Easton EC90 SL Forks

EC90 SL

Engineered for a slightly stiffer ride with added layers of Easton CNT composite carbon material

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Dee   Recreational Rider [Sep 18, 2017]
Strength:

Light, responsive and stiff

Weakness:

fork breaks at dropout if transported on fork mount carrier.

While I enjoyed riding this fork I have lost two of them to snapping in half at the dropout while in a fork mount carrier. The first time the fork was brand new and Easton covered it through the warranty but took 4 months to do so. The second time after 8 years my local bike shop owner said I was okay to use the fork mount rather than the upright carriers. He was wrong. Fork snapped off a week ago enroute to a ride. Pretty sure I"ll first be getting a different brand and second using a tray rack for anything carbon. Just glad I wasn't riding it when it snapped.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Andrew Pickering   Recreational Rider [Dec 06, 2015]
Strength:

Taught, sharp handling, but comfortable. Feed back puts you in contact with the road and soaks up most of the vibration.
A fantastic upgrade second only to a top end set of wheels in my view

Weakness:

None That I can see

I specced these on a van Nicholas Zephyr build and they are sublime. Coupled to a decent set of wheels and a campag group set I don't see how performance could be better but then I'm no racer. Plenty of feedback with a real feel for the road, they feel sharp but also comfortable on a 100 mile day ride. If you like performance but not the discomfort that the outright race upgrades often supply these are great. These forks encourage you to push on and give a great feel to the bike. A decent fork definitely makes a huge difference to the performance of a bike, more so than the groupset, but they need to be connected via a similarly good set of bars and stem.

Similar Products Used: Cannondale and boarrdman bikes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Ayler   Recreational Rider [Dec 22, 2011]
Strength:

Smooth high performance fork, no weight limits, great lines/shape, fantastic Easton warranty.

Weakness:

Weight of 378 grams (differs from claim on Easton website of 349 grams). I am no Weight Weenie; performance and safety are of greater concerns.

Purchased this fork for my Cannondale Capo aluminum single-speed winter bike. This fork replaced the stock Slice fork to smooth the ride. Today, this fork is mounted on my Lynskey Fixie frame. I will no longer ride aluminum ... however, this fork compliments the Lynskey titanium frame without issues.

This fork has been ridden for thousands of miles. Never had any issue with performance or flex. Being a larger rider (260lbs., 5'9" with a muscular build), I have found it Clydesdale approved. No weight limits ... just pure performance.

I have purchased a second Easton EC90 SL fork to go on my Litespeed Archon Ti. This fork is THAT good.

One issue. Accordingly to Easton, this fork weighs 349 grams. Yeah right. Not close. It tips the scales at 378 grams without any hardware (ITT archor nut and screw). I suppose their figures may be after most people cut the fork to the desired length.

Others have mentioned that the overall finish is second rate. I have not found that to be true. This is a high performance fork that has an excellent 5 year warranty. The Easton EC90 SL fork is worthy to be on a $4000 titanium frame and any road bike that is made. It comes highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Enve 2.0 fork
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
zouch   Road Racer [Feb 19, 2010]
Strength:

light weight (if that matters to you; most of us have more weight to lose on the rider than we'd save with this fork!).

amazingly smooth but stable ride compared to other forks i had on this same frame.

Weakness:

poor quality control; fork ends were not parallel and unequal length; needed to be reworked by the builder.

fugly (if you care about such things); while the shape of the straght-bladed model is complimentary to the look of most high-end frames these days, if you aren't going to be painting it, this is one of the most repulsive sticker jobs in the industry. sadly, while the carbon technology is neat, the look of it itself isn't especially attractive.

i'm not a small guy at over 6'2" and 200+ lbs, and was a little hesitant to try a fork this light. i was convinced at the urging of my frame builder to try it when i found out that my builder is using it (allegedly with Eastons blessing) on his tandem! (i'm using the straight-blade version.)

while the fastening mechanism was less than ideal (i used a heavier FSA piece instead at the suggestion of a trusted mechanic and have had no problem with it), the ride compared to other forks i used on this same frame is remarkable in the way it smooths out road irregularities with no hint of the instability or dive that i felt with other forks on this same frame.

would happily give it a full 5 stars if mine had not been slightly imperfect.

Similar Products Used: Reynolds Ouzo Pro, & steel.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bnystrom   Recreational Rider [Jul 27, 2008]
Strength:

Stiff, light

Weakness:

Transmits lots of road vibration, some steerer flex, no compressor plug or spacer as required by the instructions.

This review is for the 1" steerer version of this fork. I'm 6', 175# and ride a 59cm frame. Bear in mind that frame size, steerer diameter and rider weight will affect the feel of a fork significantly.

The original Look HSC that came with the frame is known for being very light but rather flexible. Mine always creaked as it flexed when climbing out of the saddle. After 10 years of use, I figured it was probably prudent to replace it. I was hoping for a fork that would provide a similarly smooth feel without the excessive flex, the elusive "stiff, yet compliant" holy grail of carbon fiber.

I should have known better.As the saying goes, "there's no such thing as a free lunch".


The Easton fork is well made and lighter than advertised (335 vs. 350 grams) as it comes out of the box. It came with the "beartrap" headset adjuster and press-in top cap, but no compressor plug, despite the fact that it's required according to the installation instructions. Easton also recommends a 10mm spacer on top of the stem, which is not included either.

Squeezing the fork's blades revealed a significant increase in stiffness compared to the HSC. My initial impression after installing it was that when putting pressure on the bars, it was at least as flexible in the steerer as the Look fork, if not more so. On the road, there was no apparent difference in that regard. The EC90SL is noticeably stiffer than the HSC when braking. Where the Look fork flexes visibly under braking, the Easton doesn't budge. This improves front brake feel and modulation considerably. There is also less lateral flex when out of the saddle and rocking the bike. It carves turns nicely and feels very solid overall. Plus, the annoying creak is gone!

The downside to this increased stiffness is a major increase in road buzz at the handlebars. Where the Look fork seemed to flow over rough pavement, the Easton fork bounces over it and seems to fight every ripple. Instead of absorbing pavement irregularities, it seems to be trying to flatten them. Although I can't say for sure, it actually feels slower on "chip & seal" surfaces as it buzzes over the gravel.

I'm going to put more miles on this fork before deciding whether the trade-offs are worth it. I definitely do like the handling and braking improvements, so if I can get used to the buzz, I'll stick with it. Otherwise, I'll move it to another more flexible frame that currently has a rather heavy and stiff Kestrel EMS fork with a threaded steel steerer.

Similar Products Used: Look HSC, Kestrel EMS, Profile generic carbon forks
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
twinkles   Recreational Rider [Jul 11, 2008]
Strength:

Light + comfy which makes it fast and confidence inspiring for me. My 1" model weighed in at 330 grams.

Weakness:

bear trap which I didn't use.

I bought this to replace my old time equipe carbon fiber fork. I let it set in the box for a couple months because I was ascared, yes ascared, it was going to be stiffer than my old fork. I'm glad to say I was wrong. It isn't as stiff as my old fork, which is a good thing. It still corners nicely and sucks up bumps and buzz from the road. I really like the way it sticks to the road while cornering on rough stuff as opposed to some forks skipping across the road in the same situation. I have no idea how anybody can find this buzzy or twitchy, unless it's the wrong rake.

Similar Products Used: reynolds ozuo, giant cf, old time cf, bonty cf, Kestral ems + lots of steel and aluminium. But only a kestral and time on this frame.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NickA   Road Racer [May 23, 2008]
Strength:

Light, good damping, firm handling, high speed stability.

Weakness:

It's the best for me and makes me want to go out and buy a BMC Pro Machine, Time Machine.

Bought this to replace a flexy fork. Now this fork follows me when I change bikes. I like the rake which makes it stable at high speed. Feels stiff and stable. It has a feel like the steel forks that I used to use, but absorbs the road vibrations while being very light at the same time. High speed descents and hard cornering handled well. Even out of the saddle sprints feel good. Using the straight-leg model.

Similar Products Used: stock carbon forks.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AlvarezMike   Road Racer [Aug 22, 2007]
Strength:

Very comfortable, responsive, and extremely light. And with the notch in the steer tube (RAD) you can tighten your stem down without fear of damage. Paid around $140 for it new.

Weakness:

I mean is the Star fangled nut that bad? At least ship it out with a compression nut so we can pre-load our headsets, tighten the stem and forget about it! The bear trap is like a left pedal thats not reverse threaded....its bound to come loose and ruin something (mainly your day).

This is a GREAT fork, super light, around 290 grams with the 1". Excellent vibration dampening. However, I have to give Easton an F for shipping the fork with that retched "bear trap" kind of tightening system. By lowering the bearing adjustment system below where the stem tightens makes it so bumps and vibration loosen the headset! I felt that I was ruining my Chris King every bump. I had to stop every couple miles to tighten it up (then just started doing it while I was riding). Would have given it a 4 or 5 had it shipped with a working preload device. Now I have to purchase another gizmo for my bike, lets hope it matches the sexy look of the fork.

Similar Products Used: Carbon Time Club 1" threadless
Various 1" raked steel forks threaded
Trek aluminum 1 1/8 threadless
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael   Road Racer [Aug 22, 2007]
Strength:

Very comfortable, responsive, and extremely light. And with the notch in the steer tube (RAD) you can tighten your stem down without fear of damage.

Weakness:

I mean is the Star fangled nut that bad? At least ship it out with a compression nut so we can pre-load our headsets, tighten the stem and forget about it! The bear trap is like a left pedal thats not reverse threaded....its bound to come loose and ruin something (mainly your day).

This is a GREAT fork, super light, around 290 grams with the 1". Excellent vibration dampening. However, I have to give Easton an F for shipping the fork with that retched "bear trap" kind of tightening system. By lowering the bearing adjustment system below where the stem tightens makes it so bumps and vibration loosen the headset! I felt that I was ruining my Chris King every bump. I had to stop every couple miles to tighten it up (then just started doing it while I was riding). Would have given it a 4 or 5 had it shipped with a working preload device. Now I have to purchase another gizmo for my bike, lets hope it matches the sexy look of the fork.

Similar Products Used: Carbon Time Club 1" threadless
Various 1" raked steel forks threaded
Trek aluminum 1 1/8 threadless
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Ken   Recreational Rider [Aug 14, 2007]
Strength:

Looks. Light. Really responsive.

Weakness:

None that I know of.

This fork replaced my Colnago Star fork. I originally odered a replacement Star fork at $750 per. When I received the Colnago fork I was surprised to see it wasn't in the color I needed. The shop that sent me the Colnago fork said that Colnago is no longer making forks with a 1" steerer and this is the only color available. Well, jimminy cricket, if I were going to buy a fork that after insured expedited shipping and import tax comes in at $900 it better be damn near perfect and in the color scheme I want. Needless to say I returned the Colnago fork, no harm no foul. After surfin' around I settled on this fork. And am I glad I did. It is, engineeringly speaking, every bit as good as the Colnago, may even be better because the dropouts are made of cf too so one doesn't need to fret about debonding but it's also about 80g lighter. Did I say it's also 2x's cheaper too.

Similar Products Used: Colnago Star Fork.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.