Ritchey Road Pro V3 Pedals

Ritchey Road Pro V3 Pedals 

DESCRIPTION

  • SPD-R* compatible
  • Wt: 290g/pr
  • Forged low profile aluminum body for maximum clearance

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jul 17, 2012]
Stephen
Recreational Rider

Strength:

None

Weakness:

Whoever engineered these pedals with the hardware is lamest of all. These are the worst in design when it comes to the simple things of mechanics. I thought these were going to be a good off ebay but instead this is an accident waiting to happen. Clipping on and off are as bad as rolling a dice guessing for the number.

spend the extra money and get good pedals.

Similar Products Used:

stem

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 26, 2010]
BJ211
Commuter

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

cleat

Not compatible with SIDI melenium carbon III shoe. Waste of time.

Similar Products Used:

shimano spd

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 01, 2007]
david
Recreational Rider

These are the worst pedals/cleats ever. I've been riding clipless since 1992 and by far these pedals are the hardest to clip into and more importantly for me clip out of. The design of the cleat is horrible. 1. It's metal, so it scratches floors, and the pedals. 2. The design of it makes it as such so it gets caught in the pedal...Might be an OK cleat for long rides where there are very few stops...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 16, 2007]
Randall
Road Racer

Strength:

Made well (mostly), easy to operate (if you are used to SPD-R, and replaceble parts.

Weakness:

Off the Bike (walking) details

Basically a good pedal, and setup wasn't hard since I am used so setting up spd-r cleats. It even has replaceable parts for where the cleat wears on the pedal, but too bad it wasn't sold long enough to take advantage. The cleat is taller than the spd-r, but I can live with the fact they are not interchangeable. It's a shame though because being discontinued I'll have trouble getting replacement cleats, etc. The bottom line is that Ritchey made two mistakes that could easily have been corrected if they'd just done simple product testing, and then consumers wouldn't complain as much:
1. PROVIDE PONTOONS, ones that are deeper the spd-r because salvaging a old set of hose didn't help (too small)
2. DESIGN TO USE RESCESSED BOLTS because the ones with the crown provided become what you walk on.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SPD-R

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 24, 2006]
Don Lewis
Recreational Rider

Strength:

None

Weakness:

All

Promising appearance and weight but mechanically crap. The cleats are held in by two screws at 12 and 6 o'clock and you cannot tighten them enough to prevent the cleat from rotating when you try and release. My cleat got wedged in incorrectly and would not release so I had to stop, get off the bike, remove my shoe still in the pedal, loosen the spring tensioning screw, etc. These are going in the trash!

Similar Products Used:

Look, Samson, Campy

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 30, 2004]
lizard
Triathlete

Strength:

Flexable float

Weakness:

Need pontunes

Shimano pedals with Ritchey name. Don't come with the rubber pontunes so you either slip and slide or buy a whole new set of SPD=r cleats. If I had paid full price for these, I might as well have bought the Shimano pedals.

Similar Products Used:

Time, Look

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 08, 2004]
ejn
Road Racer

Strength:

not one

Weakness:

everything

My first pair of road pedals, so i can't really compare them to any others, but all i have to say is they freaking stink. They are almost impossible to clip in and out of correctly and i've had to throw them away.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 21, 2004]
freezin_is_the_reason
Recreational Rider

Strength:

very adjustable. Lock in better than mtnbike pedals. nice large platform.

Weakness:

difficult to get set up and a bit portly

Wow, but these things are hard to set up. The cleats were a pain to mount onto my Louis Garneau Ergo Pro shoes. The big issue being the spacer that fits between the shoe and the back of the cleat. This thing has a raised lip that is supposed to fit into the hole in the cleat, but it seemed to always become mis-aligned and cause the cleat to be less than fully secure. The next issue was adjusting the pedal so that the cleat would seat properly and make a good interface. For the longest time, I had trouble getting this right, and even considered chucking the pedals as the right one kept popoing loose and was almost impossible to get engaged. Then I discovered the little allen screw on the outside bottom of the pedal that is attached to a small round platform on the outer edge of the platform. By turning this, I was able to level out the platform, and it was like a completely different pedal. They now work great, and I am pretty pleased with them.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano SPD mountainbike pedals

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 21, 2004]
puddlespark
Road Racer

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Far more nuts and bolts than any other pedal I have used. Finnicky set up, bolts do not sit flush with nuts. Hard to engage and disengage. Oops,they forgot to include the pontoons that give the cleat some stability when walking unlike Shimano whom they bought the design from. Must purchase them separately. Not compatible with Sidi's new shoes. plastic washer to seal the bearings somes off with minimal pressure.

Avoid this like the plague.

Similar Products Used:

Look, Campy REcord, Time

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-9 of 9  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.