Shimano Dura-Ace RD-7700 Rear Derailleur

Shimano Dura-Ace RD-7700 Rear Derailleur 

DESCRIPTION

  • Can Be Used With 8 or 9-speed Cassettes
  • Advanced Light Action Design
  • Teflon Coated Link Pin Bushings

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 12  
    [Jun 26, 2003]
    spinordie
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Crisp, responsive

    Weakness:

    none

    Worry free riding, the thing, once dialed-in, is crisp and fast.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra (slower response and not quite as crisp)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Mar 22, 2003]
    Dan Dalton
    Commuter

    Strength:

    smooth, fast, silent

    Weakness:

    light action can be tricky on friction setting (and who cares?) hardly cheap

    upgrading froma 105 rear mech is a big step, but I have been amazed how much difference. i've been able to drop two sprockets at the rear, going froma 13-23 to a 12-21 block. With a 9 sp ultegra block and chain the ride is absolutely silent, shicting light and accurate, witht the only proviso that tehre seems to be a slightly shorter shift between the 21 and 19, tending to slip over to the 18 tooth sprocket unless careful. notably I've had this mech for about twice as long as any other. The tension adjust bolts and pulleys have gone out of shape or sheared insode half the time on otehr mechs, and I'm riding about 150 miles a week, so longevity is pretty impressive. Even at the price (in the Uk perhaps more competitive than campy, but still not a snip) it's well worth everyu penny.

    Similar Products Used:

    105, athena

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Feb 14, 2003]
    mhester
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Super smooth shifts

    Weakness:

    none

    This is the best upgrade I've done. Find it on sale or used and BUY IT. THere's no comparison to 105. If you get a new bike w/105, immediately take the rear der off and sell it on eBay to help offset the cost. You should get about $20 for it, maybe more. Even if it's used, you can still get a minimum of $10. D/A rear der's can be found on sale for no more than $65.

    Similar Products Used:

    105

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Aug 25, 2002]
    Graeme
    Triathlete

    Strength:

    Does the job. Pose value.

    Weakness:

    Price but worth it if you want the best

    Never been convinced about the value of Dura Ace until I fitted the DA sti & rear mech to replace Ultegra. The internal cable routing of my KM40 can be 'demanding' on shifting but the DA copes fine and shifts are first rate.

    Similar Products Used:

    105/Ultegra

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Apr 22, 2002]
    NiktheV
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Smooth shifting, durability (I have at least 25,000 miles on mine), good looks, light weight.

    Weakness:

    Well, I guess I could quibble about the price. But it''''s an excellent value compared to Campy, and if you look, you can find it for not (really) much more than Ultegra.

    I''''m an ex-racer who does fast 50-100 mile road rides. So I appreciate quick, easy shifting and low maintainance as well as an attractive finish. The Dura-Ace 9-speed derailleur provides all of these qualities.

    Similar Products Used:

    Dura-Ace and Ultegra (600) 9-, 8, 7- 6 and 5-speeds. Campy Nuovo Record (from the old days.) Campy C-Record (They don''''t make ''''em like that any more, thank God!)

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [Feb 25, 2002]
    vewill1
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Light weight. Snob appeal. Bragging rights.

    Weakness:

    Price compared to equal quality Ultegra.

    I''m a recreational road racer that rides about 150 miles a week with a race on weekends. I upgraded my Ultegra rear der. and cassette to Dura Ace, mainly for snob appeal. Due to the steep climbs, a dual crank, and stiff winds in the Virgin Islands, I went to a 12-27 rear cog. The DA w/ 12-27 is ROUGH. It never misses a gear, but sounds/feels like it is coming apart when shifting under any load. Its worse on the big gears and is probably due to the spread. All in all, I like the Ultegra just as well as the DA. Weight diff. is almost nothing and the Ultegra is a lot cheaper and feels sturdier. I road a new bike last week with the Campy Record 10 speed group, with a mix of rear cogs to give a 11 - 26 range, and was amazed. The extra sprocket in the rear tightens the spread and really smooths out the shifts.I wish DA offered the same.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra, Campy Record

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    [Mar 31, 2000]
    Dan Boscacci
    Road Racer

    Strength:

    Lighter than Ultegra, Nice polished finish. Shifts better than Ultegra model or DA predecessors.

    Weakness:

    The plastic chain guide opposite the upper pulley, long term durability.

    For $68...not a bad deal. I personally believe that the older 7400 Dura Ace derailleurs were built much better for long term durability. You can tell when you put them side by side. However, because of the weight reduction and the modification of the tension spring, the 9spd model does shift slightly better than its predecessor. Overall, I would say go for it if you had to decide between the 7700 and the 6500.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra 6500 rd.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    [Apr 17, 2000]
    Doug
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Can be used with 8 speed group, Light, well made, looks great, better value than Campy Record (in my opinion), easy to maintain

    Weakness:

    none that I can think of!

    My D/A 8 speed rear finally pooped out, and this one fit the bill perfectly! The price is great, it's light, looks sleek and can be bought nearly anywhere. I like the ease of maintenance, and it has been very trouble free so far. I have ridden Campy Record, and for the price and shifting, D/A can't be beat! I would highly recommend this product to anyone.

    Similar Products Used:

    Dura-Ace 8 speed rear der.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [May 04, 2000]
    mike taylor
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    had the 8speed shortcage group for 2 years, love it (downtube shifters and all)

    Weakness:

    the new 9speed, just because they are trying to dupe you with marketing jazz, and the new products are rediculously plasticy looking. oh well, whenever people figure out that the pros use whatever they are given, and some of the stuff just scks!

    buy the 8speed ultegra at the bike ads. and laugh as you stomp the guy on his record 10speed hahahaha

    Similar Products Used:

    6,7,8speed

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    [May 24, 2000]
    SteveS
    Recreational Rider

    Strength:

    Function and beauty

    Weakness:

    None that I am aware of

    Really can't think of a complaint with this derailleur, but then there really wasn't any problem with the much older Dura Ace seven speed derailleur that it replaced. Shifting has been smooth and spot on from the beginning. I haven't checked the specs but my guess it is somewhat lighter than the Ultegra. Also, I think the MSRP of $400+ shown above is somewhat off the mark. A very nice derailleur.

    Similar Products Used:

    Dura Ace 7 speed, Sante 7 speed

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-10 of 12  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.