisely as advertised.

I previously had the 320g/pair Shimano Ultegra PD-6620 and the Keo feels much better, IMHO. The power transfer on the Keo Carbon is spot-on.

Similar Products Used: Crank Brothers Eggbeater
Shimano SPD-SL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Will   Road Racer [Oct 03, 2009]
Strength:

Lightweight
Smooth bearings once they are broken in.
Positive Clip-in and out feeling


Weakness:

MSRP is expensive but a search online can find prices just over $100.
Cleats wear ridiculously fast.

The Look CrMo Keo Carbon is a lightweight good looking pedal. It has a solid clip-in feeling with an audible "click" that affirms you are clipped in. There is no second guessing whether you are clipped in or not, no sloppy in between area like some other pedals. The cleat release tension adjuster is easily done by turning a bolt at the rear of the pedal body. The cleat works great, but only when it is rather new. My grey 4.5* cleat lasted only two months until it was worn through the wear markers. I do ride most often in the wet weather which may increase the wear, but that is only my theory. As for cleat squeak, in a year I haven't heard a thing. The pedals have only been quiet and smooth for me, my only real complaint is the wear on the keo cleats.

Similar Products Used: Ultegra SL Pedals 6620
Noname Wellgo MTB spd-type
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
bigbrett1971   Recreational Rider [Jun 15, 2009]
Strength:

ease of locking in,and weight

Weakness:

price

The carbon keo look are the easier of the pedals to click into the classic version can be a nightmare at times,the carbon version are like a magnet on your cleats

Similar Products Used: look keo classic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
climb_up   Road Racer [Dec 19, 2008]
Strength:

Light weight
Silky smooth bearings
carbon material does not show scuffs
relatively inexpensive

Weakness:

None thus far

I've used these pedals for just a couple of rides now - a bit over 100 miles total. Here are my impressions: The bit of gritty rotation of the spindle - when spun my finger - went away after about 20 miles. Like most bearing systems this is normal - my Shimano 7800 BB became much more silky smooth after about 300 miles of break in miles. These pedals are light (noticeably as compared with my previous Ultegras) and have a very smooth spin. No issue with squeaks or other noise from cleats or from pedals under any riding condition. I clean my pedals and cleats after each ride and use cleat covers. Longest ride so far has only been about 60 miles but found no issue with hotspots, lateral rotation of cleat to pedal or clipping in and out.

I have the 08 model with grey 4.5 degree float cleats. One further note: when compared with the Shimano Ultegras these are much easier - less pressure needed to clip out - when tension is brought up. The shimano's were nice but when you put up the spring tension, you really need much more sideways force to unclip.

Similar Products Used: Shimano Ultegra pedals
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
shybyday   Road Racer [Oct 29, 2008]
Strength:

Weight, easy to enter and exit and easy to service.

Weakness:

Cleats wear pretty fast.

I've been using these pedals and the Sprints for over a year and think they're just dandy. Some people have issues with the cleat squeaking but I have yet to experience this. The pedals are light, easy to clip into and easy to service.

Similar Products Used: Shimano Ultegra, Crank Bros, Shimano 520 etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 68  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.