Shimano Sora RD-3300-SS/GS Rear Derailleur

Available At:
Sora RD-3300-SS/GS

  • 8 speed

  • User Reviews (8)

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    gtstiles   Recreational Rider [Oct 19, 2010]
    Strength:

    works. cheap.

    Weakness:

    flimsy. not forgiving.

    I bought a fuji newest 3.0. I like the bike, but has left me wanting. Been a good bike and it is comfortable to ride. However, the Sora rear derailleur is only good for basic riding. Not a forgiving derailleur. Needs to be kept in tune and is kind of flimsy. I ride 120+ miles per week and I HAVE to clean the derailleur weekly otherwise you can definitely tell a difference in how it works.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Available At:
    Andrew242   Recreational Rider [Jul 01, 2009]
    Strength:

    Cheap, works!

    Weakness:

    Maybe heavy

    Well, no complaints at all. It does its job fine for me. Used it for 5years, and still works great (well, i had to replace the wire which was of bad quality. Never had any problems with the gears after that!.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    gord888   Recreational Rider [Oct 22, 2003]
    Strength:

    Clean precise shifting. From what i gather, its stupid cheap. It's shiney...

    Weakness:

    It is as light as a brick (if you are weight concerned). The sticker is cheap and peels off (it looks better all shiny anyways).

    The derailleur works really well if you tune it properly (they are a less forgiving than upper models). I find it shifted cleanly and precisely after i replaced the stock Shimano chain. No complaints except for the enormous weight, i've used stuff from the 80's that were lighter, mind you they didn't shift nearly as nice.

    Similar Products Used: Older Sun stuff, Shimano Deore LX, test road a bike with Campy Mirage.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Available At:
    supaborg   Commuter [Dec 14, 2001]
    Strength:

    cheap

    Weakness:

    too much flex, heavy, not very precise

    I bought a GT that came with Sora components. I also have a mountain bike which has a mixture of XT/XTR and I was used to smooth shifting without the constant need for readjustemnt. The Sora rear derailleur is crap. Flexes too much when you are standing (touched the spokes) and I don''t want to deal with the constant readjustment. Upgraded to Ultegra.

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Jj   Recreational Rider [Jul 18, 2001]
    Strength:

    Nice and quite when its working (which isnt very often)

    Weakness:

    The derailler is crap! Its brocken three times at the tab now which causes a whole lot of damage... bent Derailler, bent wheel, brocken chain and scratched frame.

    When its not brocken it doesnt work, constantly needing alignment adjustments and ghost shifting when you put the power down.

    Dont buy this derailler unless you are a toothpick-legged non-hill rider.

    Beware of The Cycle Shoppe in Toronto they dont care, charge like a wounded bull and do a crap half arsed job of everything. They wont spent the time with you to set up you bike so your left guessing.

    Similar Products Used: 105, LX, XT, XTR
    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Available At:
    Jeff   Recreational Rider [Feb 18, 2001]
    Strength:

    cheap, works

    Weakness:

    cheap

    Have been thinking about upgrading to shimano 105, but am not sure I would notice any difference. It's like when I upgraded from shimano stx to deore on my mountain bike, the only difference I noticed was slightly faster shifts. If anyone has upgraded from sora to 105's please email me with your opinion.

    Similar Products Used: None
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Jack   Recreational Rider [Jun 08, 2001]
    Strength:

    It,s cheap price,and really good performance,as long as it is kept clean and lubed.This deraillur is very adequate for recreational/daily fitness riding.

    Weakness:

    cheap sticker(peels off easily) and plastic lower body pivot gives a cheap appearance. It,s hefty weight.

    The Shimano Sora rear deraillur is inexpensive and works well,however, you do have to keep it clean and lubed properly,it,s weight is hefty and the plastic lower body pivot housing leaves me wondering just how long this unit will last,when it dies I will be upgrading to 105,but for now it works great, if you are a fitness rider the Sora is more than adequate,if you plan to race,then upgrade to Ultegra.

    Similar Products Used: Suntour,Shimano Acera,Lx,Stx,XT. Old Simplex and Huret deraillurs,(prestige,Alvit).
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Chris   Recreational Rider [Jul 05, 2001]
    Strength:

    yo yo yo check it out... this came stock on my trek and has worked flawlessly under light loads. i took a 450 mile trip across eastern oklahoma which has a whole lot of hills... it worked great. i can't complain

    Weakness:

    if you are puting some pressure on it it likes to say no and wont go...

    This is great but i plan on upgrading to the ultegra. i would like to get into racing so i need to get beter componets but first i need some money. if you are an entry level rider this will work great! but be prepared to upgrade in 6 months or so.

    Similar Products Used: first road bike
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-8 of 8