Basso Diamante Frames

Basso Diamante Frames 

DESCRIPTION

  • Carbon monocoque main triangle
  • Integral headset
  • Carbon microtech seat stay
  • Carbon chain stay

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Nov 15, 2012]
Alex M
Road Racer

Strength:

The defining characteristic of the Basso Diamante is it's handling. Tapered steerer and MASSIVE tubing make this, hands down, the best handling bike out there. Incredible stiffness. This bike responds to power with an immediacy I've never before experienced.

Weakness:

Weighs a little more than claimed for the 58, but you'll forget about it the instant you first turn a pedal in anger.

In my opinion, a great bike is one that you don't notice. The 2012 Basso Diamante is one of the few bikes in the world that rides just as well as you imagine it does. It simply disappears beneath you. It's a loyal companion on long rides, and a cunning wing-man in the sprints, urging you through gaps. It gives you the confidence to ride that razor-thin inside line in crits; the one no one else dared take. Ultimately, I can't imagine going back to anything else.

Similar Products Used:

Cervelo S2, Cervelo R3, Felt F1, Ridley Damocles, Dogma2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2012]
Bib bob

Strength:

Superb handling

Weakness:

None really

New 2011 model. Pure race bike with great geometry. The top tube is slightly shorter and the head tube slightly longer that the average race frame. This sort of geometry usually means that it's a soft sportive bike but this bike is super stiff and responsive. No weaknesses but perhaps the greatest strength is the handling. Any decent carbon frame will climb and cruise well but not many descend like this. It's up there with Pinarello Dogmas and Colnago C59's.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 24, 2009]
John Styduhar
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light, fast handling in corners, good looks.

Weakness:

My pocketbook. This frame deserved the best that money can buy.

Love the bike.

Similar Products Used:

lightspeed, cervelo, specialized

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2007]
Mike C
Recreational Rider

Strength:

No flex.
Rides like the wind.
Cool radical triangler forks and stays.

Weakness:

None so far at 1800 miles.

Bought 2003 model frame on Ebay for $860 and built it up with all top of the line components for a weight of 16.2 lbs and cost of $3200. This bike handles my heavy 230 lbs and begs for more. The oversized tubes and triangler forks and stays make it incredibly strong.

I only sense minimul flex on descentes when spinning out. This frame does not even think of flexing on any climb out of the saddle. I am amased at this considering my weight. Feels very smooth on the flats, even on slightly rough roads. I feel very lucky to have found one for under $1000 as they are not plentiful. I would especially recommend to those heavier riders.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5500
Aegis Aro Svelte

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2005]
summerville
Road Racer

Strength:

Responsiveness, dampening, looks nice.

Weakness:

Headset.

Responsive, well-crafted machine. I've put 6,000 k on this frame this year. Compared to other bikes (I haven't ridden a lot though), this is very quick to leap into action when you jump on the pedals. The bike is light, but not as light as some people claim. I have the 60 cm though, and the fram weighs 1,391 grams and the fork 531. My main complaint about this bike is the Microtech internal headset, which is difficult to figure out and comes with basically no help documentation. I built it all up myself and love the ride. I'll spend at least another year riding it.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized S-Works with Dura Ace

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 14, 2004]
Joseph W
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Direct power transfer with a stiff frame. Excellent road dampening with good road feel.Incredible light weight and good looks.

Weakness:

Still feel the big bumps,unlike the steel. Have to hold on in the cross wind s, although that could be due more to the Kysirium wheels

Purchased the Diamante by Basso and equiped it withh all carbon components keeping the total weight for this 62 cm frame below 15 .5 lbs. The more upright position allows me to climb effectively while sitting down. The bike is a magnificent climber with enough stiffness to transfer all the power to the wheels. With all the carbon there is no road vibration to speak of. I have been riding a steel Tomassini Tecno with Record carbon for the past several years with a triple ring, but this Basso allows to climb and ride more effectively with only a double.Good internet shopping allowed me to build this $ 6500 bike for $4500.!

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi steel with Record 9 speed Tomassini Tecno with record 10 speed

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 21, 2004]
nenad
Recreational Rider

Strength:

Light. Stiff. Responsive. Comfortable. Beautiful finish.

Weakness:

None.

It's an awesome frame. If only more people new. Very light, very little flex, very comfortable, very everything. By the way I am describing a newer version of the frame than the one that can bee seen in the picture.

Similar Products Used:

Basso Zer0.9, Tosetto.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2004]
Live2Ride
Recreational Rider

Strength:

No flex at the bottom bracket. Beautifully sculpted frame. Smooth ride.

Weakness:

Only one color available: Black.

I just purchase the Diamante after looking at for nearly a year on the IBD's store. The bike is very reponsive, with minimal (if any) bottom bracket flex. It is extremely light (16 lbs) in-spite a heavy seat and clunky look 357's. The bike is as smooth as my custom Reynolds 853 which soaks up road vibration really well. The chain stays are super trick. All the tubes are shaped and the bike looks fast standing still.

Similar Products Used:

QR Custom Steel 853 Frame with D/A 9 Spd and Mavic Cosmic Carbone (or Heliums depending on the day). QR Private Reserve Ultegra 9 Spd

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.