Colnago Dream Plus Frames

Available At:
Dream Plus

Carbon fiber rear triangle, now improved with the B-Stay, is super light and efficient in power transmission. The innovative B-Stay maximizes rear triangle response arid decreases overall weight. The front triangle uses Biconic Oversized top and down

User Reviews (36)

Showing 1-10 of 36  
DoubleMac   Road Racer [Mar 07, 2011]
Strength:

- Handling
- Stiffness
- Looks (each one is different)
- Crit weapon
- Reliable, not an issue despite more than 50K km on it racing it 20+ times per year.
- Light for an alloy frame at 1180g

Weakness:

- Bone jarringly stiff on anything more than 120psi
- at 1180g for a 56 c-c its not that light be todays standards.

Bought this bike in 2003 and built it up with Centaur, then in 2004 built up with Record 10 with carbon cranks (8.1kg). Has remained as a 2nd bike since the purchase of my Extreme - C in 2007. Much stiffer than the Extreme C however far less comfortable and only about 1/5 kg heavier. Despite being made up from all the spare parts in my garage, this bike is a scalpel in crits and on descents and my biggest issue is running up the back of / up the inside of other "slower" riders on all sorts of corners. For smooth crits, this would be my weapon of choice and is the bike that I have recorded my fastest average race speeds ~47km/h in crits. Recently broke Extreme C and loving being back on the Dream, apart from really long climbs and heavily broken roads. Its now been converted to a retro bike and is running mostly alloy parts with silver fulcrum wheels. Colour is Red. I will never sell this bike. Been great to race it again until the C59 arrives. People cant believe its so old.

Similar Products Used: Gianni Motta Personal - Super Record
Reynolds 653 Super Record track bike.
Peugeot
GF Superfly Mountain Bike
Colnago Extreme - C
Colnago C40 - borrowed for 4 months.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Colnagonut   Recreational Rider [Aug 18, 2009]
Strength:

Unbelievably stable ripping at full throttle downhill. Extremely quite and supple over road imperfections. Seems like it has little shock absorbers somewhere while still be extremely stiff for rocketing up arduous mountain climbs. Colnago does such a great job on paint. Mine is primarily white with red and white airbrushed swooshes. Far, far more toned down than that of my oler Colango. Matter of fact this is one of the reasons for stepping up to the new frame. My old frame while a beautiful paint job, just seemed a too busy. The new frame is minimal, yet sports some of the fantastic artistry that Colnago is so reputed for.

Carbon "Force" fork is beefier and appears to have a little more foward rake, thus contributing to the stability of the new B Stay.

Weakness:

Too soon to tell, but I can't see any at this time. Owned three Colnago's and all have different characters about them. I wouldn't ride anything other than a Colnago.

I've wanted a Colnago B Stay ever since they unveiled them. I've been riding a 58cm HP Dream Lux and been happy with it, but always felt the bike was a little on the twitchy side and definately a criterium geometery. Going downhill at speed has always felt a little tenuous. Enter the Colnago B Stay. If I were to summarize this bike in a word, it would probably be "incredible". The carbon fiber rear triangle makes the all aluminum "Dream" be put in a different class. I couldn't believe the difference in ride quality. It is totally night and day! The rear triangle has a litte more relaxed geometery on the chainstays, so this is factoring in the difference, as well as the Force Carbon fork on the B Stay Dream, versus the "Flash" Carbon fork on my old Dream. The new B Stay seems to acclerate faster, and going downhill I could probably peel a banana at 60 mph. Downhill at speed is so stable, it felt like I had four wheels! And at speed the B Stay is silky, silky smooth like a Lamborghini cruising at 160mph.

The frame is whispher quite and soaks up the road bumps very well. So different from my old all aluminum frame I have to pinch myself.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christoph   Road Racer [Jul 29, 2009]
Strength:

The bike sprints and climbs incredibly well. The Geometry is different than any other bike I've ridden and once you get dialed in, it's extremely comfortable and you feel ready for anything that comes whether it be an attack, a climb, etc...

Weakness:

I am 5'10, 150lbs with a long torso. I have everything dialed in but feel I need a slightly shorter stem than the 110mm stock stem on the bike. A 90mm stem seems that it would treat my shoulders as I feel like I'm reaching out a bit far right now.

I purchased the Colnago Dream B Stay only a short time ago but have put on 2400 miles. I bought a 55cm frame which fits nearly perfect for my build (see below). I rode many different frames/bikes prior to my purchase. Full carbon, multi material, full alloy, etc. The Dream B Stay rides better than a far more expensive Trek or Specialized...

Similar Products Used: Trek, Specialized, Fuji Bikes I tried out just don't compare (and the Colnago was half the price...)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
kgt2003   Recreational Rider [Dec 20, 2006]
Strength:

special tubeset, fast, stiff, inspiring

Weakness:

could be 100 - 150 gr lighter

colnago c50 might be better

A classic italian road bike. Classic but innovative. Take a look at the tubeset. It is a masterpiece by itself. A custom section, something really special you won' t find in another bike. Not this generic assemblage of five round tubes made in china but a product of tradition, research and passion for detail. Stiff frame but not harsh. Traditional geometry adds to the great looks and to the comfort. Straight fork makes direction and cornering extremely precise. Pro cyclists still use it as a training bike or racing bike. A future classic!

Similar Products Used: bianchi sl3, wilier evasion
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tcolucci   Road Racer [Feb 09, 2005]
Strength:

Light and strong - climbs and sprints with equal ease. Best looking bike in any group ride. Euro geometry is comfortable even on 5-6hr rides.

Weakness:

Total paranoia about road debris, lifetime addiction to Colnagos (more expensive than a coke habit)

This bike is best described by it's name. It is a Dream to ride! The geometry is relaxed and very comfortable, but the bike practically moves with you - it is extremely responsive, corners like a Formula 1, sprints like Cipo (the bike - not me) and climbs like Heras on a good day (see previous comment). I have been racing for years and ridden some of the best frames, but the Colnago is a cut above. Looks - awesome. I have the Reflex Blue, and it is one of the most eye-catching frames I've ever seen. The radical style of the top and down tubes enhance the appearance and the stays and BB are beefy and super stiff - no deflection under the hardest loads. This bike just makes you feel faster. 17lbs total for a 61cm.

Similar Products Used: Trek 5500, Pinarello Prince, Litespeed Classic, Paramount Waterford Road.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
courage1   Road Racer [Oct 05, 2004]
Strength:

Responsive Light Businesslike Stable Fast

Weakness:

Retail Cost is high. I bought mine from a team mate.

I had a chance to purchase an Orbea Orca at cost (team deal) but the Colnago mystique got ahold of me and I had to have one. The Dream Lux (Plus) is stiff, light (2.6 lbs) frame and feels planted on the road, probably due to the 71.5 head tube angle. I built her up with 7700 Dura Ace and Bontrager Race X Lights. Sans pedals she weighs in at around 17 lbs. The Dream plus is a great climbing and sprinting bike due to stiff shaped tubes and a big bottom bracket. The ride is smooth for a high performance bike, perhaps due to the Michelin Pro Race tires I installed which inflate to only 116 PSI. To me, the bike is confidence inspiring at speed, even in close quarters. Beautifully finished, the Dream is a rolling work of art. The welds are bella! It is obvious that a lot of care and love was put into this frame. Check out the little racer painted on the top tube. Oh, by the way, there are no stickers to be found anywhere on the frame. Do you regularly pin a race number on the back of your jersey? If so, you'll love this bike. Century riders should look elsewhere. The Dream Plus gets a three for value and a five overall because the there is simply nothing else out there that inspires bike lust like a Colnago. If you truly love bikes you should own one.

Similar Products Used: Lemond BA Bianchi Steel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
i_am_bojangles   Road Racer [May 20, 2004]
Strength:

Once you go Colnago you don't go back

Weakness:

Paint doesn't last forever, buy hey, no one will see any paint chips as you fly buy them, just a colourful blur!

Here's the bottom line! This bike is like none other! Why? Because it's a Colnago. It doesn't really matter which Colnago you get...a Colnago's a Colnago. I had been racing Treks and Cannondales for years until I took my friends Colnago Dream out for a ride! There is nothing like it. Yes, the paint job chips a bit, but you can't complain when the paint job beats any other around. The main thing is that EVERY ounce of power you put into the bike bursts out into optimized speed! Sprinting and climbs are a sinch with the Dream Plus. Some may find the frame a little stiff but that's the cost of a 2.67lb frame that flys. I drove all the way from Toronto to Montreal just to test and buy my bike. It was worth the drive, and every penny I paid!

Similar Products Used: Cannondale R2000, and R3000 Trek 5200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Suzy Jackson   Road Racer [Aug 15, 2003]
Strength:

Wonderfully light, plenty stiff and strong, inspiring to ride. It's survived two very nasty prangs, one of which landed me in hospital, with only minor scratches.

Weakness:

The paint has bubbled very badly, starting under the top tube brake cable bosses, and now extending most of the way around the top tube. I am told this is due to poor passivating of the frame before painting, so that an oxide layer builds up with time. A respray is >A$1000, and necessitates returning the frame to Italy and waiting several months.

I previously reviewed this frame when I first bought it. After riding it a couple of tens of thousands of kilometres, and throwing it down the road twice, I'm in a better position to rate its durability. Bottom line is the frame itself is wonderful, but the paint, whilst being very pretty, is poorly applied.

Similar Products Used: Cannondale
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
seanser   Road Racer [Jun 18, 2003]
Strength:

Stiff, responsive, fits well, good looks.

Weakness:

Too stiff on some surfaces, build quality, expense for aforementioned poor build quality.

Going from a Colnago Master Olympic to the dream was quite a revalation. Its stiff, very fast, and very unforgiving, particularly when racing on the poorly surfaced roads we tend to use here for road races. I actually went back to the steel frame for some of these. Notwithstanding being thrown about a little on rough roads, this is a very fast, responsive bicycle which responds to every last ounce of power you put through the pedals and goes just where you point it. Not only this, but the frame looks stunning and draws a lot of comment. I was, however, disappointed at the finish on what was an expensive frame. There is excess paint around the head tube, and my frame developed a crack behind the upper headset race last season, necessitating a trip back to the factory which left me without the frame for 4 months. Overall, despite being a sexy stiff frame I wouldnt be purchasing Colnago again for this reason. It simply is too expensive for the quality of fit and finish on the frame.

Similar Products Used: Woodrup 531 50 cm, Raleigh 531 luxe 52 cm, Giant Cadex CFR1, Colnago Master Olympic 52 cm(which I still own) and Colnago Dream plus.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Southernsun   Road Racer [Jun 07, 2003]
Strength:

beautiful paint pattern and finish. great frame quality, awesome for mountains and hills. also gives me confidence for down hills.

great frame, no complaints. had it for 1 year and wouldn't have bought any other frame. VERY HAPPY! :-)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.