Colnago Tecnos 2000 Frames

Tecnos 2000

  • Steel frame for riders who weigh under 160 lbs. The seat and chainstays are done in chrome along with the head tube lugs. Ernesto Colnago re-designed the rear drop outs using the Master X-Light design.
  • Sizes: continuous range from 49 to 65 cm.
  • Models: AD4-A, AD10-A, AD11-A, AD13-A, AD14-A.

  • User Reviews (9)

    Showing 1-9 of 9  
    Christophe Frommelt   [Sep 14, 2014]
    Strength:

    Ride quality, comfort, piece of art

    Weakness:

    none

    Bought this bike 3 years ago (60cm frame). I'm heavier than 80kg but this has never been a problem. Its the most beautiful and enjoyable road bike I've ever had. Very comfortable, efficient for a steel frame and corners like on rails. Besides its a pleasure to cycle (and own) a piece of art. The bike is yellow, parts are all Shimano ultegra and classic wheels. One more positive aspect is that its timeless and the kind of bike which doesn't loose much of its value.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Pedro   Road Racer [Dec 16, 2013]
    Strength:

    Paint scheme,Looks like a work of art. Sprints like crazy, good climbing and cornering.Very responsive and comfortable. Superb ride quality.

    Weakness:

    The paintjob chips easilly, so you have to be extra careful.

    By far the best road bike i have ever riden, not the lightest though, if you compare it to a carbon bike. The ride level of this bike is so high, then it became so hard to come up with a reason to buy a new one.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    duriangd96   Recreational Rider [Mar 09, 2012]
    Strength:

    Paint scheme. Got the art decor. It does get compliments all the time, so be prepare for it.

    Weakness:

    Paint chips easilly so you have to be really careful

    The ride speaks for itself. I know its pretty and evrything. My rig weights in at 18.8 Lbs size 51 built with Campy 10 spd mix of record and chorus. Not light by today's standards but once you get this rig going, it screams like a deamon. Stiff at the front end which makes it responsive but still enough to smoothen road bumps.

    Similar Products Used: Tommassini Tecno, Bianchi Boron, Bianchi Campione, Gios compact pro
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    tom dodd   Recreational Rider [Mar 20, 2003]
    Strength:

    Looks like a work of art smooth ride lugs with Colnago engravings

    Weakness:

    chrome on seatstays has a little rust after 5 years

    I"ve had this frame for 5 years. In '2000, I upgraded the fork to the Colnago Flash and added an ITM Colnago stem. The Mapei color scheme is such a knockout that whenever I have work done at the bike shop, any customers present immediately come over and drool. The bike has a Record 8 speed and is about 19 pounds. It is only 4 oz. heavier than my Litespeed Ultimate and has a great ride quality.

    Similar Products Used: Colnago bi-Titan, Tomassini,Ultimate
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Mckerrbo   Road Racer [Feb 11, 2002]
    Strength:

    Springy lively feel. Tracks like it''s on rails through sketchy corners Sprints like a demon Paintjob is awsome

    Weakness:

    This bike rides so great it makes it hard to come up with a reason to buy a new one.

    I have had my Tecnos for almost 7 years and I can tell you without a doubt this is one of the most reliable frames I have seen. This bike even after this long feels like a coiled spring in a sprint and puts power to the pavement at a moments notice. 20lbs w/Ultegra and Zipp 440''s

    Similar Products Used: Bianchi Specialized Carbon Fibre Cannondale R600
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    David Wilson   Road Racer [Sep 15, 2000]
    Strength:

    The ride quality. It is superb. Smooth on even the roughest of roads, and I'm used to being thrown about only weighing 60kg. The handling in fantastic, predictable on corners and under braking.

    Weakness:

    A little bit weighty, although you must remember it is a steel frame. Also, I'm not sure how durable the paint job is. In the UK, alot of new roads use 'road-chippings'that ping off the frame until cards have squashed them in to the road-tar. Needless to say, it was these little stones that had chipped my frame on the downtube after going down a new road. Oh yeah, almost forgot, £500 (@ $800) was a 1999 end-of-line discount. Full price is somewhat too high.

    Beautiful to ride, beautiful to look at. Envious looks at the club runs are worth the cost alone. The clover-leaf down tube shape is lovely, the chromed lugs finish off a masterpiece. If you can forget the weight penalty over alu, carbon or titanium frames, I personally trust you will be happy. Watch the paintwork though, especially on newly stone-chipped roads. However, one final thing, get it at a discounted price! Therefore I am reluctant to give more than 3 stars for value based on full RRP.

    Similar Products Used: Reynolds 531 tubed frame. 20yr old Colnago SL, bought secondhand.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Scott   Road Racer [Sep 17, 2000]
    Strength:

    Most beautiful bike I have ever seen, fairly light, THE RIDE!

    Weakness:

    cost? but you get what you pay for!

    THE BEST FRAME I HAVE RIDDEN, AND THE MOST BEAUTIFUL I HAVE EVER SEEN! I built it as a training bike: it is 19 pounds flat with stock Dura Ace and Classics Pro wheels, and a full carbon fork. 18.4 when I mounted my Heliums. Not the lightest, but 19 pounds is by no means heavy, especially with the ride quality you get. The ride is quick, but not too quick: sprints fast, and feels light. I bought mine (99 model) for $725 from a guy who had bought a frame but never rode it. The Rabobank paint is spectacular. This is my dream frame: I have a LOOK KG 281 for racing (lighter, about 16.7 pounds) but this bike is a joy to ride: much more fun for everyday use. It feels like a Ferarri. Do yourself a favor and buy one, if you get the chance. Save that carbon or aluminum rig for your races, and go have fun on this frame (or a master X-light, if you are heavier). The steel fork gives an incredible ride, but is a touch heavy. Mine was threaded, so I am waiting for a threadless version to come along: if you have one you would like to sell, email me!

    Similar Products Used: LOOK KG 281, CAAD 4, OCLV
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Glen Schauer   Recreational Rider [May 31, 2001]
    Strength:

    Sprints like crazy, good climbing and cornering. Mapei colors are so gorgeous that I was afraid to take it on the road at first. Once I did it's been a real joy.

    Weakness:

    The top tube seems a bit short for me and makes decents a bit shakey, but perhaps a longer stem will solve the problem. Many of the information I've read, including on this site, recomends this bike for 160lbs. or less, but I understand that the Tecnos 2000 is redesigned for all riders with no weight limits. I weigh 180 and have had no problems so far. The shop owner assured me that it's a strong frame, but I do worry about it. Also, the steel fork is heavy. Other that that I have no complaints.

    I got a great deal on this bike since it was used briefly and then traded up by the owner for a C-40. This is a great all-around bike. It's comfy on long rides and does everything that you want a road bike to do. Since it's steel, it might not be as light as aluminum, carbon or whatever else may come along, but it's plenty light enough and the weight of it is not an issue for me. If you want a to race a steel bike, this would be a great choice. The steel fork though is extra heavy, and I would recomend the carbon fork. Also, the workmanship is very good with the beautiful Colnago lugs, custom drawn tubes and hand painted quality, make if very nice to look at. The Rabobank frame is also nice.

    Similar Products Used: Cannondale Criterium, LeMond Alpe D'Huez
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    David   Road Racer [Mar 12, 2001]
    Strength:

    Stiff,responsive and comfortable. great for all types of racing.

    Weakness:

    chrome is thin on the frame

    This is a very comfortable frame. My 3rd ride was 200km on some rough roads and I felt fine at the end of the ride. The frame is stiff and responds well when climbing and sprinting. I used it only for racing for 18 months and now I race and train on it, I love how it rides. Ask anyone who owns a Colnago and they will tell you how good it rides etc. Owning a Colnago does come at a price but it is well worth it and mine looks like they day I assembled the bike. It isn't the lightest bike but I'm confident that I will be riding this bike for a long time to come. The Technos is also cheaper and lighter than the master and is suitable for the lighter rider.

    Similar Products Used: pogliaghi cromor steel, columbus SL,custom 531, custom tang infinity,
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Showing 1-9 of 9  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.