Shimano PD-R600 Pedals

PD-R600

Shimano builtThe Dura-Ace 7750 pedalTo meetThe demanding needs of Lance Armstrong. Now you can enjoyThe same benefits at a nice price point withThe Ultegra R600 version ofThose same pedals.The wide pedal platform yields great foot-pedal stability and enhances comfort, whileThe low profile design keepsThe foot closerToThe spindle. The retention mechanism is secondTo none, featuring adjustable releaseTension with a visual indicator and 6 degrees of float.The sculpted design ofThe pedal

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
noemis   Commuter [Oct 24, 2009]
Weakness:

N/A

Excellent product, at first i have to look pedal to clip on but after few ride it is automatic it clip very easy recomend it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cz85b   Road Racer [Feb 27, 2007]
Strength:

durability is without peer!

Weakness:

none

I have 3 sets of these, the first set has over 25,000 miles logged on them! I could stop there, and would have provided you with everything you need to know, but I will go a step further.. Having owned the Dura Ace 7800's I will say that those lasted less than 3,000 miles (about a month and a week)

I spend a lot of time in the saddle, and I need something durable.. If you want expensive and light, go with the D/A. but do yourself a favor and buy a spare set or two.. You will need them!

Similar Products Used: Dura Ace, various models of Look and Time... Look pedals creak, Keo's break, time is trash in general...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
acid_rider   Recreational Rider [Jun 08, 2006]
Strength:

works well, seems reliable

Weakness:

bolts too short, cleats expensive and wear too quickly and single sided only.

A good pedal overall but cleats wear a bit too quickly and the bolts are too short if you need any kind of shims or lemond wedges like I do (3mm). Cleats expensive too.

Similar Products Used: shimano MTB pedals (M540).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg   Road Racer [May 13, 2006]
Strength:

Weight, Platforms

Weakness:

none so far... could go lighter with the Dura Ace, but I dont think you will notice any difference unless you are riding 120 miles per trip.

Excellent product... I was using Crank Bros eggbeater because same type of pedals are on my mtn bike. I started getting pressure points with the lack of platform... The Ultegra pedal cured that quickly... much better drive command and power and my feet stay comfortable. When stopped at lights or stop signs, its challenging to get the pedal in the right position to clip back in at first, but it only takes a few rides to get the hang of it (I was spoiled with the crank bros quad side pedal style). But this pedal coupled with the new lighteight R151 road shoes I bought dropped my pedal weight significantly and increased my overall average speed on long 40 mile rides. Great Pedal... def get it on ebay for a really good price.

Similar Products Used: Crank Bros Quattro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chuck   Recreational Rider [May 09, 2006]
Strength:

Relatively inexpensive (Ebay has them for good prices) replacement cleats are easy to find, look pretty cool.

Weakness:

I get a hot spot after about two hours of riding, which may be my style of pedaling. The outer edges have been scuffed pretty good and the "Ultegra" is worn off, but other than that they still work like new.

My first road pedal. Easy to get into, once you get used to it. Easy to get out of (again, once you get used to it). No skeaking after 3000 miles. I will be buying a new bike soon and putting these pedals (the new version) on it.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mbakercad   Recreational Rider [Mar 12, 2006]
Strength:

Reliable and reasonably priced. Easy entry and exit.

Weakness:

None to date. Perhaps weight?

My first road pedals. 2 years now and I have had zero problems. No noises, hot spots, etc., etc. They just function flawlessly.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
michaelwoodardcpa   Recreational Rider [Dec 13, 2005]
Strength:

See above

Weakness:

I developed a very pesky squeak during a metric century that I had to listen to for 40 miles. Even after replacing the cleats, I still had a squeak unless I lubed the crap out of the pedal and cleat.

Good pedal, larger contact area, easy and reliable entry and exit. Good cornering clearance.

Similar Products Used: Speedplay X-2, Shimano SPD old-school, LOOK
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
speedfreak1   Recreational Rider [Jan 21, 2005]
Strength:

Almost automatic entry & smooth, ez exit. Very low profile gets your foot close to the axle centerline & also gives excellent cornering ground clearence. Smooth bearings. Minimalist appearence.

Weakness:

The shiney finish on non-contact surfaces dulls quickly. Replacement cleats are pricey.

Best looking pedal on the market. Excellent ground clearence on aggressive cornering. Cleats felt a little floaty at first compared to my Look A3.1s, but that doesn't bother me now. There have been some comments made about the mounting hardware that comes w/ the pedals. I have the Sidi Genius 4 shoes & was able to use the supplied bolts. Just get all 3 started a turn or 2 & then tight them all equally a few twists at a time. As far as walking on these cleats, they are much more stable than the red Look cleats which only have the 1 tiny black pad in the middle vs. the 3 yellow pads on the corners. The plastic of the cleat doesn't wear as much while walking & that may extend their life to offset their higher replacement cost. Entry & exit is very smooth. The flat bottom side of the pedal is welcome when you are unclipped, at a dead stop & trying to get across a busy intersection. The shiny outside edges ( where there is no shoe or cleat contact) has already turned quite dull & can't be brought back to life. This Ultegra pedal can be attached with a pedal wrench, the D/A version is by allen wrench only. My longest ride on these pedals was a 5 hour, 101 mile ride & there were NO HOT SPOTS burning in my feet at the end!!

Similar Products Used: Look A3.1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jksu   Recreational Rider [Dec 31, 2004]
Strength:

- wide platorm, reliable, no squeeking, non-slip cleats

Weakness:

none

i was using crankbro eggbeaters for a while since i had them on my mtn bikes. was doing fine but started doing longer rides and began to feel more sore/hot spots. figured with my big size 11 ft maybe a larger platform would do me good. love the spd-sl for that large platform and the cleats aren't slippery at all to walk on. i do miss the quad-sides clip in ability of the eggbeaters but am starting to get better at flipping the pedal over at stoplights. great deal online compared to retail. weight penalty is minimal with this model.

Similar Products Used: eggbeaters, spd-clones
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steve 2003   Recreational Rider [Dec 10, 2004]
Strength:

Look great, very secure, easy to get into and best of all... NO SQUEAK (at least so far)

Weakness:

Cleats cost double what the Look cleats cost. The nice allen screws that came with them DO NOT FIT MY SIDI's...!!! BUMMER. when I retro fitted with screws from my local hardware store I had to be very carefull that the screw head did not protrude beyond the surface of the cleat. This can damage the pedal surface.

I've used various Look pedals for 25 years and loved my 357's. But the never ending problems with creaking noises finally drove me over the edge. If the Look cleats weren't perfectly clean and near new they would creak the moment I got back on the bike after walking around in the dirt. I loved the stability and ease of entry of the Looks and wanted something similar (wide platform). My bike has Ultegra and other riders opinions of the Ultegra pedals were positive, especially regarding the creaking noises on long climbs.. Decided to spring for these and let go of my Looks. First impression was that they weren't as easy to get into but that has changed with practice and now they seem as easy as the Looks. The 6 degree float seemed "looser" to me but I've gotten used to it as well. The pedal clicks in very positively and feels very secure in sprints. Walking is easy. I've got about 1000 miles on them and haven't experienced the wear problems other reviewers speak to. In fact, they are wearing much better than my Look cleats did. But I am very careful not to "scuff" when walking around on pavement as that is a sure way to wear cleats down fast. These cleats have little bumps on the bottom outside corners that improve overall wear life.

Similar Products Used: various Look pedals over the last 20+ years
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.