Wellgo MG-8 Pedals

Available At:

Wellgo MG-8 Pedals 

DESCRIPTION

Super lightweight SPD style road clipless pedals with an aerodynamic design...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Mar 01, 2012]
Barrie

Strength:

Light, inexpensive and are working well after 1000 miles

Weakness:

None

Mine are magnesium with titanium spindle they fit my SPD road shoes , I cant say anything bad about them

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 14, 2011]
Bobshere
Recreational Rider

Strength:

These are quite easy to get into once they have worn in a bit.

These are excellent lightweight pedals. I have ones with titanium spidles, which brings the weight down from ~240gm to ~200gm (see weightweenies.com if you have any doubts about this !). They are not sold with Titanium Spindles (this is the long axle that runs thru the pedal and attaches to the crank) anymore. But some 3rd party people are selling these Ti Spindles for the MG-8 on EBAY for ~$40 (new). Switching out the steel spindle for titanium is very easy. I have ~17,000 miles on these pedals on each of TWO road bikes. I re-greased the spindle once. I used Locktite on the pedal base screws (they have a tendency to fall out if you don't). The cleats for these are very very durable (make sure you buy SPD shoes, which are hard to find for a road rider -- SPD is mostly for Mt. Bike riding these days). Replacement cleats are cheap (~$10). Most comparable pedals are going to run you hundreds of dollars for 200gm. Even with the EBAY Ti spindle, these are going to be ~$80 !!!! The newest model is WHITE and not the strange ugly green.....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 27, 2010]
steve-o
Road Racer

Strength:

inexpensive and light weight

Weakness:

why such ugly green color? although you can find silver color version on ebay.

Had these pedals on road and TT bike had not one problem with over 3,000 miles of riding. The sealed bearings seam fine to me.

Similar Products Used:

egg beaters and Shimano SPD (heavy but durable)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 28, 2009]
bukwee
Recreational Rider

Strength:

- Inexpensive
- Easy to maintain

Weakness:

- Not very attractive
- Not for the serious rider, expecting high performance and quick in/out access

There are great starter pedals if you don't have the big cash to lay out. However, be warned that they are not high performing and you get just a little more then you pay for. I put 2k miles on these and they hung in there for a little over a year. After a while they become very difficult to get in and out of even after lubing them. Good pedal to purchase if you're not sure road cycling is for you. If you get better, upgrade ASAP!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 01, 2008]
jetbundle
Road Racer

Strength:

Robust, well-built, light, cheap

Weakness:

take time to wear in, sick color

These are as light as it gets: Axle, bearings, clickie mechanism and a skinny magnesium body.
After a few rides of wearing them in (in the beginning some chrome finish gets rubbed of by the cleats and may get scratchy when disengaging), they function just like the way they're supposed to be. I opened them just now for fun during maintenance, and it turns out that they are pretty well sealed, maintainable and still run like on the first day (despite a winter of Canadian road salt). They come with just the right amount of grease inside and it seems like they run on needle cartidge bearings.

Similar Products Used:

other "no-name"

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 30, 2007]
Soupy Sal
Road Racer

Strength:

Light. Looks like a pedal.

Weakness:

Not a pedal by design. Maybe twin paperweights? But they're lightweight, so not even good at that...

I have the titanium spindle version. Good luck getting these cheap pieces of garbage to engage. I don't know what these were designed to do, but it sure as hell isn't interfacing shoes and cranks to engage in the act of pedaling a bicycle. After around a month of use, my shins are battered from unclicking at a light, clicking in, pedaling a few yards and WHAM- it unclicks and whips around, slamming into my shin. To make matters worse, the stupid thing doesn't want to disenage either... I give myself a hundred yards before a light, and it's always a wrestling match.

Similar Products Used:

My numerous pedals have ranged from hyper expensive to junky cheap... these are by far the worst.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 24, 2006]
otherself
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Very good value at $24.98 (about £13.00 GBP) for magnesium (though i would never pay the full retail $80.00), very light - only 120g p/pedal, they also look sought of industrial in a discreet fashion. No problems with exit/entry - sweet as a nut.

Weakness:

None so far but because they're quite small it takes a little more time & effort to plant a foot than say larger platform SPD-R Look-style pedals.

I bought these as they're SPD compatable; uses the same 98A cleats that are on my spd-only MTB shoes - so no extra investment in new shoes. I couldn't find an English stockist so had them shipped from the States for $11.00, they arrived within 8 days. The lightweight also shaves off some weight from an otherwise heavyish frame (4.4lb).

Similar Products Used:

Icon MTB

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 31, 2006]
fsgray
Road Racer

Strength:

Light, cheap, sleek, SPD compatible, durable.

Weakness:

Pontoons don't work, finish wears quickly. These are the only reason I docked a point.

These are great pedals. Super light, SPD compatible so I can use them with road, mountain or touring shoes, sleek looking and all metal so plastic cleats don't wear out. Only issues: the pontoons don't allow me to clip in - would be nice to protect the cleat when wearing road shoes; finish wears off quickly, but magnesium body doesn't rust so it's just aesthetic. I have them on all my road bikes and my girlfriend's as well.

Similar Products Used:

Look-style pedals, Shimano double-sided mountain pedals.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 30, 2005]
SaddleAss
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Weight, cheap

Weakness:

undurable, noisy

I have bad experience with these pedals. The mechanism started getting loose after 4 months. They are also quite noisy; I always had squeaks with ‘em. Not recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 11, 2005]
trinewbie
Triathlete

Strength:

Light weight

Weakness:

1 - Extremely poor bearings life (last 700km before slight play and on-going creaking sound from both pedals.

I always use Shimano pedals in the past, because of my poor experiences with Wellgo pedals in general. After reading the good reviews here, I decided to give Wellgo another go again. The pedals, in general, have a very good finish to it and has great solid clicks when engaged, better than some of the cheaper Shimano ones, but still no match against the legendary 535 or the 747 -- I have both of them as the other reviewer suggested. Unfortunately, it's as positive as I can make it for these pedals, cause after 700km, they start to creak really bad. My good Shimano ones don't creak even after 25,000km of riding. What's wrong with these? MEC was kind enough to lube it, but the play on the spindle got worse and worse. Finally, they decided to refund me and suggested me to get stronger race quality pedals, which I did. For occassional riding, these pedals are fine. To race on them, look elsewhere.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano 535 and 747 (heavier but good pedals) on my touring bike and the 434 on my MTB. I now have the 540 SPD-SL on my race bike.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 13  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.